We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cahuita-Tortuguero-Fortuna”

Willie's Tours CR - Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are an Ecological friendly Tour Operator Company in Costa Rica "Every Day is a Green Day!!". Our Highlight Services: Tortuguero Visit and Amazon Boat Trip with Transfers to San Jose, La Fortuna and Monteverde. Bocas del Toro Islands Visit and Transfers to Colon Islands, Volcano Trips with Transfers to San Jose, Snorkeling in Cahuita Coral Reef, Jungle Hike in Cahuita National Park, Bribri-Chocolate Indigenous Tour, Rafting In Rio Pacuare, Canopy and Jungle Hike, Yorking Bribri Indigenous Community Visit and many more.....
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cahuita-Tortuguero-Fortuna”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

For a family of four we booked a tour from Cahuita to Fortuna to include a boat trip and overnight in Tortuguero. Willie's tours is well organized and everything went well throughout the trip. Jorge, who runs the business is very knowledgable about Coata Rica's environment and history and he likes to share his knowledge. The hotel in Tortuguero was not quite what we expected.For this reason only four stars.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    22
    13
    6
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

In June we planned a tour to Tortuguero and La Fortuna with the help of Willie's tours.
He just arranged everything for us ! It started in the morning with the transport to Limon, where we could catch a boat to Tortuguero. This boat trip was great and we definately recommend this (beautiful nature, a lot of monkeys, crocodilles, birds etc.)! When we arrived at Tortuguero a guide was already waiting for us and dropped us at our hotel which was also booked by willies tour. This was a really nice hotel with a swimmingpool. The day after we did a hike in the national park and afterwards the guide dropped us at the place where we could take the boat to the next destination, La Fortuna. After a one hour boattrip, a taxi was already waiting for us.

It was all very well organized and we really recommend to book a tour at Willie's tour !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Professional tour company that will take care of everything for you”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Everyone who works there is very friendly. We booked several tours including the snorkeling trip in the National Park, a day trip to Panama for more snorkeling, and a rafting transfer back to San Jose. Everything went very smoothly and they even helped us to rent a car and gave us directions to several out of the way locations that we would not have found on our own. I would highly recommend them to anyone traveling to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanh774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“From Cahuita to Tortuguero with George and Bonny”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

George from Willies Tours in Cahuita knows his job. He organized a Tour from Cahuita to Tortuguero and from there to Pavona and then to San Jose.
So George took us to Limon, where the boat to Tortuguero startet. It was quite a small boat and the captain took lot of time, that everybody could see animals and enjoy nature. We saw two crocodiles. lots of birds, slots, butterflies .....
In Tortuguero our guide Bonny Scott took us to quite a lovely place- the Don Quichotte in Tortuguero. The next morning we started on a very early tour with Bonny- we had the guide for us two alone and it was great, because he knows the rivers in Tortuguero like his home and he also knows nearly everything about the flora and fauna there.
The tour included the private shuttle from cahuita to Limon, the Boat from Limon to Tortuguero. The Hotel Don Quichotte for one night. The boat tour in the morning and the boat back to La Pavona.
From there we went by bus to Cariari and then from Cariari by Bus to San Jose. (this was not included, but the bus is quite cheap).
Everything was well organized and the timetable was perfectly planned.
So we can recommend booking a tour by George from Willies Tour and Bonny from Cahuita to San Jose via Tortuguero.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anitamaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Willies’s Tours- They just get it right”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our travel agent, CR Referrals booked several tours and transfer from Willie’s Tours on our 21 day Costa Rican Holiday. Specifically, Willie’s handled our snorkeling trip to Boca del Tora in Panama, snorkeling and guided hike in Cahuita National Park, boat tour in Tortuguero National Park, and finally our transfer back to Alajuela and the Xandari Hotel. Jorge from Willie’s contacted me the day prior to our first tour, Boca del Tora to confirm all details and additional information needed to make our border crossing easier. Our trip went without a hitch except the hour we lost in time zone change going from Costa Rica to Panama. The snorkeling was great and the lunch was one hell of a surprise, fresh lobster. My wife and I could not decide which was nicer Cano Island or Boca del Tora. She said we would have to come back to try to figure it out. Next day snorkeling and hiking at Cahuita National Park our guide pointed out the howler monkeys, sloths (3), iguanas too many to count and other wildlife. Jorge said we would be surprised at the amount of wildlife we would see and boy was he correct. Even though it was mid-day, we normally would expect the animals to be sleeping. The last day we did something different on his advice and took a boat ride down the Tortuguero National Park. Even from shore many monkeys and on the shore several caymans (Costa Rican alligators) were observed. When we went ashore for lunch our guide Willie from Tortuguero Wild Life Tour pointed out a baby sloth in the tree. I had to ask if he had placed him there. Finally Jose was trusted in taking us back to Alajuela and even though we ran into some rough weather the trip was smooth and relaxing.
We cannot answer what might have happened in the previous review but can only say that Jorge did everything that could be done for us to thoroughly enjoy all of our tours and to do it without any issues. A follow up email by him to check on everything was exactly what one would expect from a company providing the level of customer service as Willie’s

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie's Tours CR - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Willie's Tours CR - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing