We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best property anywhere!”
Review of La Casa del Mango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Mango
Ranked #12 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best property anywhere!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We can't say enough good things about our recent stay at La Casa Del Mango. We stayed from a Saturday-Saturday with myself, my husband, sister, mom and step dad. The house was not only beautiful and spacious- we all had our own space- but everyone who worked on the property were so friendly and helpful. Manual greeted us and went to the store to get us coffee so we'd have some for our first morning! Sarah and Nando are wonderful hosts who ensure that you are comfortable and you get the most out of your stay. The pool will quickly turn into your favorite part of the house as well as the patio! We cooked several times in the kitchen and had everything we needed. Location wise, it's a bit of a walk into the main part of town, but you are close to the other parts of Cahuita- Reggae Bar and WildLife Center, so it's really convenient. We would absolutely recommend this property to anyone traveling to Cahuita

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KME428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We really enjoyed having your family to stay and we look forward to your return soon. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Casa Del Mango is a fabulous get-away litererally steps from a beautiful Costa Rican beach, walking distance from the Cahuita town center and National Park. It's also easily located for various day-trips to beaches, other towns, jungle adventures, snorkling, etc. Not to mention, the gorgeous pool on the property made it hard to leave and is the perfect place to hang out for a lazy day of lounging.

Sara, Nando and the entire Casa Del Mango family were wonderful during our stay, providing advice, making sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, and even hung up Christmas lights to make us feel more at home during our visit over the holidays!

The house is very secure, in a great location and is a wonderful adventure for various groups or individuals looking to get away to the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, Laura. It was a real pleasure to have you and your lovely family to stay over the Christmas period. We are so happy to hear that everything was to your liking during your stay and we look forward to seeing Katie and her team very soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

my partner and i stayed at "la casa del mango" for six nights (we just got back home last night!). it was a perfect location in town, close to things but quiet. a short walk from the cahuita national park, and a short drive to all kinds of fun activities on the caribe coast. we went to the sloth sanctuary, bocas del toro, panama, the beautiful parks, got amazing massages a block away, neighborhood restaurants, peurto viejo (which is a lively beach town)- there was also yoga offered in town numerous times per week. the town is quiet, and calm but has plenty of things to do.

the house itself was immaculate. clean, beautiful. even more gorgeous than the pictures. with helpful staff (especially manuel, we loved him). all of the staff was warm, welcoming, helpful- we even hung out with sara and nando's kids, and felt like a part of the family. fyi-- they don't live/stay on site, they just come during the day to make sure we are ok! so nice! we got up every morning and made breakfast and had our coffee outside where there was no shortage of wildlife. we saw iguanas, hummingbirds and all kinds of other creatures right outside our door/window. we had the house all to ourselves, so it's hard to say what it might be like if we'd had to share the facilities with strangers, but this would be a great house to rent with a group of friends or family. there was plenty of space! it was hot though. this is the Caribbean, so that is to be expected. we spent most of our days by the pool, and by bed time, things cooled down quite a bit-- overnight, we always ended up reaching for a blanket. we were on the top floor, in the room with the see-through bathroom ceiling. pro-tip: don't leave your makeup/toiletries there all day, or you'll come home to melted lipstick and very hot lotion!

it was a great stay, we were very sad to leave, and i would definitely recommend this place to friends. i'm already trying to arrange another trip! thanks to the casa del mango family for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliciasanchezgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing and detailed review, Alicia. It was a pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us and we hope that you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
308 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just got back from a stay at Casa del Mango. It is situated off the beaten path, but a short 15 - 20 minute walk from downtown Cahuita. There are a couple restaurants about 5 minutes away. We didn't have a car and didn't really feel one was necessary. Sarah and Nando were great hosts. We enjoyed meeting the whole family including Nando's sister who came down from Limon to cook a fantastic meal for us. We awoke each morning with sounds fom the rainforest such as treefrogs, birds, and howler monkeys. There is a rooftop viewing area that had a wonderful view of the surrounding area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjohnbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again; hopefully in early 2014. Thanks, Sara, Nando and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Sherry's cooking was a real treat for us also!
Each morning we awoke to the unique sounds of the rainforest animals.
Nando and his family were friendly and always helpful.
Quite a few good eating spots were in town.
We had a full kitchen to use.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeitnow63025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Your kind wrds are very much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us, Sara, Nando and the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place while hunting for a place to stay in Cahuita as lonely planet had led us astray. It is perfect for a group that knows each other but would be a bit cramped if others were staying there. Staff was excelant, spoke good English and were helpful. Pool was amazing, property was extremely close to Playa Negra (not the cleanest beach I have ever seen). Rooftop balconies were perfect for stargazing, morning yoga, and we were able to spot the Sloth in the giant mango tree. Place was in need of some repairs and not the cleanest, all in all it is the best we found in Cahuita.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garthlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your excellent review. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel but disappointed to see your comments about cleanliness. We strive to maintain the highest standards and are currently repairing the wooden fence and sun damaged wood upstairs. I hope the next time you visit we will rate 5 out of 5 in all areas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Loved this house. Unique, beautiful, clean, had a great time. The caretakers were friendly and available for anything we needed. The pool was so relaxing! Enjoyed the privacy of the property, and the gorgeous gardens. Honestly, I didn't want to leave.

Just a couple things to keep in mind: You'll need to be able to climb at least one flight of stairs to get to your room. Also, rooms are not soundproof, so be aware that the noises you make can be heard throughout the house. And you'll be woken with the birds at sunrise! But these things did not affect my high opinion of the house. Well worth the stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at La Casa del Mango, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive comments. We will look into how to sound proof the rooms in some way to prevent disturbance. Hope to see you again next time you're in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mango

Property: La Casa del Mango
Address: Meters West Of the Soccer Field 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Casa de Mango' is constructed of wood, metal and glass which is striking in its award-winning architectural design and provides unique accommodation for the discerning guest. Whether you wish to reserve one of the six airy en-suite rooms or book the entire house for a group of friends or family; you'll have all of 'La Casa de Mango's' facilities open to you.The swimming pool is the perfect place to cool off or top up your tan, on one of the pool side sun loungers. Surrounded by the meticulously maintained tropical garden; the scents and sounds of nature are all around you - smell those ilang ilang blooms! To see the iguanas and sloths that frequently visit the namesake mango tree, head up to the sundeck on the third floor. It is the perfect place to enjoy views of Cahuita's Black Beach, the mist-topped Talamanca Mountains and the green foliage that is abundant in this rain forested part of the country.Sip your morning coffee at one of the stylishly-designed iron wrought tables on the roofed patio or in the garden or in the privacy of your own balcony off your bedroom. The hammocks on the private balconies are a favourite spot for an afternoon siesta!The well-equipped kitchen is ready for the preparation of a quick snack to a dinner party with quality kitchenware and appliances to ensure that your meal preparation is pleasure and not a chore. Relax or catch up on news with cable television and DVD player in the comfortable lounge area.‘La Casa de Mango’s on site manager will ensure that your every need is met, so come and unwind in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Mango Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing