We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair accommodation”
Review of Bungalows Malu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows Malu
Ranked #15 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Group of cabins apparently built from beach stones, and the insides are of the same material making everything very very dark. But there is air-conditioning. Breakfast charged extra. Common facilities OK.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed the first week of May 2009. We were the only ones in the place and at 64 pewr night quite a steal! Our room was 100 meters fromthe ocean( across a dirt road)
Room was clean and they came and made it up at least once during our four day stay there. staff was pleasant and help ful, but it is a hump to get to town down the dirt road, but wow the beach is as nature intended it to be, limpia and isolated. no golf courses or swinging nite life, they leave that for Puerto Viejo , down the road. Inter net is up stairs and they bring the cable used on the phone to connect it, not exactly high tech....Staff was very accomodating but then again we were the only ones there!

Long way from the park( other side of town) and no hot water but the pool is quite lovely especially at 8pm at nite. Rooms are DARK, but really peaceful

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

The staff and location are outstanding at Malu. Located down a quiet road, only about 15 minute walk from Cahuita along the sea, in a lush and very private setting. We would wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys everyday, truly amazing! The bungalows are extremely clean, the pool area is a real bonus and beautfiul, All of the staff were excellent to deal with. Pricing is really fair for what you get. If you are looking for something quiet, peaceful and out of the hub that is Puerto Viejo, I highly recommend Cahuita and Bungalows Malu, wouldnt stay anywhere else if we go back.
Al and Brooke, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed at Bungalows Malu for three nights in September and loved it there. It was so relaxing and right across from the beach.
My fiance and I had just got engaged, so if you are looking for quiet, off the beaten path romance this is the place. We did some more traveling along the caribean coast but ended up back here again to finish out our vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dblack19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Clean rooms all in wood.
We went for one day and we liked it so much that we finally stayed 4.

It's a nice and quite place with excellent paintings everywhere ( in the room, the open restaurant.
All the painting are from the owner, Alessandra Bucci.

The swimming-pool is fantastic, small but very cute.

We really recommend this place if you go to Cahuita.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fergih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marinke-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
151 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
3 Bamboo
3 Bamboo
#4 of 21 in Cahuita
84 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kenaki Lodge
Kenaki Lodge
#9 of 21 in Cahuita
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Malu

Address: Cahuita, Playa Negra | 2 km (1 mi) north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $88 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens in front of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bungalows Malu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Malu Hotel Cahuita
Malu Hotel Cahuita
Bungalows Malu Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing