We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful ride”
Review of Tortuguero Canal

Tortuguero Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.15*
and up
Private Limon Shore Excursion: Tortuguero Canals Tour
More Info
$123.23*
and up
Limon Shore Excursion Small Group Private Tour with Sloth Sanctuary and...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A peaceful ride”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We chose this attraction on the recommendation of friends who have spent some time in Costa Rica. We went as part of a tour from our cruise ship. If your passion is observing wildlife, the canal experience is a must do. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and eagle-eyed. In two hours we saw some small caimans, howler monkeys, bats, sloths, as well as several species of birds, and lizards. For us, it was interesting, but not particularly engaging. Others were much more enthused.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    76
    36
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barling, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stopped on Limon during a Panama Canal cruise. I really had no expectations of Limon--I was on the trip for the Panama canal and didn't really put much planning in to the rest of the trip. We stepped off the cruise ship and found the usual glut of people wanting to see tours and trinkets and chose a van driver who gave us cheaper fare than the others. The driver was great! He took us to the Tortuguero Canal where we hopped on a little boat. The boat driver was also great! He was very knowledgeable of the wildlife and plantlife in the canal. We saw monkeys, iguanas, other assorted lizards, loads of different birds, and even a sloth! Thoroughly enjoyed it except that I nearly melted in the heat :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank piggyvkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Its a man made canal; nice; you can see wild monkeys, birds and iguanas. More of a 3,5 star event. Guides are good and will answer your questions. Nice to do once.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank QC-CDNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful experience!!! It's amazing!!! This is the reason why we are visiting this country, everything is green here...

Helpful?
2 Thank 007Urban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Opportunity To See Animals You Only See On Discovery”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The animals will be out in the morning. The earlier the better.

You will see amazing animals and get very close!

Toruguero has a ton to offer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuguero Canal also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tortuguero Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing