We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality, unpleasant, and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been traveling in Costa Rica regularly for the past 10 years and spent a lot of time in different hotels, including in Cahuita. This hotel is the worst place I have experienced. I expected to find nice and romantic rooms in a charming hotel to end my last trip. That was a mistake. It has no soul, it is shabby, and very expansive for what you get (more than 100 USD per night). You will find much better hotels near town along the "playa negra". The positive points of the hotel (tropical garden, tropical swimming pool, and breakfast with eggs and fruits) underlined in some reviews on tripadvisor are common to most of the hotels in Cahuita. The main reasons that should keep you away from this hotel are: the rooms are small and very rustic; there is no intimacy because there are no real walls separating the rooms of the bungalows (you can hear the other guests like if they were in your own room - that's not very pleasant when they flush the toilet ...); it's far from the National Park, from the town and from the bars and restaurants (you need a car, especially after dark - 5.30 pm); the coffee is horrible (that's a shame for Costa Rica); the rooms are overpriced in comparison with other hotels offering better services and nicer rooms and location; and, above all, this hotel does not have the Cahuita's spirit at all, it is impersonal, charmless, and has no soul.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DonZacapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 267 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 weeks traveling the east coast of Costa Rica and Panama and stayed at the Suizo Loco with 'the Suizo Loco' at the tail end of our trip.

This place is wonderful: The pool, dinner, setting (great animal viewing and listening), location--all of it. I can't recommend it enough.

Here's the topper: We were having such a good time that I miscalculated our return flight back to The States. In an absolute panic, the two of us packed our gear, checked the bus schedule to San Jose and sprinted to the front office to ask for a ride into town to catch the next bus.

The owner dropped everything he was doing and gave us a lift into town--just in time, I might add, to catch the bus we needed to catch.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glassysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful place. If you're looking for a nice and clean lodge with a wonderful hostess this is your place. Best breakfast in Costa Rica.

If your there you have to go to the south beach of the peninsula cahuita, best caribbean beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We staid two nights there with two boys. A nice small scale hotel with bungalows on a perfectly well maintained proprety, very clean and peaceful. Bernadette, the manager, is very welcoming and is also a very good cook, and the dinner was delicious. We all liked it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vir265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Suizo Loco is set in a lovely garden full of flowers and butterflies. Our bungalow was at the far end, very private and with its own jacuzzi. We left it full after using it and two noisy frogs took up residence every night. We were able to go out and photograph them.
Very comfortable rooms with good mosquito screens on the windows so we were able to have lots of fresh air at night.
The pool was lovely and the open air dining area looks on to it. Bernadette's meals are simple but very tasty. It was sad that we could not communicate with her too well because it would have been good to talk more - she speaks German and French but not English.
Quite a walk into Cahuita if you haven't got a car but there are some restaurants about ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryExeter_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Cozy, bungalow style rooms, with ceiing fan, no A/C, mini fridge, separate bathroom, bug screen netting around bed. Very simplistic, but met our every need. The restauarant serves up a great breakfast as part of the nightly rate, and the owner Bernadette is a tremendous cook. Bernadette, is very warm, hospitable and extremely helpful. If we were to be back in Cahuita, we would stay there again. Located about a 3 minute drive out of Cahuita along a gravel road that follows the beach. Nice to get out of the town to sleep quietly and safely. Beautifully kept grounds and a nice pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

When you come to Suizo loco Bernadette ( the owner ) will bring you to you're room. It was our honeymoon.The room we've got had no AC. it wasn't nessesary . The room is very clean and it has an open bathroom , It has a wall between bed and bathroom but the wall is not untill the ceiling. You can make tea or coffee in the room and it has a safe and a fridge.It is a small resort about 10 or 12 rooms but it is quiet and peacefull. A place where you can relaxe in every way. The birds fly by.Leguana in the tree and the howly monkeys you cabn see and hear. Lovely place.
If you will you can eat for diner and then Bernadette will make you a meal.
Breakfast is good. First you get fresh fruit and then they ask you what you will like to have for eggs. You get coffe or tea and a fresh juice. By the restaurant you can take the binocular to look in the garden for animals or birds. Its free to take it.Also there are cards with all the animals there are in CR so you can look what you have seen....when you want something to know go to Bernadette and she will help you with her everlasting smile. This is a place we will come back to. The whole atmosfere and it is nearby beautiful beaches and a great national park.
Erik & Inge the Netherlands

Room Tip: When you want to go out for diner. Go to restaurant Cha Cha Cha in Cahuita. When you go left on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
183 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
11.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort

Address: Entrada Plaza Viquez | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#1 Green Hotel in Cahuita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing