We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartments”
Review of Bungalows Malu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bungalows Malu
Ranked #11 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Kbely, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartments”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Quite, lovely and clean apartments. We have found them accidentally after overpriced house nearby. Been there for one night during our trip throug Costa Rica and can only recommend it. Also you must have their soup !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Lovely quiet spot near the beach and beautiful bungalows. The village is a 15 minutes walk.
Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-en-Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Bungalows Malu. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You really feel at home here at this place with a relaxed atmosphere. The bungalows are cosy and have all the facillities you need. The food is good and if you like tea ask for fresh herbal tea from the garden. It was a pitty that we had to leave after 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in about 14 different places in Costa Rica and this was our favorite.
Quiet. Clean.
Great staff. They spoke perfect English.
Just across a small road from one of the nicest beaches we saw in all of Costa Rica.
Make sure you take a shower by the pool after you return from the beach or get out of the pool. I won't spoil the surprise by telling you why it's so special.
The only place where we stayed that they came in every day to clean up and bring clean towels.
Frig and AC. Good sized.
Flowers and more flowers. Gorgious.
Private.
We loved it.
Make sure you tour the sloth rescuse center which is about 10 miles N.

Room Tip: Get bungalow # 4. It's in a back corner. Private. Front "porch" that is exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWonderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont, ca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were a group of 3 families that vacationed at Bungalows Malu in Cahuita during fourth week of June in 2011. We stayed there for 5 nights and were occupying 3 different bungalows.
Each bungalow were self contained units. Some were bigger with more additional amenities than the other. All of them had a separate bath with shower. There was a locker for safe deposit too. One of the families had a unit with two rooms. Since the place was sparsely occupied we got an opportunity to see the other units. One of the units even had a kitchen with a stove and refrigerator and all.
For us the location was the best attraction here. We were just by the beach side. There was just a small unpaved stone road between us and the beach and we heard the crashing of the waves all the while which was very nice.
The beach which was called Playa Negra was not the cleanest beaches :) But it was okay to get into the water. The best beach however playa blanca was along the coast line to the south about 2 kms away. The down town was also about 1.5 km away. We enjoyed dining out trying out the different Caribbean styled hotels and cooking.
Bungalows Malu also had a basic restaurant cabana where we used to get breakfast everyday. We could get eggs or bread butter and jam. We could also get a sandwich any part of the day. The people who run the place are very friendly accommodating and nice.
The vegetation like the plants and trees inside the hotel compound is awesome too. One night we saw huge crab walking along, one of us almost stepped on it! There were lots of lizards all around not to mention mosquitos and other flies! Bungalows Malu also has a pool but the water color was not at all inviting. They need to work on maintaining the water there I guess, and none of us (save for one adventurous one) dared to dive into that pool!
There are lots of stray dogs along the unpaved stone road. If you decide to walk along, just be warned that these dogs come pretty close to smell you and can make one quite uncomfortable!
Cauhita itself a very nice small caribbean town that has not been spoiled by tourists a whole lot. Most of the people who come there are the unpretentious tourists who come to enjoy the beaches and the caribbean lifestyle without all the luxuries.
Just a few kilometers south maybe 15-20 I think there is a bigger town called Puerto Viejo. This is a typical beach town. We used to go hear almost daily for dinner and spending the time on the beaches there as well. The waves on these beaches are just out of this world!
In all I would not mind going and staying back at Bungalows Malu the next time I'm there!

Room Tip: The rooms are of various sizes and fits the needs of different individuals and families. I would tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed with our Family for 5 nights in apartment nr 8. It was really very good! THE children had an own bedroom. THE location was very good, you just can walk with your swimmingtrousers to THE beach.THe staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed here three nights during our round trip through Costa Rica. The location is out of town down a 4x4 type road. When entering through the gate you notice the attention to detail of the owners. A lot is made with natural stone and wood which gives it a very nice atomosphere. Each rooms is in a seperate cabin (all with air conditioning - which is nice with temperatures in august). The staff (I believe all family members) are very kind and service minded. The pool is great (again with a natural look). Breakfast is great with fruit, eggs, coffee and fresh juice (different kinds). Cahuita as a place small with appearantly quite a bit of drugs use. If you are staying in cabin #2, do not leave belongings on the porch of your bungalow as this is visible from the street and people will come and take it (as we experienced). The place is highly recommended for its relaxed atmosphere and outstanding service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remon_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.2 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Malu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Malu

Property: Bungalows Malu
Address: Cahuita, Playa Negra | 2 km (1 mi) north of Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with bungalows surrounded by tropical gardens in front of the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bungalows Malu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Malu Hotel Cahuita
Malu Hotel Cahuita
Bungalows Malu Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing