We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not anymore”
Review of Hotel Jaguar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jaguar
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not anymore”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Although this hotel, with its excellent location across from the beach, should be a going concern, it has been hampered by several changes of ownership and management over the years, most of whom appear to know little about the hospitality industry. I have been a loyal fan for a long time in spite of this because of the hotel's location and design but, with all the lovely alternative choices existing in this delightful little town of Cahuita, I have lost patience with it. Recently, I contacted the hotel to see if I could use the wi-fi in their spacious, open air lounge area if I purchased beverages or food. The answer was no. This isn't an establishment that welcomes travellers or looks for ways to promote itself and generate business. It appears to be insular and closed. Even the hedge around the property has been allowed to grow to over twelve feet high, effectively obstructing one of its best features - the view of the Caribbean just across the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
5
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were charged 50 bucks, the man next to us was charged 60. The Italian man working the counter told us the island was full and we would have a hard time finding a place, that was a lie. We went down the street the next day and found a private cabin for 30 bucks. Go to Cabinas Brigitte just south of Jaguar.. Much better place. Jaguar provided a weak breakfast, then charged us 6 bucks a plate for it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wowirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cahuita hotels

London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at the Jaguar in Feb 2007 and found it very disappointing, practically deserted, dirty pool and all furniture very old and shabby. I'm going back to Cahuita this month and will take a look at the Jaguar as friends have told me that it's been renovated and cleaned up. I realise my review is a bit out of date (it's now 2010), but as my friend assures me that it's improved I'll write more on my return. But as stated by other reviewers - it's a very long way from the decent beaches.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WElltravelled046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

For $40 a day, you can lodge up to five people per room. There are vaulted ceilings, ensuite shower, foam mattresses, TV, and the beautiful Playa Negra within 200 metres of the room. Also available in each room are magazines in five languages. The front counter sells beverages, snacks, and bottles of Imperial cerveza.

Tourists are mostly American, German, and Dutch. The Costa Rican women in nearby Cahuita are beautiful. The Spanish spoken is understandable and clear. Glowing skin, always with a smile on the face and personable.

The Hotel Jaguar is not easily found from nearby National Route 36, but with a little luck, you will find one of the best deals and beautiful scenery on the Moskito Coast and Play Negra.
I was amazed by the lack of crowds at Playa Negra -- had the beach all to myself! The Caribbean water is 20C, very comfortable. On the shoreline are fallen coconuts and driftwood.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec (Canada)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

One advice, do not give your credit card number to Hotel Jaguar in Cahuita ‘cause they’ll automatically charge 50% of your 2-day stay or 30% or your 3+day stay, even 2 months ahead… And if you try to cancel even 5 days in advance, they do not refund.
Stay away from them.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

The room was a decent size. Nothing fancy but acceptable. The bathroom’s not too new but it was alright. The pool was nice (a good size) with a shower right by it. Playa Negra is right out front. However, getting to the nicer beaches (in my opinion) at Cahuita National Park and the supermarket (as well as the bus stop coming in and out of town) is quite a walk. Take a walk there anyways. It’s really gorgeous on the other side!

I recommend renting a bicycle for a few dollars a day / half a day. That way you can get places much faster than trekking in your flip-flops, even though the roads are not really flat. There’s a place with bicycles for rent a few doors down; however, the bikes have no brakes - to brake, you simply paddle backwards.... oh and ask for a lock to avoid potential problems (they don't always have one and of course you'd be responsible if the bike gets stolen).

You can stay here if you don't want to be near people and don't mind the not-too-extraordinary beach, but Cahuita's not crowded anyways (when I was there-I was there twice in Dec./Jan.). I think it's probably better to find a hotel on the other side closer the national park. You can do snorkeling there and the vegetation on land is equally amazingly beautiful... or take a bus (an hour away) to Manzanillo (get a local guide and do a rainforest trek [about $35/person for 4 hours] through complete wilderness with cool creatures/plants and awesome beach views) . Oh by the way, sometimes the bus won't stop unless you whistle before when you're supposed to get off.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years and am glad to see that the new owners are doing renovations and taking care of this excellent property located right across the road from Black Beach, on the Caribbean.

What the Jaguar has that most hotels in Cahuita don't is large, airy rooms that catch the ocean breezes because of the slatted wooden shutters on both sides of the room as well as the high ceilings that allow for air flow. There are no mosquitoes or muggy times here. All rooms have two queen size beds and plenty of space to move around in.

The main reception/restaurant/pool area is a pleasing, attractive, open and airy location under a large roof. It's spacious and comfortable. We drove into Cahuita without a reservation at 9:00 pm and were able to get a room, were well-treated and could have even ordered something to eat until 10:00 pm. Wireless internet access is available for persons with laptops. One woman sat at a table in the restaurant and spoke with her family in England using Skype.

From the back door of the room, we can walk into the back garden and to the pool. The front patio in front of each room is equipped with utilitarian white plastic table and 4 chairs (they used to have comfortable wooden lounge chairs that one could lay in which I preferred).

The renovations mean that the rooms now have good locks, the bathrooms are equipped with hot water, the 'suites' have curtains on the windows and percolators. They are somewhat basic in that the large areas are free of convenient benches to put suitcases, etc.

I was happier with the front staff (evening) than I was with the previous managers who had no idea how to welcome guests. In fact two years ago we didn't stay because the pool was dirty and the general air of neglect turned off my co-travelers.

I find the price of the most economical rooms to be very competitive and reasonable although these rooms are located farthest from the pool and restaurant.

  • Liked — Spacious, fresh ocean breezes, restaurant/pool location
  • Disliked — slow restaurant service, parking area could use some shade for cars
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaguar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaguar

Property: Hotel Jaguar
Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Jaguar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Hotel Cahuita
Hotel Jaguar Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing