We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Guarana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Guarana
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“just perfect...”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

For 25$ this is an excellent choice. Clean, nice atmosphere, very good customer service and location. Nothing to complain...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanishca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    83
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
29
123
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have stayed here twice now, once for two weeks and once for a few days. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and the prices are reasonable. But what makes it perfect are the owners (Paolo and Giovanna), staff (especially Alma and Rosie), and (OK, Saba, you get a line, too) dog running it. Paolo's smile, hugs, and energy will brighten up anyone's day. His friendliness contributes to the guests' friendliness which makes Hotel Guarana more than just a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troonUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

After 1 month travelling across Costa Rica I stayed in many places and The Cabinas Guaraná was the best cheap hotel that I found. The owner gives precious advice for places to visit and things to do in the area of Puerto Viejo. Rooms makes you feel like at home and the kitchen is a place to meet and share experience with other residents. Thank you for your kindness !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Everything about this hotel is spot on.
The rooms are large, very clean, well decorate, properly screened in to prevent bugs and equipped with a powerful ceiling fan.
Each room has a porch with a hammock and a nice outdoor space.
The reception area has comfortable couches, tables and chairs to use while you connect to the internet or enjoy your morning coffee.
All of the staff is friendly and happy to offer advice and assistance.
The real gem of this hotel is the owner Paolo whose goal is give everyone a positive experience and lasting memories of Puerto Viejo.
On the second to last day of my stay he decide to take ten of us by public bus to a beautiful waterfall and swimming hole in Bri Bri. Everyone had a wonderful time!
Thamks again, hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clang819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoensbroek, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I would recommend this hotel and location to family and friends in a heartbeat. A very charming Italian gentleman runs the place. In the morning, he guided us on a snorkeling expedition at a nearby beach, free of charge. The private cabinas lie in-between lush foliage that really gives the feel of staying someplace exotic. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with enough beds to sleep up to four. We greatly appreciated the mosquito nets since the area seems pretty infested with mosquitoes and ants. Do not be surprised if you wake up in the morning a bit bitten. The hotel has as strong wi-fi connection, a stationary computer for public use, and two floating laptops the owner allows people to use for internet access, all perks making it a really friendly vacation experience. The only down-side keeping this a 4- instead of a 5-star review, in my opinion, is the public kitchen. The dishes were not cleaned well and the refrigerator contained some molding things that kept me from wanting to store anything in there. I appreciate this has a lot to do with how the kitchen facilities are maintained by guests but do think the hotel staff should put more effort into monitoring its upkeep.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a porch and hammock. It gives you a nice place to relax and an easy place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had room nr 9, I think the only room with no private hammock, but that was fine.
It has a real private feeling, because each room can be reached by walking through the garden. The room is really spacious and had a double bed and two single beds. Price was 30 dollars for the room. Bathroom is clean, room is clean. Towels were provided. Late checkout. The owners, Italians from Sicily, are friendly and feel responsible for you having a good stay. Paolo, the owner, went with us snorkelling and had some gear we could borrow (yes, for free). He was our personal guide who made sure we were safe and saw the reef. Just for fun.
Kitchen is well equiped and has a big fridge. Every room gets a shelve to poot their food on. Well organised and whether you travel as couple or family, it is recommended!
Only two blocks from the beach.
Rooms have no A/C, but have fans.

Room Tip: Room number 9 has no hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayziew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The private cabins were very clean, well maintained, and the mosquito nets were a great touch. The property was very pretty and there is even a tree house! There is a grocery store right around the corner which was great and the owner is so friendly. He went out of his way to help us with a passport issue and was even going to take us snorkeling! This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maritza
Hotel Maritza
#10 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Property: Hotel Guarana
Address: Puerto Viejo Center | 200 north bridge 50 meters east, 25 north, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 41001, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of owners charm. We have 12 rooms individually uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. Only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, safe in room. English, German, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing