We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guarana is a work of art!”
Review of Hotel Guarana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2008

I actually subscribed to Tripadvisor just to write this review. I wanted everyone to know of this place in Puerto Viejo. After 2 weeks of traveling around Costa Rica and staying at budget hotels and hostels with just the bare necessities. My husband and I wanted something a little nicer when we arrived in Puerto Viejo. We just stumbled on Cabinas Guarana and it was exactly what we were looking for. It is still very basic but so clean, so airy, and with beautiful art all around. The rooms were full of cool light fixtures and art work ( the owner is an interior decoratore). You can see the love and energy put into this place. It is just so light and refreshing and kinda a change from alot of the stuffy and decorless rooms we encountered throughout CR. The best part was it was only 35 per night for a private with bathroom and hot water. They also have a kitchen for public use and a really nice sitting room. Almost all the rooms have little decks with hammocks overlooking the tropical courtyard in the centre of the building.It is right downtown Puerto Viejo just blocks from the beach. It was still basic with no TV but just the feel of the whole place was really nice. Really clean and really nicely decorated. Dont miss the treehouse either. IT is scary but worth the view and a picture!! One more thing, if you are in Puerto Viejo be sure to rent bikes and take a trip to Punta Uva and past there to Manzinillo! IT is so fun and so worth it and you most likely will see monkeys along the way and be greated by the gorgeous unpopluated beach. Ok I love Costa Rica. Have fun and make a reservation in Puerto Viejo espesially on the weekends!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lovetravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank franansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones se pocas y muy juntas, buscar frente al jardín seria mi recomendacion, las del fond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fliarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oriol_u2floyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guarana854, Owner at Hotel Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Angelo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
2  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sinestribos, Gerente at Hotel Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank llaura2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pura Vida
Hotel Pura Vida
#8 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Indalo
Hotel Boutique Indalo
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
Walaba Hostel & Beach Houses
#76 of 113 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Avenida 69 | 50 m. from Megasuper, Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $41 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of colors and good energy. We have 12 rooms individually ,uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, Safe in room, Parking, communal kitchen totally equipped. English, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing