We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 22 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

our stay at this hotel matched the other positive reviews for it. the accommodations were very comfortable, the location off the busy path but close enoug to see and do things, and the managers helpful and accessible but not intrusive. I can't imagine a better place to stay at in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klyncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 608 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Out of all guesthouses we used in Costa Rica, this is by far our favourite. Clean, comfortable rooms, very usable porch in front of rooms, gives privacy and comfortable seats, excellent swimming pool, and greatest garden we've seen in Costa Rica. The owners are super friendly and get out of the way, we stayed on the property far more often then expected.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dverbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at Playa Negra Guesthouse. We were looking for something small, secluded and peaceful, and it far exceeded our expectations. The grounds are breathtaking, the cottage comfortable and cozy and the owners warm, friendly and helpful. We especially loved the owner's three very friendly German Shepherds who occasionally made appearances.

Playa Negra is just far enough away from the center of town to feel secluded, while close enough to walk to the shops, restaurants and national park (approximately 15 minute walk to town, depending on your pace). We had an absolutely wonderful breakfast at Brigitte's, just around the corner from Playa Negra, serving the best banana pancakes imaginable, in a quirky open air setting.

If you are looking for a town that has a traditional vibe, without the big hotel resorts, this is your place! One note--we were told that things in Cahuita start early, which is true. With the birds, howler monkeys, and locals, don't expect to sleep in. You will, however, experience all the sites, sounds and beauty that Caribbean mornings have to offer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and me were travelling in Costa Rica for our honeymoon. After arriving in Cahuita we were looking for a nice, relaxing and comfortable hotel and as we found the Playa Negra Guesthouse we really knew that we found the perfect place to stay!!!! We loved to hang around the pool, the owners take care for the beautiful garden, with a lot of nice plants and in the trees we could see a lot of wildlife. The owners surprised us whit a honeymoon present - thanks again :)
We had a great time here and definitly would come back when we are in Cahuita.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed there for two nights with my family. I have been going to Cahuita for years, and this was my first time there. I chose the location for the cooking facilities, and other reviews. I loved all about my experience there, it was truly the best I could have hoped for.

The owners are super friendly, the place is clean, well catered for. The kitcheb has as many appliances as my own, there is nothing missing. The quality of the bedding is excellent, the pillows comfortable and the bedsheet 100% cotton. The internet works very well, the hot water is abundant.

The location is great, right off the beach, and very affordable surf lessons can be aranged. The pool is clean, comfortable, and the garden furniture can be longed on for hours.

I was in the green cottage, excellent, but saw the yellow cottage, wow, a dream, I cannot wait to go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VBretonne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Greg and Michele have done a beautiful job with this property. We had the pleasure of staying in the Yellow Cottage for 2 nights and then, when adding 2 additional nights later, one of the double rooms the additional 2 nights we stayed there. (It took us all day to get from San Jose to Cahuita thanks to broken down trucks and construction delays on 2-lane roads near the city so we added 2 extra nights to avoid getting back on the road so soon.) The beach is very convenient - just steps across the road - and at least this time of year was very quiet. Cahuita National Park is just a ways into town and I highly recommend it. Alas, we found ourselves not wanting to leave the property thanks to its peacefulness, beauty and nature all around. We were greeted by rufous-tailed hummingbirds, a black and green dart frog right outside our front porch, howler monkeys, and more. It's a birder's heaven - Passerini's tanagers, beautiful little Olive-backed Euphonia, gray-headed Chachalaca, Band-backed wren, another little hummingbird with a diamond-shaped tail that I'm still working to identify, and many more. We loved the basking iguanas way up in the trees above the pool. We'd watch to see how many we could spot and how high up they go in the trees. I loved the 3 beautiful German shepherds who occasionally walk around the property. ;-) We did finally venture out - the Sloth sanctuary was very close, Mayela's for breakfast was perfect, and we enjoyed the irony of having Mojito's at the reggae bar next door while enjoying some great reggae. Greg also hooked us up with local brothers to go out on a snorkel cruise. The reef is nothing special but it was nice to get out and enjoy the water. We were anxious to visit the Jaguar Center down in Puerto Viejo and were pleased to find the drive pleasant ~1/2 hour down the road. (We enjoyed our dinners down in that area more but were glad to be staying the quieter, more laid back Cahuita.)

Room Tip: The Yellow Cottage has more kitchen-type setup but even the double room had a mini-frig, which was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Playa Negra Guest House is an oasis of peace and quiet set in a beautifully manicured tropical garden with a great pool. While at the guest house you are in a secluded atmosphere that is soothing and refreshing. Yet the more lively central Cahuita main area is just a few minutes stroll away.

The Playa Negra beach across the road is great for swimming and very safe in terms of currents and no rip tides. Nearby are two restaurants (Chao's paradise and Reggae bar/grill). Around the corner is Brigitte’s breakfast--a great way to start the day.

Greg and Michel are great hosts and attentive to all your needs. The grounds and rooms are emasculate and beautiful. Greg and Michel have out a lot of care and love in to making this an ideal place to stay.

The garden is visited by a wide variety of birds and for our last few days, a troop of howler monkeys visited the trees just outside of the property.

This is a great place for both couples and families, and the price is very reasonable in terms of what you get. For your best stay in Cahuita, you can do no better than Playa Negra Guest House.
Go and enjoy--you won't be disappointed.

Harlan and Doug

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 12 in Cahuita
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 22 in Cahuita
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range: $70 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita
Playa Negra Guesthouse Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing