We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Guarana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed three nights in December, 2012, and loved it. Rooms are nice with a big porch with a hammock. Gardens on the grounds give the place a tropical feel and the rooms feel very private. Location is central and convenient for food, beach, etc. Guy who runs the hotel (Andrea?) is friendly and helpful--he even helped me practice my Spanish.

Go up in the treehouse!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 322 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with the accommodations. Clean room, nice people,computer for you to use, quiet location yet close to everything. Good food store right around the corner(makes it nice when it's raining)!
We would return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son and I recently spent 10 days in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica. We chose Hotel Guarana 'sight unseen' and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The rooms, which are centered around a beautiful tropical garden, all have small porches with hammocks which were perfect for relaxing after a day on the beach. The hotel is located in the center of town but the street is quiet and the owners were most helpful. Having the use of a kitchen and a lovely patio on which to eat also made our stay feel comfortable and homey. We even loved Saba, the sweet resident dog. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place is really cool. The rooms are clean and the staff is really helpful. Prices were fair and they offer a kitchen which is a plus If you like to cook your own food. There's a treehouse which offers the best view of puerto viejo ever. The owner is a really sweet lady who offers help with anything you need. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drtrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is exactly what you're looking for ! Near centre town, the beach and the grocery store. The place is EXTRA clean and well decorated. Guarana Cabinas will definitly be my first pick if i go back to Puerto Viejo.
Many thanks to the Manager Andrea ( the best host of our entire trip ) he's the man if you're looking for info / local tips.

Yannick

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xchouinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ended up finding this place by fluke and were happy we did! The rooms are clean and simple with a strong ceiling fan to keep you cool. The shower pressure is to die for.... best shower in Costa Rica. It's off the main drag of town but about a minute walk to get to the main restaurants. The staff was pleasant and welcoming. they have a safe in the room to lock up valuables as well. It has everything you need for a decent price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrejka08675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Near the centre yet far enough to be quiet at night, Cabinas Guarana is the perfect play to stay. Clean with super friendly service, I'd come back in a heartbeat! Communal kitchen, communal computer with internet and the mosquito nets were great to have. Love this place, so charming and colourful

Room Tip: 4person room closest to the reception can get a little annoying as you can hear almost everything th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviamayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
39 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Avenida 69 | 50 m. from Megasuper, Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of colors and good energy. We have 12 rooms individually ,uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, Safe in room, Parking, communal kitchen totally equipped. English, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing