We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloth on site!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Coral Hill for four nights recently. The place is beautifully landscaped. Joe and Chris are very friendly and provided delicious breakfasts of fresh fruits, locally baked pastries (don't miss the banana bread!), and more. The bungalows are of top craftsmanship. Located a short five-minute walk from the beach, with enough distance from the local Reggae bar as to not disrupt the peaceful ambience of Coral Hill. There was even a sloth living in the tree right off of our front porch. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleShodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Coral Hill Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 278 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our stay was nothing less than fully relaxing and extremely comfortable. Joe and Chris have done an outstanding job in designing an environment with comfort and convenience while maintaining a secluded and beautiful retreat. We arrived very late and were greeted with sleepy eyes and smiles. Joe and Chris showed us to our room, helped us with our bags and let us know breakfast would be ready "whenever" we awoke. Typically you miss out when you sleep in but our hosts go to great lengths to see that you are enjoying your stay on "your" schedule.

Gourmet breakfast was wonderful. Two course with fresh raspberry juice and a very fine coffee. A plate of organic fresh fruit served first with a fine presentation with four types of bread. A range of breakfasts could be requested and all tasted great.

You immediately feel at home at Coral Hill. Joe and Chris enjoy sitting down and getting to know you as well as giving you a realistic run-down of the area and local activities. Since this was our honeymoon and first trip to Costa Rica, they were very helpful in guiding us in the right direction. They were very accommodating in not only referring us to the areas best tour and fishing guides but also in calling and making our reservations when we were interested in tours, horseback riding, snorkling, etc. Big time saver and took the anxiety out of making sure you booked a good guide and not wasting your money.

The bungalows are maticulously clean, beautifully designed, simple, elegant, and highly efficient. We found ourselves covering up at night because the airflow is so good. Best sleep ever! Plenty of closet space and the bathrooms are very roomy with a nice large, two head shower with no door. Very open. A very nice touch is the finished and varnished detail. The bungalows are varnished as well as any yaught!

The landscaping and flora holds to a very natural and wild/native design while allowing accessibility to stroll about the grounds and take pictures, bird-watch, or just chill out. The paths to the bungalows are lit enough at night to see where you're going but do not detract from the landscape. Very beautiful.

We were exteremely pleased with our stay at Coral Hill Bungalows. Joe and Chris make sure everything is taken care of so you can enjoy your stay. It'seasy to say that you get well more than your money's worth.

When in Costa Rica.......we'll definitely stay at Coral Hill Bungalows!

Larry and Liana Clevenger

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank proturfdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coral Hill Bungalows during the first week of March and loved it! The previous reviews cover a lot of what I would say - and I think the fact that we were the 4th or 5th ever guests and all of us have rushed here to post says a ton! Chris and Joe, of Sweden and Boston respectively, have created a wonderful place to stay. The bungalows are beautiful - brand new, with great linens, a great shower, and down-to-the-detail touches of elegance (fresh flowers at the door, sinks that double as art, etc.). Breakfast was amazing: fresh fruit, local baked breads, Chris's perfect coffee. And, as most people have noted, Joe's years as a yacht chef mean that he cranks out some great french toast, scrambles, etc - whatever you feel like and he has available. Best of all, they are great hosts: attentive, helpful, warm.

Joe and Chris have also selected a great little town in which to set up shop. I am so glad that we chose Cahuita over Puerto Viejo, which has great beaches, but a much different vibe. So, if you are trying to choose between the two: Cahuita for the mellow folks, Puerto Viejo for the nightlife crew.

A word on the location: Coral Hill Bungalows is just under a mile from town and is also a few hundred yards from the beach (the lovely Playa Negra). For us, this was great. We got in a ton of activity just by walking to and from the national park and town. It is about a fifteen minute walk, along a route in with cabinas and homes, tourists and locals, lots of bikes and just a few cars. The distance from the beach means that the bungalows are in the jungle, which leads to sloth sightings at breakfast, toucans cruising through, howler monkeys howling you awake at dawn.

We heartily recommend Coral Hill Bungalows.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ClassicPDXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I just returned from Coral Hill Bungalows and couldn’t wait to post our review. We had a wonderful time. The property features three bungalows set in a beautifully cultivated garden with a wide variety of tropical flowers, trees, and orchids. The local wildlife loves Coral Hill too, so you will be able to see dozens of birds and maybe even a sloth who frequently sleeps there.

The charming bungalows are constructed of gleaming tropical hardwoods. Each bungalow has a comfortable bed covered in high thread count linens and romantic mosquito netting (not entirely necessary but fun to use). The bathroom features a large shower with two shower heads, a bench, and lots of hot water, which I read sets it apart from other Cahuita lodges. Each bungalow has a large porch with two rocking chairs and a hammock. It’s a great place for reading.

The owners, Joe & Chris, provide a large breakfast. Each breakfast started with breads from local bakers and an abundance of fruit and then a hot course made-to-order like eggs, bacon, French toast, etc. Tipico breakfasts are great, but I was happy to have something heartier for a change. Joe has worked as a chef on yachts and Coral Hill guests are beneficiaries of his culinary skills.

What else? The lodge is a short walk from Playa Negra and two restaurants, but is a about a 15 minute walk from the center of town where you’ll find the majority of restaurants, grocery stores, and tour guides. Bike rentals were cheap and made the trip fast and fun. Chris and Joe are great to talk with and provide a lot of good recommendations. Our stay with them was definitely the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troubleinparadise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Service oriented owners live on-site. They have search the whole country and travelled the world before settling to quaint Cahuita, close to Playa Negra. Private, clean and classy bungalows with fantastic beds. My first Thanksgiving in Costa Rica and first visit on the Carribean coast using Interbus for transportation. Very good restaurants within walking distance, and quiet beaches. One thing that I personally appreciated very much was their genuine love for the locals and their family. I was glad to listen to the full story of the house itself. Go when there is still availability. They are going to fill-up to capacity when the word is out.
Rey Pouliot MD Fort lauderdale, Fl

Stayed: November 2007
Thank reypouliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

My husband and I just went to Coral Hill Bungalows for our anniversary. We had a wonderful experience there. The bungalows are brand new and gorgeous! Every detail is perfect. The owners are on-site and ready to help. There are huge bathrooms with ceiling fans. There are the most comfortable beds on the planet. There are nice verandas to hang out on. The gardens are beautiful. And the breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed our get-a-way very much!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohemian_Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Creo que cualquiera satisfará a cualquier persona, no lo dudéis es una buena opción.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VanHuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
177 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.2 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $144 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita
Coral Hill Bungalows Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing