We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy dayz!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Happy dayz!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Costa Rica! Without any expectation i find myself in this amazing place, deserved by great person Marise and Pierre (thumbs up)! My 2 weeks there was beyond compare, guidance tours with Pierre, the beach is in front of the hotel, a lovely garden surrounding a refreshing pool ! The small town of Cahuita is charming and i'm pretty sure you'll find your way into the "Pura Vida" life style.

Happy Dayz!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneviève F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
177
252
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Mariz and Pierre are the property managers, and they were so hospitable! Pierre took us to the national park and guided us through the park. He taught us how to "smell" monkeys:) It was a great experience because of Pierre! Part of the reason our stay was so nice was because of Mariz and Pierre; they provided us with so much helpful information. Playa Negra is the nicest and cleanest place to stay. The cottages have everything you need to prepare your own meals in the room. Availability was only for one night, so book in advance! You will want to stay at aleast 3 or more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We read the great reviews for the Playa Negra guesthouses on Trip Advisor and decided to spend a few nights in Cahuita at this lovely place. We were not disappointed! It was the most beautiful and relaxing part of our trip. The houses are big and clean with a full kitchen so you can cook yourself. The groups are immaculately kept, beautiful gardens and trees. There are only a few houses on the property, which means there are limited guests. This meant that the pools were often open, the grounds were quiet and our needs were immediately taken care of. The couple who was taking care of the guesthouses at the time were absolutely amazing. They were kind and considerate and so helpful, giving advice on where to go for dinner and what to see. They went above and beyond for us, giving us the best adventure on our trip!
We spent two weeks traveling all around Costa Rica, but this was defiantly the highlight of our trip! Would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We cant speak more highly on this hotel, not only is it set in the most beautifully landscaped gardens with a great pool, the accommodation (Green Cottage) was second to none (clean, spacious, uniquely designed and safe with own personal terrace under the trees). The clincher however were the hosts, Marise and Pierre who totally made our stay. They went way beyond the call of duty in making our stay truly memorable. Pierre took us for a day of activity including visiting the Jaguar Rescue Centre (highly recommend) and also trekking in the jungle to find a cave and then a stunning waterfall, which was all off the beaten track wiht no other tourists in sight - Pierre was a passionate and safe guide and his knowledge of everything nature meant we learnt more in one day than we have in years if felt!
This hotel is unbelieveable value for money and in a great location just outside Cahuita so very peaceful. A real gem it was sad to leave and especially to say goodbye to Pierre and Marise who were the most wonderful hosts - happy days.....G & S Robertson

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you are going to Cahuita, this is a great place to stay. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to the Caribbean side of the country. A little off topic, but there are some wonderful restaurants over here that are different from other areas (different influences). Also, be cautious when traveling to this side as the weather can be different than the rest of Costa Rica - we had a lot of rain, like ALOT of rain! Still a great adventure and well worth the time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I gave this 4 stars as this was the only place we stayed on this trip that didn't have drinking water. You are kind've forced to purchase bottled water which is a bit inconvenient when almost every other hotel provides this service. Despite this small inconvenience, this is a FANTASTIC place to stay. The bungalows are VERY clean and the landscape looks planned to perfection. Someone spent a lot of time and money to make this place really special. The managers went out of their way to accommodate all of our needs. If you book this guesthouse with enough time ahead of you, you might even be able to rent the small house! I would stay here again as the beach across the street (literally) is not nearly as busy as the white beach by the national park. Also there are boogie boards that the customers can use.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Playa Negra Guesthouse is a gem. Located directly in front of Playa Negra and an easy walk to Cajuita, this spot was safe, beautiful and a relaxing stay. We were unfortunately there for only one night but could have comfortably stayed for a week. The owners were out of town but the inn sitters were attentive and friendly. We stayed in the Green Villa, and for $75 a night, we felt it was a steal. The grounds and pool were well kept and the beach made for fun body boarding and swimming. We heard the howler monkies in the morning and enjoyed drinks by the pool. We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
2.4 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Property: Playa Negra Guesthouse
Address: Metre North Of the Football Field 100 | Playa Negra, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Negra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Playa Negra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita
Playa Negra Guesthouse Costa Rica/Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing