We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant centre and very informative!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens

Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens ) Our main goal is to protect and rehabilitate displaced wildlife of the Caribbean region.We offer a safe haven to animals that need refuge because of loss of habitat, accidents, victims of pet trade or hunting.The botanical gardens offer you many different species of palms, heliconias, bromeliads and many others. Tree of Life, Cahuita, Costa Rica.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Essex/London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant centre and very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We came here after being dissuaded from going to the Sloth Sanctuary after hearing lots of bad things (do your research first!) and I'm very glad we went. We were shown around by one of the owners on a private tour and she told us so much about the plants and flowers growing, was absolutely fascinating! The facilities and enclosures for the animals are basic but more than adequate. Me and my boyfriend are both zoo keepers so we understand animal welfare and husbandry and it was clear the staff/volunteers are doing a very good job.
Definitely put this on your list to visit (good for a rainy day too) but definitely go with a guided tour, worth the money tenfold and it all goes to a very good cause!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZookeeperAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    54
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemont,PA,USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a lovely center, offering an educational and highly visual experience of the local wildlife and plants of all types. I was lucky enough to have a guided tour of the center with the director of the program. Patrice, who is very knowledgeable and cares deeply for the animals in the center.

The work they are doing here to rehabilitate the animals and hopefully release them back into their natural habitat is to be admired and praised. Thank you for all your good work .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank michele21251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were amazed to be greated by a baby monkey, very cheeky (Ruth, I think) who was orphaned and been looked after by the staff to make sure that she is strong enough to go back to the open. The gound is beautifully set up which make it very pleasant way to see animals closed up and to discover the names attached.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivien49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pleasant excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

No one was at the front desk when we arrived so we had a self-guided tour of the grounds. Nicely laid-out, well-signed. Appreciated the different habitats for each animal. Saw many creatures at the refuge that we would not have discovered on our own. Met Patricia at the exit. My husband was curious about snakes so she shared a great deal of information about them, hopefully putting his mind at ease when we learned that most snakes are afraid of humans and remain hidden from view.Definitely worth seeing if you're in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Valley, ON
2 reviews
“Nicely presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Natural settings. Only a few animals in enclosed cages. Lots of room and natural foods. Attention paid to natural plants and to educating people about the environment.

Met Patricia who was looking after Maggie the baby Howler Monkey. She explained how rehabilitation works and why some can be released and some cannot.

Good luck in the future Patricia!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tree of Life Wildlife Rescue Center and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing