We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour”
Review of Oscar Brown Tours

Oscar Brown Tours
Ranked #8 of 23 Tours in Puerto Limon
Attraction details
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arranged to do Tour # 4. Jaguar Rescue Center & #1 (Tortuguero Canal) tour (Combine tour). We had excellent communication with Oscar's Sister, Carol. Oscar met us at the port on time. It was just the two of us. He used his taxi which was clean and air conditioned. Carol called and I spoke with her to confirm all was well.
We first drove to the Jaguar Rescus Center. Oscar pointed out a lot of things to us along the way. He stopped to pick up some beef and we also stopped at a friend's hotel along the way. The Rescus center opens at a certain time so Oscar was making sure we got there without too much of a wait.
The Rescue Center was fantastic and one of the highlites of out trip. When the tour ended, Oscar was waiting for us with some freshly cooked beef and onions. Nice treat. He then stoppped to get us cold water and turned on the air conditioning for our comfort.
We then drove to the Tortuguero Canal, stopping along the way to look at a banana plantation.
He uses one of the smaller Canal boat companies, but we had a small boat with an excellent young guide who did his best to find us as much wildlife as possible, even apologizing that he couldn't find any crocodiles.
After that, Oscar took us to a local restaurant on the beach where we had our lunch with a beer. It was very good and we even found that it had free wi-fi, so we could catch up on our emails.
Oscar then drove us to the highest point in Limon for some fantastic views and then back to the port. He gave us some advice on shopping, and then we were done.
Tour lasted about seven hours and it was well worth the price.
Oscar was friendly and attentive.
Overall, an excellent tour and I would highly recommend him.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DanWin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oscar Brown tour #1 in Puerto Limon, Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We took tour #1 (canal, banana plantation, beach stop, coffee bean farm, shopping stop) in Puerto Limon, Costa Rica. We were surprised to find we were the only two people on the tour.

The good:
The communication with Carol was excellent in arranging the tour. Our tour guide Oscar met us on time at the gate. Oscar was friendly and polite. He knows and loves his city, and answered all of our questions. He showed us all sorts of flora and fauna we never would have seen on our own, and offered us bites of tropical fruits throughout the tour. The banana plantation tour was fascinating and informative.

The odd:
Oscar was a little preoccupied with collecting fruit for his family. He even drove his van under a tree, climbed on top of the van and batted down fruit to collect. Bizarre, but whatever, and he let us taste the fruit. He asked my husband to help him carry bananas to his van at the Del Monte plantation.

The van was a bit grimy with poorly-working AC, but it ran and got us where we needed to go.

The bad:
Tour #1 did not quite deliver as advertized. We did not have any time constraints, but Oscar skipped the cocoa bean farm, the beach, the shopping, and didn’t offer any refreshment as advertized in tour description on his web site.

The cost was $45/person. However you have to budget for a tip for every stop Oscar makes (except Del Monte plantation). He pulls over and a kid shows you a sloth ($2), you sample fruit at a stand ($2), boat operator ($5), he stops at a restaurant terrace to let you take a picture and the owner gives you a note saying they require $2 from every person. It got ridiculous. I felt it was a racket. So when debating the price of an Oscar Brown tour vs. a large tour, factor the tips into the $45 tour. For us it was $90+$20 for Oscar and $13 for all the stop tips. Total $123 for two.

It was still a good and worthwhile tour, even if more abbreviated than advertized, and slightly more expensive due to all the stops where tips are expected.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SPF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lots of different experiences in a 5 hour tour”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is the second time I have taken a tour with Oscar Brown (but first review). The first time there were 16 in total but this time the group consisted (to my surprise) in just the two of us. Just outside the port area we spotted two “Oscar Brown” banners and started out tour immediately. Some independent tour operators operate inside the port but not Oscar Brown.

We took tour no 1, and in effect had a personal tour with a very good cab driver for 5.5 hours for $45 each. We stopped at lots of places (road side markets, peoples gardens) not mentioned in the tour blurb and sampled local fruits and saw howler monkeys, iguanas and both types of sloth. Part of the tour included a boat ride on the canal with just the two of us and a single guide/driver who was also very good. We saw several sloths climbing trees, moving from one tree to anther and drinking, as well as a couple of 5/6 foot alligators, turtles, birds, iguanas etc.

I would recommend Oscar Brown tours to anyone who wants to get away from the crowded overpriced tours offered by the cruise lines.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johneo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Missouri
1 review
“Super Small Tour Company”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We visited Costa Rica 5 yrs. ago & used Oscar Brown for a tour & it was great. On our last visit to Costa Rica, Nov. 2010, we again used Oscar for our tour of Costa Rica. Instead of five of us doing the tour, it was only the three of us, my wife & I along with our grandson. Oscar has a bunch of kids & knows what they like to see, touch & do. He stopped by lots of places that the normal tours wouldn't... Trey got to break open a cocoa pod, touch. smell & taste it... The same with sugar cane & lots of other stuff.

Oscar knows what kids like... He does have a few. When we got to the T-Canal tour. We didn't end up on a boat with 20 folks, only the three of us! Great river/canal tour with us on the boat coming within touching distance of a sloth, seeing monkeys & many birds.

Get past the "ship trips" & think small guy... Oscar will do better than the big tours... Really like this guy & his family. Should you be booking a tour for winter of 2012-2013 you can probably talk to his sister in NY concerning tours. During the winter, she is down there helping with tours. The whole family in WONDERFUL!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank barefootguy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Lake
1 review
“Oscar Brown Tour was the Cruise high point.”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Wanted to book a zip line in Costa Rico, and after a lot of web research picked the Oscar Brown Canopy tour - the best decision I made on the whole trip.
Carol, his sister, was very easy to work with, communicated quickly and answered all our questions. Oscar was a fabulous guide with interesting info and insight on everything we saw, and he seems to know everyone in Puerto Limon.
The zip line was great, but we did so much more during the six hours we spent with Oscar - much more than any of the other "ship" excursions. We'd all return to Costa Rica to experience some of the other tours Oscar Brown offers.
Feel free to contact me with any specific questions: tedsdesign@yahoo.com

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar Brown Tours also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Oscar Brown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing