We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all-inclusive horseback riding vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magellan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our first horseback riding vacation and it exceeded all our expectations! We enjoyed the accommodations--just six guest rooms, and the gourmet food. We loved the fact that every day was planned for us, from riding on the beach and jungle, to snorkeling, to hiking with a guide in the national park, to a visit to the sloth sanctuary. We especially enjoyed our gracious host, Terry, who made everything thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: All six rooms are equally great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeansweezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 199 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Magellan Inn for a week. The room was spacious and scrupulously clean. Terry, the owner, is friendly and helpful who runs a very professional operation. The grounds are groomed every day and the staff is helpful and efficient. The fresh rolls and fruit for breakfast make a great start to the day.

We were there for a horseback riding tour that included all of our meals. Terry provided a variety of scrumptious meals made from the freshest seafood, fruits and vegetables. She also coordinated an itinerary that included varied rides as well as trips to the Sloth Rescue, the national forest and the Jaguar Rescue.

All in all, it was a trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: I should have brought my own pillow. Otherwise, the sleep quality was fine. One tip, you should know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine2014223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hotel Magellan Inn is a delightful little spot to stay in Cahuita. It's in easy walking distance of beauiful, undeveloped beaches, and decent walking distance from the town of Cahuita and the park there that follows the coast just past the town. Terry is an excellent host who will arrange any number of outings (surfing lessons, snorkeling, tours, yoga, etc.) with extremely friendly, nice, and knowledgeable guides/instructors. And the hotel itself surrounds a little mini-paradise of a garden with a nice open-air area to eat breakfast and hang out. I recommend an outing to Jaguar Rescue Center, which doesn't actually have jaguars, but has many interesting animals being rehabilitated to be released into the wild. Terry and her staff will be happy to arrange a taxi.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that's not under one of the fruiting trees, as the fruits falling o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have stayed several times at the Magellan Inn in Cahuita, owned and operated by Terry LIllian Newton. She runs a wonderful B&B. THe rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. THe gardens and pool of the hotel are beautiful. I highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corinnerosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Bravo Terry and crew. Away from the main road enough to feel a part of nature, yet close enough to get to all of the local attractions. Ride horses for miles on the beach - they live right on the property! Terry will arrange wildlife, beach, horse, chocolate tours and more... Cahuita is on the Caribbean side, but only a few hours drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EADGPLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night during a recent tour of Costa Rica and wished I could have stayed longer! It's a small and intimate lodge within 250m of the beach which extends a special welcome for yoga and horse riding enthusiasts + anyone who needs to relax and chill out. It has a wonderfully calm ambience and beautifully tended gardens. There are three friendly oversize dogs in residence - a Great Dane, Schnauzer & Bull Mastiff - who sound terrifying but are completely loveable. There's a well kept swimming pool on the property, a yoga pavilion in the grounds and horses on the property with the opportunity to try horse yoga which sounded great, only wish I could have taken advantage of the option! Other wildlife includes a mad macaw who obligingly poses in a variety of positions (including upside down) who will try to nip you if you come too close and a well behaved green parrot who sleeps a lot. Add to that a variety of birdlife and some amazing butterflies and you can understand the appeal. Rooms were fairly basic but clean and spacious and I found the ceiling fans to be perfectly adequate. A big plus was the great breakfast: masses of fresh fruit, warm sweet rolls and coffee/tea on tap. Delicious! The staff were very obliging and the size of the inn made the whole experience very personal and authentic. I would love to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Out of all the places we've stayed in Cahuita, Magellan was truly the tropical paradise we were looking for. Lush tropical garden with an inviting pool, surrounded by the sounds of nature and two resident parrots complete the picture perfect setting. The owner, Terry, and her staff were very warm and welcoming. The hotel itself was immaculate and the room was the perfect, quiet retreat we were searching for. Its in a great location, close enough for convenience to all the activities, restaurants and the beach yet just far enough away to be secluded, quiet and serene. A magical place that we will return to time and again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
148 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
11.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kenaki Lodge
Kenaki Lodge
#8 of 21 in Cahuita
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magellan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magellan Boutique Hotel

Address: Playa Grande, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Magellan Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $94 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magellan Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, 3-star boutique hotel is an ideal setting for a leisure stay in the heart of the Caribbean! Only 150 meters away, you can enjoy a walk to one of the prettiest beaches in Cahuita. Just a few more kilometers away, all with in walking distance, you will find the Cahuita National Park and several blue flag beaches along the way. Located in a private jungle oasis, our recently remodeled hotel will delight the spirit, with decor inspired by the vibrant colors and life of the rainforest. A tranquil setting to unwind in, with tropical GARDENS, a POOL dramatically sunken into an ancient coral reef cavern, a YOGA studio with weekly classes, BARBEQUE area, and BAR/ LOUNGE area. The hotel features 6 stylish, recently remodeled guest bedrooms, with a comfortable atmosphere and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Magellan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Magellan Cahuita
Magellan Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing