We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice quiet hostel,nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden
Ranked #24 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nice quiet hostel,nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Big rooms, nice relaxed hostel..
Friendly staff ,very close to the national park

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiefsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
2
35
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Cahuita is so worth your while..the reef snorkeling, national park...island vibe small town...I had a pleasant stay here! Simple yet colorful, clean and friendly!

Room Tip: The great outdoors is your gym and the Caribbean your pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lavidaenviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012, travelling alone. The hostel is located very near to the National Park, the "center" of Cahuita and the bus stop. I got a single-room for 15$/night. The room was good, with a big bed covered by a moskito-net (which you need!). The bathroom was part of the room, a bit unusual, but nothing to complain about. I felt absolutely safe here. The rooms are tidy and are cleaned daily.

The owner named Willeke, a Dutch hippie in her 50s, is absolutely helpful, she even picked me up at the bus stop, The hostel in general seems very well managed, the community area is lovely and the garden very colorful. However, Secret Garden is not really a hostel, with lots of the guests being couples. So don't expect to meet a huge party happening- well, there is not much to party in Cahuita anyways. If you want to cook a lot in the community kitchen you might want to choose another hostel, because the kitchen is small and was a bit dirty.

All in all I would recommend Secret Garden to everyone visiting Cahuita!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pazifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I really enjoyed this hostel, the owner is a dutch woman very helpful and available all the time I needed. Rooms are small but nice with private bathroom. The garden is lovely, with a lot of plants. The position of the hostel is also good because you are close to the beach and the national park but far away from the noise of the village.
I reccomend it to all the people who want to enjoy Cahuita's beaches!!
Elena from Italy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nausicaa7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at this cost efficient garden accommodation just minutes walking from the national park beach which allows small donations for entrance. The owner is Dutch and easygoing and has friendly housecats and a dog. The rooms are large with sliding patio doors, but the double room we stayed in did not have a separate door to the bathroom (open on the side and top) and we had daily trouble with the toilet which the owner tried to fix. Clean towels were replenished daily which was absolutely crucial in this small, quiet beach town. The accommodation is directly next to a national park, whitesand beach, hiking and you wake up to the howler monkeys nearby in the morning. The garden area is beautiful and while there is no breakfast provided, there is an open-air kitchen for self catering including small fridge. Very friendly environment and minutes from a small grocery store. About a 20 minute walk to the black sand beach and easy cheap local bus options further south to Puerto Viejo. Overall a great location for a cost effective price for enjoying the beach and nearby park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaiesecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed there for 3 days, sleeping in the 5 bed dorm. The owner was friendly, the location is fantastic (2 minutes to the national park and also 2 min into town - some hostals are a 10 min walk from town with the risk of being muged at night) and the setup very beautiful. My bed was very comfy but I saw that not all are... So maybe take a look first (bedin right hand back corner in dorm is comfy :-) ). Towels included (even 2 if needed...), internet fine, kitchen ok. It was quiet at night and a pleasant atmosphere when i was there (which was during the week).
When you want to do the 8km walk through the national park - starting in Cahuita and bus back they only ask for donations while from teh other rdirection to Cahuita they ask for a 10 dollar entrance fee. The national park is great as you see many monkeys, sloths, some pelicans flying along the beach. Really nice

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The good things are the location, the garden,,security,and good internet. The bad things are the dirty room,the dirty kitchen, and the owners saturday night parties til 3 a.m. Perhaps we just had one of the bad rooms here. Our bathroom was very moldy and not very clean. All of the baseboards in the whole room were covered with dirt and mold. This is probably due to very poor ventilation and lack of through cleaning. Our last night here; which was ,granted, a saturday, the owner partied with some friends and the noise was loud enough to wake us, especially when she stood on the outside patio and had about 20 minutes of loud send-off "discussion". The last time we were here, maybe 6 years ago , it was very clean and well managed. That is why we booked it ahead for 7 days. We left as soon as we could find a better place in town. There are many clean, inexpensive places to stay here. Even in the high season. Trust me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Hostel Hakuna Matata
#9 of 44 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Smith
Cabinas Smith
#15 of 21 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 98 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungalows Ache
Bungalows Ache
#13 of 44 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centro Turistico Brigitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden

Property: Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden
Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 1 minute from the National Park of Cahuita, also the centre. This is a peaceful place to relax, watching the humming and other birds and butterflies in our garden. We have a terrace with roof, so when it rains you still can sit outside. The howler monkeys come very close in the backyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel And Cabinas Secret Garden Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing