We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Selva Bananito Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Playa Westfalia(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acon(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
Hotel Park(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
Park Hotel(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Bonita(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maribu Caribe Hotel(Puerto Limon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
170
12
3
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
12
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree climbingno electricityeco tourismhorseback ridingfolding doorssolar panelsother guestsriver crossingwheel drivenatural worldan adventurethe ownerwaterfall hikebird watchingnature loversnight walkthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 190 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Along with a group of colleagues, we discovered and deeply learned about this unique place. We certainly observed in the first minutes the love and passion which has been invested in Selva Bananito. In fact, a reference point for any project on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica, where, against the stream, they have stopped illegal DEforestation, implemented ecological rules and habits at the lodge, monitored the existing primary forest, put into practice a well-managed REforestration and conservation program, and educated and integrated the locals. Beside the “green” facts, we had a great time enjoying a world class horseback riding tour, canopying, hiking in the forest on many trails, as well as a healthy food menu. The bungalows are surprising comfortable and well-made, open to the landscape. A real barefoot-luxury place !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

What an unexpected place!!! In the rainforest, on a ranch, with horses, hiking, waterfalls, off the grid. So cool!!!!!
Only electricity here is Solar Powered, so bring flashlights.
Lots to do, hiking, bird watching, horseback riding, tree climbing, or just hanging out in your hammock.
Not the best place for small children in my opinion, not much of anything for them to do.
The food here is pretty basic Costa Rican, but pretty good, the guides are great, and it is really pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding and honeymoon at Selva Bananito in May 2013 and we cannot say enough about the place. The staff was absolutely incredible and made our stay there the most memorable of places we have ever been. Our tours were fantastic and we were perfectly matched with a guide that fit our style. The food was great and the views stunning. The owner even spent time with us, which is something you would never get at a larger resort.

Our wedding was done on the property and the staff went out of their way to make it special to us. Part of the ceremony was done by horseback and they even decorated the horses for us. There were so many surprises that we never expected and we will cherish all of the memories that we had there.

We would recommend this place to any adventurous couple looking for a true getaway in the beautiful rainforest.

Thanks Selva Bananito and your wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights and two days in early February and were amazed to be sharing with no more than a few others . The location is awesome and we were so sorry not to be able to stay longer - could have happily stayed for weeks!

We took the Interbus from Playa Chiquita and were dropped at Delias salon in Bananito Village to await the 4x4 pick up from the lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful from the start - stopping to point out sloths and other wildlife on the track up to the lodge.

This place is seriously off the beaten track and the sense of being away from it all was really special for us. The cabin was the best we stayed in during our five week trip: spacious, tasteful and spotless. The balcony with its two hammocks and seating area looked across the valley to the pristine forest reserve and the view was simply breathtaking in its scale and beauty. There are louvred windows along two other sides and we went to bed with all the door and shutters back to appreciate every second and feel totally immersed. Don't do this if you don't like bats - but if you do, enjoy them flitting around just before dawn.

The bathroom was fine too - you need to let the shower run to get to the solar heated water.

The homemade food was lovely and varied and we really enjoyed sitting with the other guests for sociable dinners. Justo, our main host and guide was a delight: courteous, funny, incredibly well-informed and infectiously enthusiatic about the place. He came running up one afternon to show us his absolutely favourie bird which had landed in a faraway tree; there is a telesope in the communal area (Rancho) and we were all soon admiring the Snowy Cotinga! All the staff were endlessly patient and always helpful, making us truly feel at home (which is probably why it was so hard to leave!)

Justo took us riding, which is recommended as great way to get a feeling for the area. And despite the rain I swam in the river, enjoyed the forest garden and ate fresh coconut and star fruit as the story of property was unfolded. He must have told it all a million times but we felt it was just for us.

He also took us on an excellent early morning bird walk - finding new species we had missed and identifying lots of the mystery species hopping in bushes! I am not sure how he managed to provide so much excellent service but he is a treasure.

We loved the wildlife and sense of freedom, enjoying walks along the river bed and out to the edge of the primary forest. Loads of birds, but also butterflies, harlequin bugs, spiders, frogs, caiman etc. The place sings with tropical chirruping after dark and we were delighted have Miranda - a large tarantula - to say good night to on the tree on the way to our room each evening. There was also mad squawking in the night like a cross between Tommy Cooper and a strangled chicken - these are the boat-billed night herons, which we were lucky enough to see roosting near the pond the next evening.

I am a keen greenie and this was the only place we stayed which really pulled the stops out in terms of minimising its environmental impact - right down to having strong paper sacks for the loo paper rather than the plastic bags we found absolutly everywhere else. These are composted along with food waste, banana leaves and other compostables. Fab. And whilst we are on the subject, all the grey and foul water is managed through a series of filtration ponds and purified using the power of nature. The compost is used for tree seedlings planted out in the areas of forest being regenerated and the water is returned to the caiman lake below the rancho. All this sustainability has no effect on the sense of comfort and luxury but once you know you wonder whether more places couldn't try harder. After dark there is only solar lighting in the rooms and candles - and fireflies - all adding to the jungle atmosphere.

Jurgen joined us for breakfast on our final morning having arrived late the night before and his own passion for the place is inspiring. I am only sorry that our paths crossed so briefly - there is so much going on there. We loved it and hope to return somehow one day.

If you are hesitating for any reason then don't! We had to stretch our budget but it was worth every penny and if you are the kind of person who would do trips elsewhere anyway (we generally weren't) then it is exceptionally good value all in. Go. You won't regret it.
Thank you all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWinLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our favorite part of costa rica. Was a little worried at first about Eco lodge but loved it. Horseback riding ziplining repelling and tree climbing all great. Saw lots of animals in rainforest. Great local food and very good guides.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews