We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cozy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've stayed there for a couple of nights - liked the place very much! For this price its a great deal. The room and shower was very clean, the personnel was friendly and helpful. The hot water shower was working perfectly well which is rare in hotels in Costa Rica for this price. They let us to park our car inside and we liked it.
I would recommend this cabinas to everyone.
Thank you guys for the great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebeebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi Ebeebe.

Thank you for choosing us, glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards.

Izel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Caribe Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Jaky is very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and quiet. I throughly enjoyed spending time reading in the hammock on the deck. The only problem for me was that there was only a ceiling fan. I asked for a floor fan and Jaky was very accommodating. I was not used to the warm weather, being from Alaska. It was a great place to stay though.

Room Tip: I would totally recommend this for a family. The rooms are big, have a kitchen, and it's a very...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinita1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi Tinita.

Glad to know that despite the heat you enjoyed the Caribbean.

Thanks for your nice comment.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved my cabina in Cahuita. It’s a great deal, the kitchen is huge with a great stove and big, cold fridge, there is hot water and a huge deck and it has the best General Manager in Costa Rica, Jaky! Make sure she’s there when you book. She’s the kindest and classiest lady you’ll ever meet. She made my stay so great that I returned to Caribe Luna and Cahuita for the third week of my vacation even though I had planned to be elsewhere.

The hotel’s two dogs, Negra and Luna, are sweet and amazing and will guard you and the property so that you never have to worky about your safety or your valuables (and in any case Cahuita is much safer and more secure than neighbouring Puerto Viejo).

The garden at Cabinas Caribe Luna could be more lush but are still filled with resplendent birds and frogs and the sounds of the jungle. It’s a two minute walk to Playa Negra an approximate 10 minute walk from the white beach/Cahuita National Park, which is nice because it’s just outside of the centre where the noise, traffic, hostels and parties are.

Jaky also provides assistance with refreshments, meals, tours and transportations at very reasonable rates. She was born and raised in Cahuita and will ensure your tourism dollars go to locals who care about the environment, animals and sustainability of the area. The general manager and the owner employ Cahuitans and I’m told the Spanish owner, Nuria, treats her staff extremely well.

For the price and the stress-free experience of being in the capable hands of Jaky, I highly recommend Caribe Luna and Cahuita for the those seeking a laid back, nature-focussed vacation in a sleepy Caribbean town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

An upmarket guest house with immaculate and spacious rooms, with a friendly owner Nuria who is from Barcelona but speaks excellent English. I would have preferred a larger communal area to meet fellow guests but everything else was excellent. It is sited slightly outside the centre of Cahuita and the only sounds you will hear apart from the amicable barking of the dogs are the pounding of the Caribbean surf, some howler monkeys and the wonderful bird life at dawn.

In the village, you can get CDs of Costa Rican music including salsa, reggae, gospel and calypso (Cahuita is the home town of Walter Ferguson who wrote "Callaloo") in some of the gift shops and these provide excellent souvenirs of the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay (almost a 5/5):
Nice spaciaous room
Clean
Balcony with a hammock
Friendly staff who speak english
Two beautiful dogs that will look after you
fly nets on the windows so you can have them open to get a breeze.
5 mins walk to the town. The national park is also very close by.
Off the main road so very quiet.

The only negative is that there was no air con. in our room and it gets very hot in Cahuita. We had a ceiling fan but it was in the middle of the room and didn't reach the bed at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosata room (I think that's how you spell it)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexyWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night.

Pros:
- big room, decoration a bit old fashioned
- ok bed
- free wifi (at patio of room)
- hot shower
- own patio with hammock
- close to beach And centre cahuita (but quiet enough)

Cons
- close to beach, but no a beach where you can swim (reef and rocks)
- no breakfast

Compared to our other stays in B&B's in CR (see other reviews), this was an ok stay, but nothing special to us.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Cabinas caribe Luna in cahuita was the best room I had in costa rica it was huge with private bathroom hot water all the time with no problems with this lorenzeti thing, a big balcony with hamacas, it's located 100 m from the dirt road to playa negra very very very quiet and safe. And all this for only 25$ a night . I recommend mucho

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matzhikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
0.4 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Cahuita
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
0.0 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 21 in Cahuita
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cahuita Inn
Cahuita Inn
#4 of 43 in Cahuita
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Caribe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Caribe Luna

Address: M. West From Police Station 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Caribe Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us in a quite and relaxing garden, with birds, little frogs and monkeys, 300m from Playa Negra, 300m from Cahuita village and 800m from Cahuita national park. You can choose between different solutions: bedrooms, apartments or suite (the last 2 with kitchen). All of them has private bathroom and terrace with hammock, tv, wifi, daily maid service and mosquito nets. Staff will be ready to help you, booking or giving tour information and giving you advices. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cabinas Caribe Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Caribe Luna Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing