We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service by Michelle and Greg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

From the beginning of our staying we found out that both amazing people will provide us everything we need. the pool is great and there is nothing like reading a book there (or at the balcony of our room)

Thanks!

Osnat & Matan Levi

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 594 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent four nights in the Blue Cottage with my partner and 14 year old son. The cottage was well equipped and set in beautiful and well kept gardens so when we weren't out and about we could relax on the veranda or in the pool, enjoying the wildlife. Greg and Michelle were perfect hosts, never intrusive but always around to deal swiftly with any (small) problems or to advise on places to go. A totally gorgeous and relaxing place and I would go back again very happily. About 15 minutes after we left Michelle passed us in his car and pulled us over - I had dropped my glasses in the car park and he had pursued us to return them to me!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my family for four nights. My children are eight and eleven. Michelle and Greg were perfect hosts and the cottages are great. So well set out and perfectly equipped. The pool was lovely and there is an honesty bar where you can take drinks and pay later. The hosts know the area really well and can advise you if you need help. We loved Cahuita but don't expect supermarkets and other amenities. It is quite small but great for snorkelling and spotting wildlife.

Room Tip: The yellow cottage is great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Did my research beforehand on trip advisor and thrilled with our choice for first week of our stay in Costa Rica.
Booked the very comfortable and cosy yellow cottage which met our Family needs x5 in everyway.
In a very private secluded and tranquil setting, sitting on the veranda or poolside enjoying the beautiful surroundings.
If you feel the need to venture futher the beach and restaurants are. In close proximity to the property and National park in walking distance.
Travelled with three teenage girls and found it safe and very friendly.
The owners were very attentive and helpful offering first class customer service.

Room Tip: Yellow or blue bungalow well equipped and plenty of space + private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliderNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spend 3 nights, 3 days at Playa Negra guesthouse while we we're visiting the soutrh carribean part of Costa Rica. We liked the atmosphere over there.
Michel is a great host. He is friendly, flexibel wants to help with finding your way around. The cottages we're nicely decorated and very clean. Every day the house was cleaned. The garden is pretty and we enjoyed the swimmingpool after a busy day, especially our nearly 2 year old. It's child friendly and safe. In the beginning we we're dissapointed there was no breakfast ( i could have known of course i informed myself better) but the area provides lots of nice breakfast places with fresh meals so that wasn't a problem at all!Also we advide to go and have diner at Sobre las Dias.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I can't complain about Playa Negra! The room was good and when the shower wasn't working well, it was fixed within 20 minutes. The swimmingpool and the garden are great and the beach is across the street! The owner has a bodyboard to use in the see, that was fun! The owner (Greg) was also very nice and helpfull.

The only thing is that Cahuita is very small, I think Puerto Viejo is nicer if you want to shop or go to a restaurant or bar (specially for young people). We went there in June 2013 and because it was low season Puerto Viejo is not crowded at all. But it is 15-20 minutes driving to that place.
Also please know that it rains more on this side of Costa Rica in the rainseason!

In Cahuita is a good fishrestaurant and we saw a sloth there! We also booked a horseriding tour in Cahuita and that was fun too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge_Holland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Playa Negra Guesthouse was absolutely amazing. Greg and Michel have clearly put their hearts into every little detail of the accommodations. The grounds were beautiful and the room very well equipped. We loved that they even gave us beach towels. The pool was lovely and provided a great opportunity to watch the iguanas in the trees. At night we even rescued a toad from the pool. We loved having the beach right across the street and loved that we could walk to the town. When we get back to Cahuita, and we will, this will be the place we stay. Also, their recommendations on food and the Jaguar Rescue Center were spot on.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_K_WRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
194 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
10 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita
Playa Negra Guesthouse Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing