We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kenaki Lodge(Cahuita)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Ache(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
3 Bamboo(Cahuita)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
66
32
3
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
32
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fannational parkhot waterwithin walking distancepata negracosta ricathe location is perfectbars and restaurantsthree nightsrooms are cleanthe buslovely placeenricoporchcabinasbeachestown
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 107 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This place is a real gem. It's tucked away, but only a 5 to 10 min walk from town.
The one staff member we met was very friendly and helpful. We loved how quiet and tranquil this place was (except when the dogs barked!)
The dogs were gorgeous and so much fun to play with.
Overall, great value for money in a beautiful setting. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Hello we hope you are fine.
Many thanks for your comments on tripadvisor. That nice to know that you liked being in Caribe Luna, we hope you can come on vacation again. Luna and Negra, our dogs, will be very happy to play again with you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My travel buddy and I agree, Caribe Luna was a highlight of our trip to CR and excellent value for the price. The photos don't really do this place justice, it's much more beautiful in person. The property is a very short walk from the tiny sleepy town of Cahuita, but far enough away that you feel secluded and can relax easily. It is also within walking distance of a black sand beach and the superb Cahuita National Park, which is full of cool animals and lovely beaches. The owner and receptionist were extremely nice and helpful with answering our questions, recommending tours, and making us feel welcome. We found our cabina to be very clean. The patio was even decorated with freshly cut flowers and starfruit. The doors and windows seemed secure and there was no worry of robbery or anything like that. The private kitchen let us save a bit of money by cooking our own breakfast. We stayed in Rosada Pequena (or Option A) and would choose it again. The Rosada cabina is split into two apartments, and we were awoken one morning by the couple next to us arguing very loudly, so beware if that kind of thing bothers you. We didn't mind, it was like telanovela en vivo.
My only complaint is that I found the room descriptions online a bit confusing, I wasn't really sure how many beds we were going to get. But maybe I'm the only one with this problem.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone traveling to Cahuita.

Room Tip: A room with a kitchen is worth the cost to save money on eating out, as the hotel does not provide breakfast.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi MeliSand.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your time ini Cahuita. Your comment inspires us to continue and improve.

You are welcome to return, we will be happy to have you again.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place consisting of a few bungalows is set back some meters from the road along the beach which makes it a quiet and relaxing place. In the morning we woke up by the sound of howler monkeys in the trees above our bungalow. Only a short walk out of town it is still comfortable to walk to restaurants at night, the national park or the bus station. Room was very clean and friendly, helpful owner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi ichreisesehrgerne!

Nice to know that you had a good time in Cahuita. Thanks for your nice comment.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We didn't expect much of this lodge, bc the rates are not that high. When we entered the lodge we noticed some broken stuff (faucet in bathroom, holes in the curtains). Our place had 1 small bed (too small for 2) and bunk beds. We rather had 1 normal sized bed.
Besides this, we really liked this place. It was nice and colorful, with a private terrace and hammock. The owners had 2 rather big dogs running around the place. They look a little mean, but they just want to play and get your attention. I loved these dogs!
The place is a little hard to find (hidden away).
Something to keep in mind when you book a tour in Cahuita: don't pay (too much) in advance. We've had 2 really really bad tours: the bri bri cacao tour and the fishing with Roberto.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Lt_Frank_Drebin.


Thanks for your feedback, it help us improve.

Glad to read that you enjoyed with Luna and Negra (the dogs).

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Friendly appartment in the center of Cahuita. Well suited for a family with two children. The Cabinas Caribe Luna are in the center of Cahuita within walking distance from the Cahuita National Park. Cahuita is about 1 hour from Moin where the boats to Tortuguero N.P. start at 11 a.m. for a 2-days visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hi Stephan B.

Thanks for your review.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews