We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet Buttercup, Queen sloth”

Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Two types of tours to see sloths and learn about their diminishing rainforest habitat. Sorry, no direct contact with sloths, for their well-being and yours. "Buttercup Tour" requires no advance reservation; just arrive about 20 minutes before the top of the hour (8AM–2PM) to register. Duration about 2 hours. "Insider's Tour" is given twice daily and requires advance booking. This tour includes everything in the Buttercup Tour plus "behind-the-scenes" visits to the NICU, Slothpital, climbing area and more. Admission/donations collected directly support the sloths – their rescue, rehabilitation, wellness, research, housing and enrichments. Thank you for supporting the sloths with your tour!
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Meet Buttercup, Queen sloth”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We caught a local bus from Puerto Veijo to the sanctuary thinking we might save money by not booking a tour deal. We have seen sloths in the trees in the national parks, so really just wanted to see them closeup.
We paid $25 each at the Sanctuary, but took only the first part of the tour. It's the only price option, quite expensive, but it is amazing to see the sloths, and they all have names and personalities. The staff are totally committed to looking after them and provide important research information as well. Probably the only chance to see a sloth close up.
Only gave 3 rating as would have liked a cheaper option without the canoe ride.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    122
    61
    28
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putnam Valley, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A caring family-run sloth rescue!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

You will learn to love this curious, slow moving animal. The family escorts you through the sanctuary and you can actually pet them. You will learn so much about the sloth on the visit. You will also have a boat ride--not the best part of the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeansweezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love Sloths!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I loved going to the sloth sanctuary and seeing the sloths. You do get to get pretty close to them. But I didn't get to touch one, I understand it is a sanctuary and they are wild animals but I was really interested in seeing what their hair (not fur) felt like. The guide we had was very knowledgeable and could answer every question we had. But if it could have been a bit longer and maybe you got to see a little more of how the sanctuary works that would have been more value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepinkalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I couldn't wait to visit the "Slothpital" (sloth hospital) as my friend who recommended it calls it.

I never have a problem paying for admission to a non profit organization,and the price was very reasonable, and the tour was well worth it.

The sloths are so adorable and wonderful animals. The knowledge of our tour guide Brian was impressive,

There is a canoe ride on the river after viewing the sloths that was great for viewing all of the wildlife outside of the sanctuary.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chefstevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If seeing a sloth is on your "must" list for Costa Rica don't miss this!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I don't even know where to begin. The sloths, staff and habitat at the sloth sanctuary are amazing. The insiders tour is definitely worth the extra money and time if you've got it. You will learn a lot about sloths but even more amazing is that you get to observe the way sloths move through this world with grace and strength that I was not able to experience in the wild. The staff there is very knowledgeable and friendly and is clearly dedicated to the health and well being of sloths everywhere. You can reach the sanctuary by taxi or by public bus, just make sure to tell the driver where you are getting off (and if you don't speak Spanish, ask the ticket administer to write it on your ticket) and they will drop you off at the front door. And remember, slow is beautiful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing