We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed here for several days, but what was advertised is not what we got. The tv doesn't work, and no dvd player, (which sucks in the evening when there is nothing else to do at the resort) we didn't have a car, so we were back by 6:00 every night because it's not so good to walk from town to the lodge at night. The road there is poorly lit, we would have taxi'd it, but they are pretty much non-existant. Staff was okay but not too helpful, the person who worked the front desk seemed overworked so that's probably why. Also the pool is cold, so it's not so good to swim in, and the whirpool that we were promised was kind of misleading as well, as it is not heated either. Also if you want to go in it at night there is no light on the whirpool... again nothing to do here in the evening! If you don't like bugs you probably don't want to stay here either, but that's like most places in Costa Rica from what I find. You also should really have a car when you stay here, we didn't and I regret it. With that being said the breakfast was excellent, and the garden is very beautiful, we saw a lot of wildlife here including tucans and aguoti. I would only reccommend this place if you have your own vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wascana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    39
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
148
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ZUERICH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

I spend one of my best days in this Hotel, the buildings are nice and the employers very friendly, even i was lucky to get a room, because of highsaison. There you can see what it means swiss - qulity, very clean rooms, an excellent breakfast and the staff who runs the hotel made me all reservations i needed, even they picked me up at the busstation without to charge any colon. I just can recomend it.

  • Liked — big swimmingpool and the breakfast
  • Disliked — recomended with a car
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Troesch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We spent three nights (two nights prior at Mawamba Lodge in Totruguero and two nights post at Peace Lodge) and we agreed that these were the three best nights of trip. The place is new, so it's in mint condition, and a silent but friendly gardener works all day to keep it that way. Breakfasts are healthy and filling--eggs, just delivered and absolutely wonderful croissants and rolls, fresh fruit, with fresh squeezed juice from tropical fruit. The place is small, and was at less than capacity while we were there, so the grounds are quiet, and the small outdoor restaurant never busy. My ten year old loved the pool, and Danielo, the caretaker's son, keeps toys around the pool that guests use. The rooms are spotless, with tiny front porches that overlook the pool and grounds.

We ate dinner at the hotel one night, and the food was very good, though they essentially serve only the guests and staff. We ended up eating in town the other two nights to soak up the spirit of Cahuita. (There is plenty of spirit to be seen in this small town)

For nature lovers, one can sit on the hotel grounds and see howlers, keel billed toucans, orendopolas, hummingbirds and various other wonderful birds. Of special note are several parrots who have become accustomed to eating from the resort's breakfast tables. They are a noisy, but wonderful, presence on the grounds.

It is a hike into town (maybe 1.5 miles?), though we enjoyed the adventure of peeking into homes and hotels, seeing birds, and greeting townspeople and fellow tourists along the way. No walking after dark, methinks, at least we didn't. Cab rides cost 3-4 dollars, and take five minutes tops. Rental bikes are also available in town. We befriended the cabbie in front of the Safari Supermercado, and he drove us back and forth and shared local stories that enlivened our visit.

Overall, we loved the adventurous spirit of Cahuita and enjoyed the slight seediness of the town even more because we had the pristine refuge of Suizoloco to come back to at night. Our one complaint is that the rooms are open air with only screens, making the rooms susceptible to late evening noise from the restaurant/bar. One one night we were woken from a sound sleep by alcohol amplified conversation of other guests/staff as they finished last cocktails. Our fellow guests were not rowdy; unfortunately, the layout of the resort allows any slightly loud noise from the restaurant to reverberate among the small horseshoe shaped resort.

  • Liked — clean rooms and grounds
  • Disliked — night noise from restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We showed up late (10:30pm) without reservations, but the night guard was accomodating and arranged a room. The rooms are not elegant - but they are relatively new/newly renovated, simple but functional, and very clean. Plenty of hot water, great breakfast of eggs, fruit, coffee and juice in the morning. Nice pool area. Only real drawbacks were the lack of air conditioning, and no glass on the windows (just fine screens - effective for bug control, but of course the heat just pours in).

  • Liked — Clean rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Opening above bathroom door - could hear everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsera6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
11.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort

Property: Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Address: Entrada Plaza Viquez | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cahuita
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing