We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantida Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dont know the price but the rooms were okey. Nothing fancy, bathroom was reasonable. Maybe the hotel is good considering the alternatives in cahuita but compared to the other hotels in costa rica so far it was mje. The hotel isnt far from the centre, but other hotels are closer. The rooms arent insulated from eachother so sounds travel easily between them...
Breakfast (7$) was good. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daponz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice place on the edge of town. Good room with fan, no air con. Pool is very nice but concrete loungers are basic. Lovely tropical garden with monkeys in the trees. We enjoyed the coffee and the library.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed three nights here and had a large, very clean room with a ceiling fan and two large windows with shutters. The front porch had two chairs and a table which was nice for sitting outside. The pool could use some updating, but felt great in late afternoon. Breakfasts were a bit slow, but the food was good.

The landscaping was lovely, very lush and filled with parrots, hummingbirds, frogs and agoutis. Howler monkeys were nearby, but we didn't see any on the grounds.

The location is fine, right on Playa Negra and a five minute walk to a few restaurants, short taxi ride into Cahuita.

The only negative comment I have is that there is no insulation in the bathrooms, so you can hear all activity in the adjoining room's bath. The top of the walls are designed so they do not meet the ceilings, so you have open space, thus sounds carry over.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hummingbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have gone there with a friend in a trip around Costa Rica, excellent place, staff did place some call for us to find some surf board. The place have a lot of trees so you dont see very much your neighboors. The rooms were very large. Cahuita is a wonderful place with the protected park where you can go to do some jogging and see some monkeys and more animals we don't see here in North America. The lodge is very secure with a guard in the night. The beach is 100 meters away and there is some great waves directly there to surf without any rocks there. This little city was the paradise for us !!!!
Thank you much to the Atlantida lodge staff for this perfect trip :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryskriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Atlantida Lodge is nestled in a well kept garden with lots of plants and trees. You can watch many kinds of animals including monkey, agoutis, poisonous frogs and lots of different kinds of birds. The large pool is inviting and clean. While I was there renovation alongside the pool was going on, so hopefully the rooms will get a turn too. The standard rooms are spacious but very simply furnished and there seemed to be no insulation between the bathrooms. There is no hot water in the bathrooms, but usually lukewarm in the mornings, which was sufficient to me in the humid heat. Nevertheless I really enjoyed my stay. The kitchenstaff took pride in cooking up delicious meals and decorated plates and tables neatly.
Cahuita is in walking distance and the beach is beautiful. Once you get used to the pooring rain pounding on the tin roof day and night you can enjoy your time there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetotravelGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful pool and very nice grounds. There is a jungle feel and plenty of pretty plants. Little tables and chairs outside the rooms. The guests were all nice. It was New Year's Eve and the hotel offered a BBQ for the guests. The staff was very helpful and nice. The only suggestion would be more insulation between rooms to keep the noise down. Enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: I was in the standard rooms so I don't know what the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have been visiting Costa Rica since 1990 and on many trips I stay at Atlantida Lodge because it is inexpensive, quiet, has an in house restaurant,and pool side bar...all just across the dirt road from the Gulf of Mexico. The rooms leave a "little to be desired"...they could use updating and wall treatments...there is no ac and it was humid...but the room did have a ceiling fan. There was a shortage of electrical outlets.,,and we had no towels our first night there....the mgr. explained that they had upgraded our reservation and because we arrived late did not have the room ready..it was ok....we used the drapes to dry off with !!! The place is charming but it has changed somewhat since the owner is no longer on site...the manager was very helpful in giving us directions and he did upgraded our rooms at no additional cost. Atlantida is centrally located...we walked to a nearby REGGE BAR for a Dance one night, and walked to the National Park one day...there is also a RESCUE CENTER that you can walk to and see all kinds of local wildlife that are in rehab...good to do on a rainy day...they have free umbrellas..Weather the end of Nov. was windy and rain all day , so we only stayed two nights and left for La Fortuna and the Pacific Coast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are too dark and we did not see any with ac...we stayed in the upgraded room but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXEASYRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
195 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
10.6 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Address: In front of Playa Negra, Next to the soccer Field, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range: $99 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Located right next to the soccer field, in front of Playa Negra Cahuita and a few steps from the beach, and only 20 miles km south from Puerto Limon. Description: Perfect place to capture the atmosphere of peaceful that exists in the Costa Rican Caribbean. The Reception, Swimming Pool, The Brown Pelican Restaurant and Gardens are a "Tropical Adventure Center" where the forest over 30 years around the hotel, will immediately captures you. It features Massage room, restaurant for 70 people, Pizza oven, Kukula Bar with musical activities all months, Private Parking lot, Bike rent, wide pool and Frogs observation center among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita
Atlantida Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing