We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the jungle”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in House 1 (with the kitchette & jacuzzi pool) for 1 week. It was simple, comfortable, clean and charming! We really appreciated the air conditioning because it's very hot & humid there. The manager, Argelis, is an angel and full of information. He'll do anything to help make sure you get the experience you're looking for. Breakfast is included which is awesome. Howler monkeys seen and heard every day. Easy walk to town and to beach. Totally recommend. Managed extremely well and a much better Costa Rica experience than staying in a large hotel chain. We felt very safe, welcome and wish we could of stayed longer. Spent lots of time in Cahuita National Park hiking & swimming. Toured the Sloth Sanctuary and also did a canopy tour with Terraventura near Puerto Viejo. Didn't get to snorkel because it stormed and the ocean was all churned up. Went to Ricki's Bar every day - Imperial Beer! Nothing like spending a week in the rain forest forest. Loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Close to Cahuita National Park and Cahuita town, this small hotel is surrounded by a beautiful forest, in a quiet property where the owners will be happy to make you feel comfortable and know the attractions of the area.
You can easily watch birds, monkeys and other animals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Special for resting and visiting the National Park, at just 10 mins walking from main town. A+ +

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josalvmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

A nice place with kind staff, really close to Cahuita National Park.
Be aware, though, that you are going to be awaked by really noise monkeys around 5AM, but you can also be luck and see lots of birds and a family of raccoons while relaxing in an hammock.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMakyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in late June and can't say enough about how nice the owners and their daughter are. There are a selection of pretty little bungalows each surrounded in its own little garden, there's both air conditioning and ceiling fans, fridge and coffee maker (both stocked).

The bungalows are almost literally backing onto Cahuita National Park which means its inhabitants are also on your doorstep. For the entire two days of our stay the tree's in front of the house we also "well stocked" with howler monkeys who kept us amused.

Its a short walk to both the centre of Cahuita and to the National Park entrance. You'll be glad that it's located up a quiet road away from the centre as Cahuita seems quite noisy at night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Biddlecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights in a villa at the edge of the rainforest. Howler monkeys and sloths in the big trees just outside our window. Great service and caring hotel staff, we absolutely loved the atmosphere! A 10 minute walk to the village and the entrance to Cahuita National park. We were offered free transportation to and from the village as often as we needed, but preferred to walk ourselves, even though it got a bit spooky in the dark. No problems though. Hummingbirds, Morpho butterflies and toucans could be seen along the way. Unfortunately, a bit of bad luck with the weather made snorkeling impossible during our slightly damp stay, otherwise (and perhaps given a bit more information from the start) we would have taken more advantage of the knowledgeable guides at the family-run hotel. Warmly recommended - we'd love to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaakanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What an incredibly lovely place to stay! Each bungalow looks like it’s straight from a fairytale and built with great care – lots of little details, rich woods and comfortable beds with clean linens. The units are far away from one another so guests get a sense of privacy and peace. We stayed in Unit 1, and enjoyed air conditioning, the use of a small kitchen with stove, refrigerator and sink, as well as dishes, silverware, etc. There was also a small private pool, an outdoor shower, a platform to feed the colorful tangers bananas, and a hammock on the porch. Like many of the buildings around Cahuita, the bungalow has a metal roof which—when the rain fell at night—was magical to hear. In the morning, we awoke to the howler monkeys in the nearby forests before enjoying a complimentary hot breakfast. The main town of Cahuita is reached after a 10-minute walk along a dirt road. The town consists of only a few streets but has two well-stocked grocery stores, great restaurants (I highly recommend Restaurant Relax on the highway nearby and Coral Reef in town) and a post office with one of the nicest postmasters I’ve ever met. This is also where you can access the National Forest, where visitors sign in and for a small donation can hike along trails to see the flora and fauna or spend time on the white sand beach in a gentle cove with clear, warm water perfect for wading or light swimming. The black sand beach – which is more remote and less crowded is about 15 minutes further. Snorkeling along the reef is available by boat rental, and guided rainforest tours are also available (where you’'re more likely to see animals). Would definitely recommend renting a car as we were repeatedly discouraged from walking anywhere at night along the dark, dirt road—and there is no on-site restaurant for lunch, dinner or snacks. Also, after one day in Cahuita you’ve pretty much seen it all! Which is ideal for unwinding and relaxing, but having a car would make it easier to explore more of the outlying areas, get groceries, or go out at night. Would also highly recommend visiting the nearby Sloth Sanctuary--where you can see adorable baby sloths and take a lazy canoe trip along the river. Lastly, I really want to say how friendly and warm the staff is at Ciudad Perdida – this place is run by a family who couldn't be nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggulalume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
3.0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge

Address: Cahuita National Park | P.O.Box N°1 Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Price Range: $120 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Ciudad Perdida Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing