We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option for Chirripo National Park”
Review of Hotel Uran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chirripo National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uran
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice hotel that is reasonably priced and perfectly situated if you plan to hike Chirripo National Park. The restaurant is very good and there is a small store in the hotel that sells food for the hike.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here the night before I hiked Chirripo and was disappointed. I stayed in the value rooms for $20 which included breakfast. The rooms consisted of a bunk bed shoved into a tiny room with openings near the ceiling that connected to the next-door room. This meant you could hear everything your neighbor did along with the other 30+ people who were also tucked into the exact same rooms down the same hallway. If one person snored, all 30 people got to experience it. And when one person woke up in the morning, everyone woke up. I felt a bit like cattle herded into a cold stall. The showers were unwelcoming, there was no common area to organize anything, and the sleep that I got the night prior to the hike left a lot to be desired.

The restaurant is nice, the location is great for starting your hike, and I think the owners will come pick you up from the bus station which is a plus, but there are definitely other options that provide more comfort, hospitality, and amenities for the value.

Room Tip: Choose a private room. Don't go for the bunk-beds in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel El Uran was a real find for my cousin and me to be in the mountains in Costa Rica. Even though we weren't hiking Chirripo, we did enjoy a beautiful hike to the Cloudbridge Reserve and a hike to the the Hot Springs. It was great to have the restaurant with excellent food and service right there. The mountain air, clear skies, and cool nights were very relaxing. Our ride down to our early bus departure in the dark when we had to chase the bus was quite an adventure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank obmerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

En-suite rooms are spacious, good hot shower and restaurant good value. Great location - 50 m to trailhead and close to Cloudbridge reserve. Much nicer to stay here than in the village. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ute C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed two nights at this hotel. We chose it for its proximity to the base of Cerro Chirripo and it was perfect for lodging before and after climbing the mountain. The service we received, both from the guy at the reception desk, and the waitresses in the restaurant, were both above and beyond. The guy spoke English, so this greatly helped us out with our questions that we had about the mountain and transportation. The rooms were clean and small, but extremely affordable and it was all we really needed. The food at the restaurant was the best we had in Costa Rica and it was extremely inexpensive as well. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel Uran is very convenient located for hiking Cloudbridge reserve (highly recommended! 1 to 5 hour hikes, good trails, but you won't see many other people) and Cerro Chirripo. Restaurant is open from 4.30am for breakfast! They do great sandwiches for packed lunch. Restaurant closes at 8pm I think, which if fine; everybody goes to bed early. Wifi available. You might want to bring your mosquito net. Very friendly, customer focussed family business.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This restaurant has great food and the staff are wonderful. This restaurant is really clean and while I did not stay in the hotel I would do so on my next visit because this is clearly a well managed business with fine staff.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend. Everyone I met while we were visiting that were staying in this hotel agreed it was comfortable and clean. A really lovely run business. They speak English here too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therese36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Uran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uran

Address: en la Entrada Al Parque Nacional Chirripo | San Jose Costa Rica, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chirripo National Park
Price Range: $17 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing