We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dedication,Education, and Entertainment!”

Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Two types of tours to see sloths and learn about their diminishing rainforest habitat. Sorry, no direct contact with sloths, for their well-being and yours. "Buttercup Tour" requires no advance reservation; just arrive about 20 minutes before the top of the hour (8AM–2PM) to register. Duration about 2 hours. "Insider's Tour" is given twice daily and requires advance booking. This tour includes everything in the Buttercup Tour plus "behind-the-scenes" visits to the NICU, Slothpital, climbing area and more. Admission/donations collected directly support the sloths – their rescue, rehabilitation, wellness, research, housing and enrichments. Thank you for supporting the sloths with your tour!
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dedication,Education, and Entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had about 3 hours of tour of this privately maintained sloth sanctuary which was very educative and entertaining too! We also took a back water kayaking to see various sloth and birds all over the property. Over all , it was like a work shop with so much detailed information about Sloths.Well done !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    118
    60
    28
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible work for the sloths”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Sloth Sanctuary is just amazing. To begin our tour, we got to meet Buttercup, a lovely sloth in a beautiful hanging basket bed. The boat tour was relaxing and we saw wild sloths, monkeys, fish, iguanas, birds etc. The grounds are just beautiful and I told my husband that I could see myself working there everyday. It is a family run place and the son did our tour. He did a very good job explaining about the different sloths and how they arrived there. After seeing the older sloths, we went to the nursery. One of the more active babies, Oprah Winfrey, was in a pink onesy and was brought out to play on their homemade wooden jungle gym. Though we could not handle them, which is completely understandable, we really enjoyed their antics and seeing the marvelous work these people do.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A_Macina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place to see sloths”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I pretty much planned our trip around the Sloth Sanctuary and the Jaguar Rescue. The sloth sanctuary was very educational and they had some sloths in the nursery which was very cute. I have to say I wish it were a little bit more hands on, but from what I hear the more expensive tour is. The boat ride was nice and we did spot a wild sloth, which was the first wild one that I had seen in Costa Rica. I had a really good time, didn't see everything that is on TV, but it is worthwhile to go there if you are a sloth fanatic!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebdeb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Negra, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place for sloths”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Everything very organized for visitors and the animals in the recovery, worth much to visit and boat ride with mr. Cali. Congratulations to Sloth Sanctuary by taking care of these precious animals.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGarroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit if you are in cahuita.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice opportunity to see sloths up close and support the efforts of the foundation. There is a 1 hour guides tour to visit some adult sloths and to visit the sloth nursery. Sloths are just cool. There is also a 1 hour canoe trip which wasn't that interesting if you'd taken other river rides. A few birds and 1 sloth. The river is swampy. If you are not enamored by sloths then this is probably not for you. We took a "taxi" , i.e. a beat up car from our guesthouse. Round trip was $30. Price for the tour was $75 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing