We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelly Creek Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenaki Lodge(Cahuita)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$103
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Ache(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
130
32
16
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
32
16
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkhowler monkeysthe ownerlarge birdsmosquito nettingnatural reserverooms are largesound of the wavescosta ricaseveral languagesplace to staytwo nightshomemade breadsmall townpacific sidelocation is greatall kinds
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 182 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

You can argue about the rest, but location of this hotel is definitely the best in Cahuita. It is right at the gate to the national park and two steps from the main beach in town. The road ends there so that you can enjoy the sounds of waves, birds and monkeys in the tropical forest surrounding the place, and no through traffic.
Wood-paneled rooms are large, simple, elegant, and have all you need to feel comfortable including fans, mosquito nets and WiFi Internet .
Andreas and Marie-Claude are wonderful hosts and very inspiring couple.We truly enjoyed our conversations with them. They have owned the place for more than 15 years and know the area very well. They helped to arrange some of our tours and gave us valuable advises about what to see and how to get around in Costa Rica.
The food in the small restaurant is excellent - especially their famous paella (order it a few hours upfront as it takes long time to cook). The deserts with fruits and chocolate hand-made from local cacao beans are amazing too!
Green Amazon parrot named Verdi is another member of the staff who works full time entertaining the hotel guests, owners, and everybody else who passes by. Verdi speaks Spanish and English, doesn't mind you inviting him for a breakfast and has amazing sense of humor.
Truly beautiful place with unique atmosphere - we will definitely stay there if we ever go back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DosPalabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Kelly Creek is in a great location and relatively easy to find. The large bedroom/living room is equipped with a fan and mosquito netting but the constant breezes off the water were sufficient to keep us cool. The owners were pleasant and helpful. We would have liked to have breakfast along with the rental rate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Large rooms, ideally located on the edge of town and at the entrance to the main beach and National Park. Bed with mosquito nets and fans in the room. The talking Parrott is great company and a caiman comes to visit each morning. $55 a night, so not the cheapest in town, but worth that price.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr64Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in the 2 front rooms at the Kelly Creek Hotel for 3 nights. Unfortunately we arrived on "the worst weather day in 6 months" according to Marie-Claude, with relentless driving rain for 36 hours. The first night we were kept awake by the sounds of rain and the responding ocean, steps away from our beds. The location of the hotel is beyond amazing--literally steps from the Caribbean Sea, on the Kelly Creek where herons are always hunting, at the gate to the beautiful National Park (admission by donation). Our rooms made up half the hotel--2 large wood-paneled spaces, each with 2 walls of louvered open windows. The walls disappear when open, during the day, and close down at night for privacy. 2 double beds per room, equipped with mosquito nets (important!). Great closet space. The rooms were a little dark, but the bathrooms, connected by a high central skylight, were bright during the day. Meals are available next door, but Marie-Claude and Andres were away for most of our stay, so his famous paella was not an option. We enjoyed morning coffee and breakfast (fruit!!) at the hotel, prepared by smiling Adelia. Enjoyed Verde, the talking parrot, but his presence was scarce after the owners left. Friendly adorable dogs. This place is absolutely magical. We hope we are able to return some day for a much longer stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the owners' house are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauriemiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The location of Kelly Creek hotel is beyond reproach - it's right at the entrance to Cahuita beach, but set back sufficiently from the road to avoid the worst of the noise. And it's a very attractive place - nice wooden buildings, well-built and fitted. The 4 rooms are very spacious and airy, although they can be a little hot at night (and the guests in the other 3 may be noisy!).
What really sets Kelly Creek apart, however, is the owners, Marie-Claude and Andres - they are an incredibly friendly couple who seem to genuinely enjoy running the place and meeting their guests. They cook a mean paella (and other dishes), and make you feel honestly welcome. Imagine staying with your relatives - if your relatives had more time for you, could cook well, had a talking parrot and were European!
They can recommend guides and excursions if you're interested, too. To be honest, we spent some time wandering around Cahuita (and Playa Negra) and in the town itself we didn't see anywhere that came close to matching Kelly Creek for location, ambience or service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenytroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews