We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking at its best!”
Review of Cabinas Algebra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Algebra
Ranked #14 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We first went to eat at Cabinas Algebra the very first day we landed at Cahuita! Alfred was very humble and polite, genuinely welcomed us .His wife Andrea was away and we had to wait for her arrival. She came back quickly and helped us choose our dinner.The genuine kindness and friendliness of this wonderful couple was heartfelt by us. The food was naturally excellent! We almost every day went there to eat.Moderate charges with great attitude! We would highly recommend any one to check their menu!
5 star all the way up!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We needed a place to recharge for a week. Basic needs were a budget option, kitchen, quiet, nature, and the beach. This has it all. We stayed in the lovely round cabin for a special weekly rate. It had a comfortable bed with mosquito net, basic kitchen stuff, fridge, bathroom, and sweet cupulo loft! The surrounding gardens are beautiful with lots of birds and other wildlife (agoutis!). The beach is 200m away and you can always hear the faint murmur of the waves. Best of all, Angela and Alfred are lovely hosts and are always ready to chat, give well-learned advice about the area, or get you a beer. There is no pressure to eat at the attached restaurant, although you should definitely eat there sometimes, as the food is great, especially the hamburgers, which are among the best I´ve ever eaten. The outdoor, covered social area is inviting with books and hammocks.

Basically, this is a remarkable find for the truly budget traveler.

Caveats - if you are someone needing something luxurious without the natural byproducts of aging building materials (ie., cracks between wall boards, cracked bath tiles, some ocassional dust in the corners, etc.) then look elsewhere. This is rustic not a fancy resort. But, it is clean, presentable, and completely comfortable for the traveler with basic needs.

Room Tip: The round cabin is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hospitality we received from Alfred, and Andrea from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was absolutely wonderful. They made us feel very welcome and at home and my oh my was the food delicious. Their two dogs were a nice set of friends to make too!

They were very informative about what to do in the area and in general were very passionate about their home - Costa Rica. Andrea gave us a lift into town to show us around and get groceries, and they were even helpful enough to pick up our bus tickets when we didn't have time.

The cabins are beautiful and rustic and are exactly what you would expect In the middle of the jungle. A nice patio with hammocks are a great touch, plus the kitchen for anyone staying a long period of time is awesome! I have to stress these are cabins- so the beds are not feather top quality and you will see the odd spider. As expected when you have not chosen to stay at the Marriott.

Cahuita is a very quiet village and a place to go to relax. I would not go here to party. Even the beach is fairly deserted and quiet. If you wanna sit and listen to the jungle sounds this is for you.

Overall, great stay at Cabinas Algebra!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The best part about this place were the people - Andrea, Alfred, son Samuel and their two doggies made us feel right at home. They gave us great advice about what to see and do in Cahuita and were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large but dark - it was more like a hostel then a hotel and if you are looking for something fancy I wouldn't bunk here.

The cabinas are a walk from town, about 2K, but it's a nice walk - and Andrea and Alfred were happy to drive you into town if you needed a lift. I really liked the fact that they had a clothes line - not every place had one and it was a great amenity - it's hard to get clothes dry in the humid weather without a place to hang them in the sun.

There is beach access across the road and it was pleasant to swim in the afternoon.

The homemade bread was a real treat and while it isn't the kind of place for everyone, if you do stay you are likely to have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchens are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PF_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The German family who own this place are so lovely. You always can sit with them in the evening in the restaurant and talk about every topic. The room is clean and comfortable. Okay the rooms are a little bit darkish and basic.
What you should definitely or better said have to try is the Hamburger of the restaurant. It is soooo delicious. Handmade bread and handmade french fries. I would just travel down there to eat one hamburger.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very relaxing, fair prices, full kitchens, and great comfy beds. The owners are super friendly. The hotel is about 2k from the center of Cahuita, so you won't hear any music blaring from the bars late at night. We walked everywhere without any issues. After eating gallo pinto for a while, the Caribbean-style food in town is a refreshing break.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great stay, Andrea and Alfred are the greatest, the private room was cheap, there´s Wifi, and a restaurant with good food. Tiny moths and geckos are unavoidable in the jungle, but in exchange, you get exhotic birds landing right in front of your hammock. Tucans, monkeys and beyond in their backyard! And there are screens on the windows, so those critters you don´t want to see stay out. The rooms were simple anmd clean, comfortable and homey, made Cauita great! Thanks Andrea and Alfred =) (and their dogs are SO NICE!!!!)

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank agirlthattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
0 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
194 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
0 mi away
Cabinas Tito
Cabinas Tito
#13 of 42 in Cahuita
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Hostel Hakuna Matata
#8 of 42 in Cahuita
120 reviews
0 mi away
Costa Azul Lodge
Costa Azul Lodge
#21 of 42 in Cahuita
31 reviews
0 mi away
Buena Suerte Bed&Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Algebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Algebra

Address: Playa Grande, al frente de Hotel La Diosa Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $26 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Algebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Algebra Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing