We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”
Review of Alby Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent two nights in this lovely place just next to the national park. Different to most other places, the Lodge is not fully enclosed with fences, but has three guarding dogs and on top a human guard as well.
The cabins are spread across the spacious park like garden with a variety of different trees. The central rancho is a fully equipped kitchen that can be used by the guests (incl. an italian espresso machine).
The fruits growing on the property are free for the guests.
Both Yvonne and Thomas were very nice and helpful.
WiFi is available, but the cabins furtherst away from the main building wont be covered (we were in cabin 2 and had only coverage on the porch).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful property with beautiful gardens and the largest tree I have ever seen. We could not even see the top of the tree and the base of the tree is about the size of my bedroom. There were only 2 of us so we just rented the one cabina but I think this would be a great spot to host a family reunion. There are 4 cabinas in total and the central kitchen would make a great spot to host communal dinners for a family reunion. We would definitely come back and rent from Thomas and Yvonne again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathanh774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I were excited about this "hotel" because it was located close to the national park, restaurants, and bus station. The location was perfect there's no doubt about that! We were removed from the noise of the bars in the evening but just a short five minute walk away if we wanted to head in. In the morning a troop of about twenty monkeys passed right over our cabina and in to the national park! We saw both howler and capuchin monkeys! It was very exciting to be so close to nature but well protected in our cabina. We enjoyed sitting in the hammock and rocking chair on our porch and watching the animals play high in the trees beside us. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful foliage and flowers all around!

Having the rancho available to cook on our own was extremely convenient! It was clean and well stocked with supplies. We felt very comfortable using it whenever we felt the need. There was a good wifi connection from there as well. Beverages available for the same prices as the bars from there too!

We really enjoyed that the hotel had a very nice jungle feel as the cabinas were relatively well separated and integrated well with nature. I would be very surprised if any guests did not see monkeys in the trees on the property while staying here. The only downsides of staying here were that we found animal droppings on one of the beds in our cabina upon arrival (not a big issue, there were two beds so we just stayed in the other one and it's the jungle so expect animals to be all around!) and the pillows on the beds were absolutely awful. Despite those two problems we still very much enjoyed our stay and would absolutely recommend the hotel for its affordable price, jungle vibe, and proximity to the village and park!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bigtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beautiful gardens surround the small cabinas. Nice shared kitchen to prepare meals. You can just be a few blocks from the action of Cahuita but then come back to your quiet (except for the howler monkeys) place for the evening. This was my second visit. Price has gone up but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have recommended the Alby Lodge for my brother to book for his honeymoon as it is such a beautiful little haven of peace and tranquility. Filled with the most stunning flora and fauna, with daily visits from the howler and white face monkeys it was the perfect introduction to Costa Rica. Thomas and Yvonne have made sure that all your needs are taken care of with the spotless, naturally sourced wood cabins and rancho kitchen. Hot water everyday from the showers, as we later discovered on our travels, is a pretty rare thing! The Alby is right next to the National park and just far away enough from the restaurants and bars (about a 5 min walk) so as not to hear them if it is quiet you are seeking. Your alarm call, courtesy of the howlers, is the perfect way to start the day and if this is a problem then maybe Costa Rica is not your best holiday destination! We spent our days in the company of raccoons, sloths, monkeys and occasionally people and our evenings listening to the frog chorus by the pond in the gardens. Most entertaining!
Cahuita has everything you need yet seems to have been unspoilt by tourism. It is a bit wetter than the pacific coast but that only means lusher surrounds, more wildlife and no dust, a pretty good trade off. Thank you Yvonne and Thomas for your wonderful hospitality and for sharing your beautiful world with us. We found it very difficult to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninoooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

For sure best option in Cahuita! Great parkgarden -close to the NP and beach! Only 4 Bungalows so most of the time noise only by the monkys crossing the garden and different birds! Nice rancho where you can cook your own meals and breakfast with shared fridge!! Not the first time to cahuita and I don't know a better place!Very affordable!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went to Costa Rica for two weeks with no other plan than to spend four nights at Alby Lodge in Cahuita. We figured that we'd play it by ear and probably would move on, but we ended up staying eleven nights. We fell in love with our casita and the grounds at Alby, as well as with Cahuita, its park and beach, and the Talamanca Mountains. The property is meticulously kept, and Yvonne, Thomas, and their dogs are wonderful stewards of this incredible property. As habitat gardeners ourselves, we particularly enjoyed the grounds -- they've got 20,000 square meters, filled with trees and plants, and with the plants come animals. We spent entire days lolling around watching the howler monkeys do the same. Cahuita in the low season is a relaxed, mellow place, and the most welcoming place I've ever been in 53 years of many moves and travels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
3.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
183 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,490 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alby Lodge

Address: Cahuita Centro | 200m From The National Park Entrance, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range: $50 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to nature? At last we have fulfilled a lifetime dream and built our lodge right here on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast close to the National Park. The center of the town and the beautiful white sandy beach are only 200 meters away. lf you are looking for a nice cute place or if you just want to see and listen to Kongos and other animals, You'll love our big Tropical gardens which are surrounded by giant trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alby Hotel Cahuita
Alby Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing