We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trails, ocean and forest at the same time!”

Cahuita National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Cahuita Boat, Snorkel and Hiking Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This coastal park contains white sandy beaches and coral reefs.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great trails, ocean and forest at the same time!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a magical place to spend a day. We started off at the Cahuita end of the park although it looks like many of them start on the other side. Trail is well marked and tons of creatures along the way. Initially, we had a tough time figuring out what the sloths looked like and what trees they inhabited but once a ranger pointed them out, we started seeing them everywhere.

Bring some mosquito repellent, water bottles as well as sunscreen and a swimsuit to jump into the water. There are no facilities once you enter the park but tons of picnic benches and great water to jump into.

Well worth a trip - you'll see people but not hordes of people so you can take your time and see the creatures without other walkers scaring them off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spahkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,370
    491
    77
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La naturaleza”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Walking along the path and seeing all kinds of animals in their natural habitat was amazing! We even got to see monkeys jumping up and down over our heads!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day in the park”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

You basically follow the coastline. The trail is just inside of jungle from the beach. We were able to see all types of crabs, raccoons, sloths,spider monkeys,howler monkeys, giant Red headed woodpecker, sloths, butterflies,snakes.you can stop and relax on the beach and their are some picnic tables at Punta Cahuita and restrooms, showers etc at both ends of the trail.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jn627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jungle and beach”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We walked through the jungle path, since it was so hot and humid, but many people chose the beach--we saw swimmers and volleyball players (using natural sticks for a "net"), We spotted a couple of capuchin monkeys, a blue morpho butterfly, and a number of fantastic plants. Coming back, we enjoyed lunch at one of the "sodas" (simple restaurants) along the town street that leads into the park. An enjoyable morning!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walking Path along Beach”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This park had a nice easy walking path along the beach. There was a howler monkey following us as he was swinging from tree to tree and ended with all his friends. We saw eye lash vipers just off the path. Snorkeling in this location was kind of cloudy but we did see some lion fish along with other small colorful fish. Thought it would of been more clear, however it was very warm and fun adventure. After snorkeling, we walked down the path to the small town and had Caribbean food which was very good. Wish we had more time to walk around in town as we were with a tour group.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfish229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahuita National Park also viewed

 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Cahuita National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing