We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This property is set back off the Playa Negra road in a garden setting that offers peace and privacy but is still only a short walk to restaurants and shops. The onsite staff goes out of their way to make your visit pleasant in this relaxing environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi AlaskaDreams,

Thanks a lot for your nice comment, glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our place.

Best wishes.

Xinia Izel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We came to visit for one night, then three nights more and eventually ended up staying the whole week. Perfectly clean, big rooms, hot showers, well-equipped kitchen with a big fridge, and friendly and helpful staff. Hummingbirds and frogs in the garden. An excellent deal :) Cahuita is a lovely village with amazing beaches especially around the national park, and it is easy to explore the neighboring villages like Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo from Cahuita; buses run regularly.

Looking forward to returning to Cahuita and Cabinas Caribe Luna!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Sanna.

Thanks for your review, glad to know you had a good time in Cahuita, yes, our National Park is beautiful.

Your welcome any time you want, will be our pleasure to have you here.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent an extended weekend here in April, and it was one of the high lights of my trip. If you want a REAL Costa Rican experience, you MUST stay here. Jaky worked with me on creating the best experience possible at Cabinas Caribe Luna, and it was just that. You are positively taken care of with equally as much privacy to enjoy the sounds and views of the most beautiful coutry and beaches in the world. Go visit the Sloth Sanctuary, while you're here, it's a hop skip and a jump away.

DO NOT BOOK anywhere else:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973justinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Justine.

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to know that you had a good time in Cahuita.

Best wishes.

Xinia Izel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebeebe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've stayed there for a couple of nights - liked the place very much! For this price its a great deal. The room and shower was very clean, the personnel was friendly and helpful. The hot water shower was working perfectly well which is rare in hotels in Costa Rica for this price. They let us to park our car inside and we liked it.
I would recommend this cabinas to everyone.
Thank you guys for the great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Ebeebe.

Thank you for choosing us, glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards.

Izel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Jaky is very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and quiet. I throughly enjoyed spending time reading in the hammock on the deck. The only problem for me was that there was only a ceiling fan. I asked for a floor fan and Jaky was very accommodating. I was not used to the warm weather, being from Alaska. It was a great place to stay though.

Room Tip: I would totally recommend this for a family. The rooms are big, have a kitchen, and it's a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinita1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Tinita.

Glad to know that despite the heat you enjoyed the Caribbean.

Thanks for your nice comment.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved my cabina in Cahuita. It’s a great deal, the kitchen is huge with a great stove and big, cold fridge, there is hot water and a huge deck and it has the best General Manager in Costa Rica, Jaky! Make sure she’s there when you book. She’s the kindest and classiest lady you’ll ever meet. She made my stay so great that I returned to Caribe Luna and Cahuita for the third week of my vacation even though I had planned to be elsewhere.

The hotel’s two dogs, Negra and Luna, are sweet and amazing and will guard you and the property so that you never have to worky about your safety or your valuables (and in any case Cahuita is much safer and more secure than neighbouring Puerto Viejo).

The garden at Cabinas Caribe Luna could be more lush but are still filled with resplendent birds and frogs and the sounds of the jungle. It’s a two minute walk to Playa Negra an approximate 10 minute walk from the white beach/Cahuita National Park, which is nice because it’s just outside of the centre where the noise, traffic, hostels and parties are.

Jaky also provides assistance with refreshments, meals, tours and transportations at very reasonable rates. She was born and raised in Cahuita and will ensure your tourism dollars go to locals who care about the environment, animals and sustainability of the area. The general manager and the owner employ Cahuitans and I’m told the Spanish owner, Nuria, treats her staff extremely well.

For the price and the stress-free experience of being in the capable hands of Jaky, I highly recommend Caribe Luna and Cahuita for the those seeking a laid back, nature-focussed vacation in a sleepy Caribbean town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

An upmarket guest house with immaculate and spacious rooms, with a friendly owner Nuria who is from Barcelona but speaks excellent English. I would have preferred a larger communal area to meet fellow guests but everything else was excellent. It is sited slightly outside the centre of Cahuita and the only sounds you will hear apart from the amicable barking of the dogs are the pounding of the Caribbean surf, some howler monkeys and the wonderful bird life at dawn.

In the village, you can get CDs of Costa Rican music including salsa, reggae, gospel and calypso (Cahuita is the home town of Walter Ferguson who wrote "Callaloo") in some of the gift shops and these provide excellent souvenirs of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 21 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Caribe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Caribe Luna

Property: Cabinas Caribe Luna
Address: M. West From Police Station 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Caribe Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us in a quite and relaxing garden, with birds, little frogs and monkeys, 300m from Playa Negra, 300m from Cahuita village and 800m from Cahuita national park. You can choose between different solutions: bedrooms, apartments or suite (the last 2 with kitchen). All of them has private bathroom and terrace with hammock, tv, wifi, daily maid service and mosquito nets. Staff will be ready to help you, booking or giving tour information and giving you advices. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabinas Caribe Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Caribe Luna Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing