We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely yard filled with wildlife”
Review of Cabinas Riverside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Riverside
Ranked #17 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location is superb: 1 min walk from the National Park entrance, and 1 block away from the main drag - so it's super quiet there. The backyard is adjacent to the creek (swamp), so it's bursting with wildlife: I managed to photograph iguanas, crabs, herons, two different kinds of monkeys without even leaving the hotel grounds.

The cabins are big. There are two types: with kitchen and without. We chose to stay in a room with the kitchen for $25. The kitchen is well equipped: 2 burner portable stove, big and new refrigerator, bunch of kitchen utensils. Our particular room was lacking the mosquito net, but we had our own. The bathroom is small, but there is hot water in a shower. (and I don't mean electric shower). The room is big with couple of shelves on the wall and a cabinet.
Anyway, you are not going to spend much times indoors in Cahuita. )))
It was very nice to relax in the evening at the patio (chairs, tables, hammocks) and photo-hunt for birds and monkeys.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen. It's only $5 difference from a non-kitchen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

We read about Cabinas Riverside on Lonely Planet and picked it from the list because of its proximity to the beach and the national park. Once we were there we fell in love with the flowers and hammocs in front of each room (see attached pic). It really felt like a Carribean paradise for a ridiculously low price (about $10 per person in a double room). Rooms are basic with hotwater, fans, and nets (we didn't use them). The manager "Big Boy" was a lot of fun and showed us around plus gave us fresh coconuts. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Pep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Olle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris-Lili-7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank juliette a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maxim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
3.2 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Hakuna Matata
Hostel Hakuna Matata
#8 of 42 in Cahuita
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 12 in Cahuita
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Playa Negra Guesthouse
#1 of 22 in Cahuita
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Riverside

Address: Behind Vista del Mar Restaurant, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cabinas Riverside Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing