We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place. Large rooms, good location but No A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Ranked #14 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Large rooms, good location but No A/C”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay (almost a 5/5):
Nice spaciaous room
Clean
Balcony with a hammock
Friendly staff who speak english
Two beautiful dogs that will look after you
fly nets on the windows so you can have them open to get a breeze.
5 mins walk to the town. The national park is also very close by.
Off the main road so very quiet.

The only negative is that there was no air con. in our room and it gets very hot in Cahuita. We had a ceiling fan but it was in the middle of the room and didn't reach the bed at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosata room (I think that's how you spell it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexyWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
37
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night.

Pros:
- big room, decoration a bit old fashioned
- ok bed
- free wifi (at patio of room)
- hot shower
- own patio with hammock
- close to beach And centre cahuita (but quiet enough)

Cons
- close to beach, but no a beach where you can swim (reef and rocks)
- no breakfast

Compared to our other stays in B&B's in CR (see other reviews), this was an ok stay, but nothing special to us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinevdhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Cabinas caribe Luna in cahuita was the best room I had in costa rica it was huge with private bathroom hot water all the time with no problems with this lorenzeti thing, a big balcony with hamacas, it's located 100 m from the dirt road to playa negra very very very quiet and safe. And all this for only 25$ a night . I recommend mucho

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matzhikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Cabinas Caribe Luna in September 2012. It was our third time in four years that we have stayed here. The friendly staff always makes us feel at home. Cabinas Caribe Luna, though just minutes from town center, once you leave the main street and turn into this place with its lush vegetation, you could just feel the energy.

Our cabin was clean and nicely decorated. Everything in the full-sized kitchen was spotless. The hot water shower was quite inviting. Once inside, we felt very secure. Wifi works best on the patio or at the reception area.

Room Tip: Host also gives Spanish lessons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaClarita_CAJakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we booked cabinas caribe luna via hostelworld. we arrived late at night (our driver from the tourist bus wasn´t so good as he told us. he didn´t know where Chauita was).
the cabinas were quiet, clean and awesome. the rooms were big and clean. we didn´t miss the pool because the way to the beach in the national park is not far away. have a walk through the national park!
the owner recommend us some restaurants for diner and especially for breakfast the cafe chocolatte. great breakfast with a lot of fruits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frost4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readsboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

we booked after seeing the listing on Expedia: "On the beach. Situated on a stretch of beach in Cahuita". We needed a 3 night stay, but were concerned that it may not be as nice as listed (most places rarely are). I asked Expedia about cancellation policy and if it's not a good place, can I cancel the third night. He said as long as it's 24 hours in advance (now, according to Expedia, that means 24 hours in advance of the FIRST night...BEFORE you see the place). When we got there, it was 1/4 mile from the Beach and certainly no view. At check-in we told the owner that we won't be staying the 3rd night, just 2 nights. She said that's no problem. (of course it's no problem, she planned to charge us anyway!). The place was not too bad, except for the tiny little TV in the entryway and scary looking kitchen. We've stayed at many places in the area and there are much better for less money. Our third night was at the National Park Hotel. A bit smaller, much nicer, great view and much less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Bob.

Sad to read that your stay in our place wasn´t pleasant for you, but your kind feedback help us improve, we are always doing our best to give the best we can give.

About the view, our hotel leans more towards a stay in the middle of nature, near the sea, where you can be lulled by the sound of the ocean but not directly on the waves.

Thanks a lot for your comment. Glad that at the end you found a place were you enjoyed our Paradise.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am a 43 year old professor and my wife is a 31 year old lawyer. We are from Canada. We stayed in a single room (not the 2 bdrm) cabin for 1 night. We were happy with the experience.

First of all, the place was very clean including the bathroom. The room was very spacious and included excellent cable TV, but especially, a beautiful porch with hammock. The other cabins (4 total) were larger, and had 2 bedrooms + a kitchen. Our shower water was not hot, but lukewarm.

The place is very secluded and located across from the beach, though I never found the access point. We could hear the waves at night, and howler monkeys and other wildlife early in the morning.

Cahuita is a tiny one-street town, and this hotel (no breakfast included) is an easy 5-minute walk away. If you do stay here, one tip is to eat at the very nearby Cha-Cha-Cha Italian restaurant (superb, amazing dinner). The entrance to Cahuita National Park is a 10 minute walk (at most) down the main street...and it is an amazing place for the beach but especially the wildlife (spiker monkeys, howler monkeys, etc.).

Cahuita had a wonderful, peaceful, romantic and rustic vibe to it. It is not for the Sheraton Hotel set however so be warned.

We only paid $60 USD for our little cabin which was excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
2.8 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
0.0 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 20 in Cahuita
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 20 in Cahuita
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Caribe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Caribe Luna

Property: Cabinas Caribe Luna
Address: M. West From Police Station 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Caribe Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us in a quite and relaxing garden, with birds, little frogs and monkeys, 300m from Playa Negra, 300m from Cahuita village and 800m from Cahuita national park. You can choose between different solutions: bedrooms, apartments or suite (the last 2 with kitchen). All of them has private bathroom and terrace with hammock, tv, wifi, daily maid service and mosquito nets. Staff will be ready to help you, booking or giving tour information and giving you advices. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cabinas Caribe Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Caribe Luna Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing