We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite & peaceful place to stay in Cahuita”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alby Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite & peaceful place to stay in Cahuita”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beautiful gardens surround the small cabinas. Nice shared kitchen to prepare meals. You can just be a few blocks from the action of Cahuita but then come back to your quiet (except for the howler monkeys) place for the evening. This was my second visit. Price has gone up but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    36
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
91
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have recommended the Alby Lodge for my brother to book for his honeymoon as it is such a beautiful little haven of peace and tranquility. Filled with the most stunning flora and fauna, with daily visits from the howler and white face monkeys it was the perfect introduction to Costa Rica. Thomas and Yvonne have made sure that all your needs are taken care of with the spotless, naturally sourced wood cabins and rancho kitchen. Hot water everyday from the showers, as we later discovered on our travels, is a pretty rare thing! The Alby is right next to the National park and just far away enough from the restaurants and bars (about a 5 min walk) so as not to hear them if it is quiet you are seeking. Your alarm call, courtesy of the howlers, is the perfect way to start the day and if this is a problem then maybe Costa Rica is not your best holiday destination! We spent our days in the company of raccoons, sloths, monkeys and occasionally people and our evenings listening to the frog chorus by the pond in the gardens. Most entertaining!
Cahuita has everything you need yet seems to have been unspoilt by tourism. It is a bit wetter than the pacific coast but that only means lusher surrounds, more wildlife and no dust, a pretty good trade off. Thank you Yvonne and Thomas for your wonderful hospitality and for sharing your beautiful world with us. We found it very difficult to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninoooor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

For sure best option in Cahuita! Great parkgarden -close to the NP and beach! Only 4 Bungalows so most of the time noise only by the monkys crossing the garden and different birds! Nice rancho where you can cook your own meals and breakfast with shared fridge!! Not the first time to cahuita and I don't know a better place!Very affordable!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went to Costa Rica for two weeks with no other plan than to spend four nights at Alby Lodge in Cahuita. We figured that we'd play it by ear and probably would move on, but we ended up staying eleven nights. We fell in love with our casita and the grounds at Alby, as well as with Cahuita, its park and beach, and the Talamanca Mountains. The property is meticulously kept, and Yvonne, Thomas, and their dogs are wonderful stewards of this incredible property. As habitat gardeners ourselves, we particularly enjoyed the grounds -- they've got 20,000 square meters, filled with trees and plants, and with the plants come animals. We spent entire days lolling around watching the howler monkeys do the same. Cahuita in the low season is a relaxed, mellow place, and the most welcoming place I've ever been in 53 years of many moves and travels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Yvonne and Thomas, thank you for letting us spend the end of our honeymoon in your beautiful tropical garden! The awesome cabins, fascinating monkeys and proximity to the breath-takingly beautiful beach at Cahuita National Park are exactly what we expected.
Although the town of Cahuita had no public water due to a punctured supply line, the well on the property supplied ample water with fantastic pressure. The common kitchen with open seating area, WIFI, and fruit trees surrounding was great! Waking up to the sounds of Howler monkeys was unlike any other sound we've heard, and watching them lounge and play in the trees overhead was unbelievable!
We enjoyed the short walk into town with exceptional dining options, including an Italian place with movies in english at night! The beach at Cahuita Nat'l Park is so beautiful; the walk out to the point is well worth the investment in time, where Capuchin monkeys cruise through the treetops and wait on the point for handouts (Don't feed the monkeys!) If you like snorkeling, it is the place to go! Warm clear water and wide open beaches!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giggatygiggaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We arrived in the evening and the next morning awoke to visits from the neighbouring National Park from Capuchin and Howler monkeys, a vast array of birdlife and to top it all off, there was a Sloth in the tree next to our bungalow. This is well run, the simple cabins are just right and comfortable, welcoming communal kitchen and the nearby town has enough tasty restaurants to keep you happy. Being right next to the National Park was the big winner. All in all, we had a great 3 night stay here and could have stayed heaps longer.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bean_Dare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed here three nights. We loved waking up to Howlers every morning! We saw lots of wildlife on the grounds and in Cahuita Park. Great shared kitchen area with nice opportunities to interact with other guests.
The location is a good spot with quick access to good restaurants and the national park.
Stay here - you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
3.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alby Lodge

Property: Alby Lodge
Address: Cahuita Centro | 200m from the national park entrance, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to nature? At last we have fulfilled a lifetime dream and built our lodge right here on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast close to the National Park. The center of the town and the beautiful white sandy beach are only 200 meters away. lf you are looking for a nice cute place or if you just want to see and listen to Kongos and other animals, You'll love our big Tropical gardens which are surrounded by giant trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alby Hotel Cahuita
Alby Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing