We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly unique experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
the house Bridge entrance to treehouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
the house
Bridge entrance to treehouse
dining room with hammaock & terrace
tree trunks in living room
Giant tree roots inside
main bathroom with shower
kitchen & dining room
slot in living room
same slot
Master bedroom
second bedroom
Entrance to the treehouse
living room 1st floor
living room second floor
second floor
balcony
living room 1 st floor
bar
hammock & dining room
Kitchen and bar
Kitchen
desk with internet
poisen dart frogs Dendrobates pumillio
turtles in fish pond
howler monkey in front of the balcony
green iguana in fish pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cahuita, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mousegram...
Sparks, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly unique experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This property was spotlessly clean and had all of the immenities that one could need. The grounds were nice and there were animals, including a sloth! There were friendly fruit bats who lived in the treehouse, but they were of no bother. The only negative was that it was very warm for sleeping. The fan was noisy, but better than nothing! Although the house was very open, the grounds were behind a locked perimeter and we never felt unsafe. It was located within walking distance of a restaurant that had good food and cold beer! The beach was just across the street from the restaurant. Topo was a gracious host, and available to answer any questions that we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for your review!
It was apleasure to have you staying at my treehouse!
Topo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmgMatthe...
matthews nc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

If you enjoy solitude, nature, wildlife, and totally unique lodging, this is the place for you! Gorgeous, spectacular, one-of-a-kind place to stay, this open air treehouse is a once in a lifetime experience. Topo is a wonderful host and the vibe is Caribbean and fun. The treehouse is indescribably beautiful, the photos are totally correct. You will never forget your stay here and probably never stay in another place as unique and memorable. Don't pass this up! You will never forget this slice of paradise!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetney00...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As natives of LA, we went to Cahuita to get away. We went exclusively for Topos Treehouse. It did not disappoint. You can stay in a hotel anywhere in the world. A Treehouse is a unique, unparalleled opportunity to be outside, open air and commune with nature. This one is right in the middle of a jungle, just steps from the famous Playa Negra or "Black Sand" beach.

This treehouse is right out of Swiss Family Robinson. It is exceptionally beautiful down to the last hand carved detail. Topo is a benevolent, low key host. GO!!! You will never regret it. We will return someday.

Terry & Maria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A child dream comes true”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A once in a lifetime experience: While feeling save, you live on/in a giant tree in a little jungle with beautiful animals, sounds and flowers. With all luxury.

And the owner, Topo, is a very charming host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelhes
Helena, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Treehouse”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Topo's Treehouse for 2 nights while traveling with a friend. It is a lovely treehouse with so much wildlife just outside your door and a sloth living in the tree where the house is built. We wandered around the pond after dark and saw so many different frogs. Topo's dogs are big and lovable. Easy walking distance to several restaurants, a small grocery store, as well as a nice beach. We also visited the Sloth Sanctuary and Jaguar Rescue Center. Both are worth your time if you are an animal lover. I would like to return and stay longer. Particularly loved the hammocks. Topo arranged our taxi back to the Limon airport upon departure which was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Treehouse Living”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Topo was an incredible host and has built a very special property. The house is an open air house as shown in the pictures - ie no walls but the tree trunk, except for the bedrooms which are sealed. Our family loves nature and animals so we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The kitchen is fully stocked - although we only used it for breakfasts. It was difficult to find groceries outside of the basics. The property is very private due to the gardens that Topo developed over the years. The frogs will put you to sleep at night and the howler monkey's will wake you up! We were lucky enough to have a troop of monkey's spend the night in "our" treehouse and it was a truly amazing experience to basically sit with them in the branches from the treehouse patio. We also were lucky enough to have a sloth living in our tree that we kept up with for several days. The local Reggae Bar is where everyone hangs out. The black beach is beautiful too! We did day trips to Manzinallo (the national park is awesome) and Puerto Viejo (this is where the kids wanted to hang out). You should also check out the Jaguar Sanctuary and the Sloth Sanctuary. We had two 22 year olds with us and we all enjoyed the nature of Costa Rica. Highly recommend Topo's for an out of the way adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to nature and animals
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoolCatch
Washington State Eastside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique, perfect, living-with-nature experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The treehouse was just as we had hoped. An indoor-outoor living experience,combining the builder's awesome craftsmanship and attention to detail with nature's best jungle surroundings...and within easy walking distance to everything you could want on a vacation. The home itself was great - a work of art - with everything we needed. The open-to-the-outdoor living space would not be for everyone, but made our stay even more fun. There was a sloth high in the tree above us, plus an iguana, frogs, and agoutis. Nearby is the Tree of Life gardens and animal rescue. A short distance were two restaurant/bars and a handy mini mart. Cahuita was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk along the ocean, with restaurants, groceries, bus station and ATM, and the entrance to the national park. The Sloth Sanctuary was a short, inexpensive bus trip away and other tours are available in Cahuita. The treehouse owner/builder was helpful, and we enjoyed his two dogs that were our loyal companions during our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing