We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centro Turistico Brigitte
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
87
24
5
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
24
5
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana pancakeshorseback ridingbrilliant breakfastcats and dogsguide raulthe buschocolate tourmain townfour nightsjungle tourlaundry servicepata negrablack beachrestaurants and shopstwo double bedsfruit plattera lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 122 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We can't review her place to stay, but she provided us with a great breakfast (she has menus in four languages - spanish, english, french and german - and was open when most every other place was closed) and great coffee as well as told us of the tour to visit the indigenous tribe in Yorkin.

The tour of Yorkin, which we intend to review elsewhere, was wonderful for our family and we certainly would not have considered it or benefited from it without her knowledgeable and kind advice. Thank you Brigette ...

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank KrillsOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Can't review the accommodation as we didn't stay there, but Brigitte is much more than a hotel. We sampled the horse-riding excursion on offer.
Situated a pleasant 20 min stroll from Cahuita main street, behind the Reggae bar and near the black beach. Two horse-riding experiences are offered - a three hour trip covering beach and jungle and a six hour trip also covering a waterfall in the jungle. We did the three hour version but had feedback from others on the six hour trip.
We have never sat on a horse before, but we were made to feel comfortable and given basic stop/start/steer instructions in english by our friendly guide Raul. The horses were obviously well cared for and very compliant. We walked in convoy (6 of us in the group) onto the beach and along the deserted jungle-backed shoreline (idyllic). We then went into the jungle itself before stopping for a rest at the mid point. On the return journey we were asked (encouraged) if we wanted to canter and gallop along the beach.
With false confidence we said yes and kept fingers crossed. We needn't have worried, the horses have done it all before and all we really needed to do was hang on - it was actually easier and more comfortable than trotting/walking.
We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend it. The others who did the waterfall trek also said the same. Rest assured that it is a local company using local people and the horses are well cared for.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Roger_and_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while traveling through Costa Rica. The location is about a 15 minute walk from town, but is steps away from the beautiful Playa Negra beach. Bridgette will pick you up/drop you off at the bus station and if you want to venture into town it is just a quick walk or bike ride away. Bridgette serves an amazing breakfast of eggs and beans and there are great services on site like laundry, bike rental, and horse back riding if you are interested in that. The cabins are small but comfortable with fans and hot water inside, and hammocks and comfy chairs outside. There are a lot of fancier places in town, but at $30 a night this place is a great option for budget travelers!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

She's wonderful. Very thoughtful and insightful. We went on a horseback riding tour with her horses and guide who was lovely. He showed us the wonderful beaches and jungle (plus I tried wonderful coconut juice in the raw - now addicted at Whole Foods!). A must for this side of Costa Rica).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lhasagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

On the road North of Cahuita, along Playa Negra, turn left at Reggae Bar to experience some of the finest tours and best horseback riding Costa Rica has to offer.

Brigette's well trained and beautiful horses are a pleasure for beginning and experienced riders. In addition to rainforest, waterfall, and beachfront tours, you can also rent these horses by the hour to run on the beach, relax in the rainforest, or just enjoy the Carribean.

My partner and I stayed in one of Brigette's spotless and comfortable cabinas for a week, well within sound and breeze of the beautiful (and almost deserted) beach at Playa Negra. I've owned my own horses, ridden dozens of trail nags, and I have to tell you--if you enjoy riding horses, if you are a discriminating rider, if you love horses, if you've ever wanted to ride a willing mount full tilt on a deserted beach, this is the place for you. Come for the day or come and stay--you're going to love it. Cahuita is well connected by public bus, including direct buses from San Jose and Puerto Limon.

2  Thank ResultsWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews