We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Baby Sloth Spoke to me. Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica

Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Two types of tours to see sloths and learn all about this fascinating animal and its rainforest habitat. Sorry, no direct contact with sloths, for their well-being and yours. 2-hour "Buttercup Tour" requires no advance reservation; just arrive about 20 minutes before the top of the hour (8AM–2PM) to register. 4-hour "Insider's Tour" includes a light breakfast or lunch and goes into greater depth, seeing sloths in the nursery, for example. This longer tour is also limited to 6 guests for a more personal experience.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Baby Sloth Spoke to me. Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved everything about the Aviarios Sloth Sanctuary. Jeff was most knowledgeable and informative regarding the nature of and care for their sloths. I'm working on a video that I will post on youtube about my experience here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    116
    59
    28
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was such a fun thing. we saw sloths in a habitat and in the wild. The boat tour was just us three and an sharp eyed guide. We saw sloths, monkeys, bats and birds. Sitting in the silent canoe in the drizzling rain was one of the most spiritual experiences I have had.
The sloth tour was educational and the owners grandson was charming. Well worth the money. They have a voluteer program and B&B that would be worth checking out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KristiKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice couple of hours but some attention to detail required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had been to the Sloth Sanctuary before about 18months ago but were visiting Costa Rica with family so returned for another visit.
I have to say that it wasn't as good as the first time. We were told when we arrived that one of the founders had died and this was obviously a great loss not only to the animals but also to the whole sanctuary as this is very much a family run business.
However, the boat ride (the boatman was very nice) was short; when we were back on terra firma there was no one around. As we had been there before we knew 'the next bit' and walked around to the 'video room.' The owners grandson was taking a previous group around but did hasten over to ask us to join them.
There is a new 'sloth nursery' where you can meet the various babies and learn about them and a place where the older, permanent residents are kept.
All in all, the Sloth Sanctuary is a worthwhile place to visit and support but for the entrance price for our family of four of $100 we felt that we were just left to our own devices too much and that a better service could be expected even when visiting a place with such commendable aims.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank YabbayabbaDotNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Wasn't quite sure what to expect but darn glad we went. Fell head over heels in love with all the various sloths, including a dwarf that would have had no chance in the wild. Facilities are outstanding, clean and it's quite obvious that the motivating factor here is positive love for their task - caring for the sloths.
Did a short canoe ride on the river/canal that runs through the sanctuary and our guide was amazing. We were looking but with his guidance we actually S-A-W. Huge difference. Spent a couple hours there and could have spent more.
There is a very nice veranda restaurant that looked absolutely enticing but we had run out of time.

And BTW, if/when you go, if you could bring some powered goats milk, that would be truly appreciated. Evidently it's pretty well impossible to get in Costa Rica and the baby sloths need that to thrive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank barefooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My favorite tour in Costa Rica this year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've been on several tours in Costa Rica, and visited many wildlife sanctuaries and rehabilitation programs, but Aviarios del Caribe was a once-in-a-lifetime experience (unless we go back)!

Our guide was the owner's grandson, an American transplant (along with his family) that has been living in Costa Rica for six years. He spoke both English and Spanish perfectly, and was very engaging.

My boyfriend and I had a private tour for about $20 each, what a great value! The tour started with us watching a quick video called Sloth Ballet, after which we got to go "meet" the adult sloths, where we learned more about them, and got to touch their fur.

Afterwards, we had a one-hour boat tour through the canals on the property with another couple, and a guide that only spoke Spanish. On the boat tour, we saw howler monkeys, a few boat-billed herons, Northern jacana, as well as several other birds, and many basilisk lizards. Even though it was the rainy season, we had beautiful weather.

After the boat tour, we got to go meet the baby sloths and take photos of them. They were adorable. I would definitely go back to this place, it was a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Cahuita, Province of Limon
 

Been to Sloth Sanctuary of Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing