We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 20 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

we had a great stay loved the room the only thing that would have been nice would have been an offer with our bags to our room as we had to carry them down a gravel walk way then up a lot of stairs as our room was on the second floor .other than that it was great if you can get a bungalow and this would not be a problem .the breakfast was excellent .we met some very nice people there also even if they were from edmonton lol .

Room Tip: get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich101Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    23
    0
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
215
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
københavn
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at Corall Hill 6 dayes, It was 25 min. from the city and 10 from the beach and 2 lovely bars. The owner liked it very clean and silent.They cleaned in front of our doorsteep (noisy) before 7 in the mornings.We had to pay the whole rent before we saw the room and even before we payed the taxi driver who took us from San Jose.
That is the clossed we have to a monastery, I am 64 years old and it to ascetic to me.
We can not recomment to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathe077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JunglelifeCostaRica, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that the couple was not pleased with the facility and accommodations.
We regret they felt put out. We are totally confused about their monastery comment, we wish they had elaborated. Sweeping a walkway littered with orchids from the two trees surrounding their Bungalow is a must for their safety. They tend to be very slippery. We take safety seriously. They were the only clients we have made an exception for in booking by not requiring a deposit to make a reservation, After seeing them to their room of which the taxi driver delivered their bags to their Bungalow, we asked that they come to our reception area to be checked in by providing their passport information and method of payment. Which we feel is normal. The taxi driver had to stay in the reception area waiting for his payment for a full half hour before he could depart.
As to any and all of their complaints we can only say that the previous 130 reviews tend to contradict their thoughts, feelings and observations.They never said a thing to us about any of their feelings or complaints as we do ask at breakfast about their stay and they indicated upon departure how much they enjoyed their stay. We never mentioned to them that we had to dispose of their towels as we were unable to remove their hair dye and make up stains from them . We can only guess that their low rating and negative comments derive from the confrontation that occurred when they tried to leave without paying bar bill of which they paid a lesser amount than actually due.
We try to excel in the accommodation and service we provide for our guests. We can only hope that in the future anyone who is not satisfied with anything at our facility let us know in advance so we can correct any problems real or perceived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Coral Hill in the Toucan Bungalow for 10 days this February. It wasn't long into our stay when we overheard other guests requesting to extend their 2 or 3 day stay because they realized what great accommodations they had. Coral Hill gets booked up fast, and these couples were unable to extend as there was no room. The bungalow was immaculately clean and very comfortable with gleaming hardwood floors and a spacious/comfortable bed. The front porch was well shaded and the hammock enjoyed more than once. Not having AC was not an issue as you are in the jungle and it does cool down at night. The ceiling fan in the bungalow is more than enough. Our hosts, Joe and Chris were extremely hospitable and accommodating assisting us with arranging tours and obtaining taxis when needed. They were also a wealth of knowledge regarding the local area, weather, fruits, and wildlife. Wildlife...wow! There is so much of it right outside your bungalow. From the howler monkeys, sloths, Iguanas, frogs, geckos, and beautiful butterflies. Don't forget your camera! About 3 minutes from the bungalows are two restaurants situated off the beach which are hopping on Friday/Saturday nights with live music. There are additional restaurants further out in Cahuita. All is within walking distance so don't worry. Joe and Chris were also able to recommend good restaurants. Tripadvisor is also a good source. The grounds at Coral Hill are very well kept and it is apparent Joe and Chris take pride providing their guests with the best vacation. The grounds are gated and locked. We always felt safe. Every morning, Joe and Chris provided a filling breakfast of fresh fruit and freshly baked bread. Chris will not let you walk away hungry!! Let's not forget the freshly brewed Costa Rican coffee. Joe and Chris' dog, Lady, was very appreciative of the dog treats we brought for her from home and offered her company in exchange. After having traveled to Cahuita, it was clear that Coral Hill Bungalows was the best choice for top notch accommodations. Thank you Joe & Chris!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenpokoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The caribbean coast of Costa Rica is very different than the Pacific coast. Almost seems like a different country. We journeyed over to the Caribbean side for one purpose, and that was to visit the incredible Sloth Sancutuary. We didn't pre-book any accommodation. First night in Cahuita was so-so. But for the 2nd night, we stumbled across Coral Hill Bungalows, and it was as though we found a patch of calm, restful paradise! Great quiet location, amazing gardens, really comfortable rooms that are tastefull appointed, and the breakfast that is served in the morning is incredible. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

What an amazing experience. We went with another couple and shared the jungle house. The food everywhere we ate was amazing! Check out the Jaguar Rescue Center in Puerto Vehaua. The hike through the national park was great. Be sure to have lunch at the restaurant just after the trail. What an adventure!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon and our stay was amazing. The bungalow is huge, clean, nicely decorated and with a great porch. The breakfast was by far the best we had in all of our time in costa rica. Joe and Chris were very helpfull with advice and information about the area. the place is walking distance from the town, but when it was raining at night we were sorry that we didn't rent a car before we arrived there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Coral Hill Bungalows was amazing in every way! So beautiful!! The cleanest place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. Was enough away from the town to get away from the chaos and just relax. We rented bikes and just rode into town less than a mile. They were so helpful in every way helping us book the Interbus and our tours. Our bungalow was so clean and beautiful. Definitely gave us an experience we will never forget. The property was perfectly kept and the walk ways always clean. We loved it here. We hope to return. Thanks for everything :) -Lindsey Dopp & Jake Fitzgerald

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Property: Coral Hill Bungalows
Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita
Coral Hill Bungalows Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing