We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“46 Days in Paradise”
Review of Surf Caribbean Food - CLOSED

Surf Caribbean Food
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Costa Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“46 Days in Paradise”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great local restaurant, located on the Main Street in Cahuita. The staff are very good natured and willing to explain the menu and differences in the types of food. We ate lunch here a number of times and always had a good quality value meal. As with most restaurants here if you arrive after one or two tables are occupied you could have a bit of a wait to receive your food, however, remember why your in Costa Rica, chill and its worth the wait. Would rate this restaurant as one of the best local food restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    30
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another great Vegetarian find”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Travel can be hard for vegetarians, but we also had visitors that were Vegan, so finding places to eat , and eat well, became a greater challenge. We wanted to give them a flavor of the Caribbean side of our adopted country, so we tried Surf Caribbean Food. We got there a little early , but the owner actually opened early to seat the 5 of us. Restaurants in Cahuita are the very definition of 'casual' - all small, open air and kinda funky - the whole town has a nice , backwater feel. We had variations of 'Beans and Rice' dishes, most with sides of plantain and yuca - all worth the trip. The food was Caribbean and the beer was cold, and the price was incredible - about $40 for five people including drinks. Made sure this is a dinner stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomaSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PLEASE TRY THE RICE AND BEANS”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had heard stories about the traditional "Rice and Beans" food from the Caribbean part of Costa Rica but it was better than I expected. The restaurant doesn't seem like a fancy one at first sight but IT IS! The plating was so nicely done and the food was great. We ordered rice and beans with fish and chicken and it was delicious and CHEAP. The service was great, the ladies there were very attentive and nice. The environment was very relaxed and fresh. My favorite restaurant in my whole trip in Costa Rica, if you are a backpacker this will be heaven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valeriaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy casados and patacones”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Enjoyed lunch here at Surf Carribean Food today. We had jerk chicken casado (plate with vegetables, beans and mine had rice although I had thought casados were with tortillas?), patacones (deep fried salted plantains) and gallo pinto with beef (bean & rice with beef). Total cost was less than $20 USD.

The portions were huge, price was very good and food was delicious. Just a heads up though, it takes a while to get food. I think that's b/c they make it to order (?). Our lunch took about an hour to arrive but that's ok because we enjoyed sitting on their patio sipping batidos (fruit drinks). (and I think this is on par for the pace of life here in Cahuita)

And to top it off, accidentally left a water bottle behind and when we came back the waitress had set it aside and remembered us! Thanks so much for a great lunch and for the kindness!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in Cahuita”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The best we tasted in Cahuita.
Fresh good red snapper and really friendly service... with good prices...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Caribbean Food also viewed

Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 
Cahuita, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing