We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience - See animals from up close.”

Cahuita National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Cahuita Boat, Snorkel and Hiking Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This coastal park contains white sandy beaches and coral reefs.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice experience - See animals from up close.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a walk in the park. Very nice, we had the occasion to see animals close by that we didn't have to see from so close before (monkeys, sloth, heron). At the end of the trail there is a little area where bathing is possible and the sea is more quiet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,370
    491
    77
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Park to Visit in Cahuita”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first visit to a National park in Costa Rica and worth a visit! We got there as early as we could which was helpful in that we were paired up with a guide right off the bat. He spoke little English but we still saw a lot more on the guided hike than we would have on our own! The beaches became busier the later into the day it got so get there early for the best experience! We saw sloths, bats, and lots of howler monkeys!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had only 1 night to spend in Cahuita and we weren't sure we would get to this park, but it wound up being a fabulous experience. Admission is free but they welcome voluntary donations. There is a well maintained dirt/sand trail with trees on both sides, and with the ocean just past the trees on one side and a river/lagoon on the other. The trail is completely flat, and perfect for a nice walk and wildlife viewing.

Among the wildlife seen was a family of Howler Monkeys, then a family of White-faced Capuchin Monkeys, as well as an iguana, a sloth, a raccoon (that walked by within a few feet of us without paying any attention), and many birds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best park we saw in Costa Rica”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful park. Voluntary donation to enter park through the entrance in Cahuita. Beaches a few meters from the trail, jungle on the other side. Trail easy enough for our 20 month old to run for the most part, except for a few termite and ant hazards. Saw more wildlife here than any other park in Costa Rica, WITHOUT a guide. I would visit the park first and then decide if you want a guide. It was busier (but never 'busy') at the entrance and first couple hundred meters of trail where you have locals and tico tourists coming for a quick swim. The trail gets more and more deserted the farther you go in. Eventually you come to an estuary which was one of the most beautiful spots we spent time in Costa Rica, with corally beach, warm tide, nice shade, brown-stained stream with small fish and herons, no bugs, monkeys are a little brazen if you welcome them to be so. We saw a couple fof different spots like this along the trail where a family had found their own perfect private paradise to swim, eat in the shade and explore near the shore or along a stream. Some of the nicest light for pictures, some of the best pictures i took of the jungle, flora, fauna, and of ourselves during our whole two week trip. Beach was too rough for snorkelling but apparently it's very good in October.

Come here early in the day with a plan to hike in 3-4 kilometers until you find a small private spot to chill out on the beach, in the shade, do some swimming and exploring around estuaries with monkeys, sloths, snakes and birds. Definitely do not miss this park if you are staying in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dadatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of animals”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very nice and easy trail through the jungle. In 40 minutes walk we managed to see howler monkeys, sloths, racoons, snakes, spiders, termites, other insects and got a great overview of local plants.
The trail from Cahuita leads to a very nice swimmable beach with clear water and almost no waves (we were there during winter time when the waters are rough in general).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nata_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahuita National Park also viewed

 
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
 

Been to Cahuita National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing