We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour”
Review of Your Lucky Tour

Your Lucky Tour
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Puerto Limon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy your Vacation in Costa Rica with.. Your Lucky Tour Costa Rica spans two coasts: from the Pacific Ocean to the Caribbean Sea. A small country at only 200 miles wide, it has become a newfound paradise for travelers, who come from around the world to enjoy the wide variety of landscapes and climates it offers. Visitors relax on its sunny beaches, venture into the wild on outdoor adventures, and treasure the country’s natural beauty and rich indigenous culture. Thousands have already discovered their ideal vacation experience with Your Lucky tour. Our eager, knowledgeable guides know the area intimately, and offer flexible and affordable tours to any of the beautiful places you’ve dreamed of seeing. Let us do the driving, in our air conditioned vehicles, and we’ll make your trip to Costa Rica the one you won’t soon forget. Your Lucky Tour have the aim to show visitors many of the beautiful and exciting things in Costa Rica. By keeping reasonable prices, finding the best local guides, and keeping vehicles in good conditions. We can assure that you will be more secure, and will be fully satisfied. We can provide private tours for as few as a single passenger, or for groups as large as you would like. By paying careful attention to your desires, and with honesty and reliability, we’re prepared to show you as much of the real Costa Rica as you would like. Enjoy everything Costa Rica has to offer: We are inviting you to discover all the incredible spots it has from coast to coast; astounding forest and beaches, delightful small villages, tasty local dishes, and a significant amount of art and culture, to name a few.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
TN
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were met at the port with our name's on a sign, Tour guide was clean and nicely dressed. We had two guides for just the two of us.
We enjoyed our tour very much and would use them again in the future.
The car was very clean too.
Really enjoyed our private tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    25
    13
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Veragua Rain forest + Tortuguero canals tour with Eduardo”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were with the Celebrity Equinox in Puerto Limon February 2013.
Instead of going with the big busses and doing more expensive trip with the cruise company we choose to have a tour with a smaller private Costa Rican company. Because of all the good things we read about your lucky tour and Eduardo Humphries we decided also to book with them.

We did a tour to the Veragua Rain Forest and afterwards a boat ride on the Tortuguero canals.

We met Eduardo personally right outside of the main entrance/exit where he was holding a sign with our names on. So this went very smoothly. Just walk off your ship, walk some 500 metres and you'll find the representatives from your lucky tour.
So we departed much faster than most big busses from the ship, because they need to wait untill a complete bus has filled up.

Than we drove the Veragua rain forest, Eduardo was our guide and Soto our driver. FIrst part of the ride was ok, than the road got very bumpy. But our driver was very good.

Arriving to the Veragua forest we needed to wait a couple of minutes for our nature guide (Eduardo doesn't guide you here, but you'll get a nature guide). The tour was very informative and nice to get. You see a lot of flora, not so much wild animals (we some a sloth and some other animals) the flora is impressive and also the sounds of the rainforest are very nice to hear.
They take you with an aerial tram close to a nice waterfall, afterwards you'll get to see some teraria with snakes, lizzards and frogs. At the end you visit a butterfly garden.
This was a very good visit with a good guide with lots of knowledge.

After Veragua we went to the Tortuguero canals where we were with 5 people on a small boat. Our captain/guide Harlan did everything to show us wildlife (we saw a lot of nice birds, some crocs, a baby croc, a couple of sloths, ...) and the captain told a lot about the drugs trafficing.
The captain really took his time to give us nice opportunities for some good pictures.

After time we were brought back to the ship with a possibility to buy Costa Rican coffee.

They bring you back well before ship departure so no worries at all on that side.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann-Lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very enjoyable day”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Eduardo Humphrey organized a very enjoyable tour for us, and he was very responsive to emails organizing the tour. We were provided with a highly skilled driver and a 4x4 (which is greatly appreciated given the state of Costa Rica's roads). Please note that the 4x4 can comfortably seat 4 adults, and additionally the 4x4 also has a small jump seat in the back for children (but very young children may not be able to sit here since there are no seat belts).

We drove through the hills to Veragua, where we were able to visit the rainforest and butterfly garden.

We then took a lovely and tranquil cruise through the Tortuguero canals.

You might want to consider choosing an independent restaurant since his family owns the restaurant we had lunch at, but overall we greatly enjoyed our day in Limon. Eduardo himself met us at Veragua because he wanted to ensure that we were enjoying our trip. Eduardo also provided us with a very skilled driver, an excellent 4x4, and a very nice boat for the Tortuguero cruise.

You may see Eduardo's brother at the cruise ship terminal offering tours (his name is stitched on his shirt) and he can tell you where Eduardo's drivers are parked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auarin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yes, Eduardo is real and is the best”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I contacted Your Lucky Tours before our cruise and Eduardo not only responded promptly by email, but also called me to offer more information.

He is rated number one, because he really works hard to please his customers. We didn't want to take one of the cruise ship tours, so this worked out well for us. We arrived in Limon on Wednesday, February 13th. Eduardo was there waiting for us as promised. There were 6 of us and we also had one other couple join us for a total of 8. The driver was Soto and Eduardo was our personal tour guide. He speaks English very well and is quite knowledgeable of his country. He also kept us laughing with his jokes and making fun at Soto's expense. All of us enjoyed our tour with him and Soto.

The highlights for us were the canal boat ride and the visit to the banana plantation. I didn't think the plantation would be very interesting, but it sure surprised all of us. We learned stuff about bananas and the plantation operation that fascinated us. Our boat tour guide was Harlan. We at first thought he was raised in the US, as his English didn't have an accent to us, but he told us otherwise. Again, easy to understand and quite helpful in pointing out wild life to us. Thank you Harlan.

Our final stop was at a new restaurant on a hill with a beautiful view of Limon and the harbor and our ship.

Eduardo is number one on trip advisor because he is a smart businessman, and works to please his customers. We had some apprehensions about going with a local tour operator versus the cruise lines, but I can tell you now that this was the best decision we made. Go with Eduardo, he lives in Limon and is a professional at what he does. The cruise lines charge much more and the bus operators are brought in from San Jose, and they whisk you along so you don't get much out of your tour.

Thank you again Eduardo for a wonderful day in Limon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We Got Lucky”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We only had one day to spend in Costa Rica, so we wanted to make the most of it. Not a fan of cruise excursions, I searched for an alternative through TripAdvisor. Eduardo Humphrey’s "Your Lucky Tour" came up on the top of the list. Because I wanted a chance to see birds and other wildlife, I wrote the company to ask which tour would be best for what I wanted. Within a few hours, Eduardo called me and sent an email with the answer – he recommended the Tortuguero Canals. I certainly did not expect a phone call from Costa Rica!

When we arrived in port, we made our way through the shopping/port gauntlet, and found the driver, who was waiting with my name on a sign. I was happy to see that we had Eduardo as our guide. We were the last to arrive of the group of eight that filled a small, air-conditioned passenger van, and got the two seats up front with the driver – an excellent vantage point. The driver was always on the lookout for monkeys in the trees, and we stopped several times on the side of the road to take pictures.

We enjoyed everything we did (fruit stand, banana plantation, canal boat), and ended up at a lovely restaurant, the Red Snapper, which had good food, cold beer, and a fantastic view of Puerto Limon. Eduardo chatted with us while we ate, answered our many questions, and finished off my plate of platanos (fried plantains) because I was too full!

Pity the unlucky ones who miss out on taking a Lucky tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KJNAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Your Lucky Tour also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Your Lucky Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing