We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect retreat to relax and recouperate”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Paloma

The Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Entrance
Beach side King Size Pillow top
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Entrance
Beach side
King Size Pillow top
top balcony
Full kitchen
Cahuita National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cahuita, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tricia_He...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat to relax and recouperate”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My three friends and I stayed with Richard and Litka for 4 nights after completing a couple of months volunteering in Costa Rica. It was the perfect place for us to relax. We received a very warm welcome and Litka had prepared a wonderful dinner for us. She also provided breakfast with freshly made bread.

The house is amazing with everything you could wish for including a fully equipped kitchen. The bathrooms were clean and very spacious. The sleeping arrangements were fine, with three beds on the first floor (one king, one double and one single). Curtains and a screen provided some privacy. The mosquito nets were handy and although it was quite warm, we were OK without using the fans provided. The verandas were lovely areas to sit and the hammocks very comfortable. We also made use of the 'tree house', a smaller house with 2 single beds and its own bathroom.

It was in a great location, just metres from a couple of beaches and a 10 minute walk into the town where there are plenty of good restaurants and bars and access to the National Park.

Richard and Litka were perfect hosts and made our stay very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was a great place to unwind and relax
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DariuszW8...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Cahuita”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (two guys with their respective young adult kids) spent five nights in Casa Paloma. The property is quiet and quite charming with a lot of mature vegetation. It is located right by the beach and walking distance to the village center (the village itself not being that big), restaurants, shopping, and Cahuita National Park. (Take advantage of the Cahuita entrance to the park as, for some reason, they do not charge entrance fees there).
The quest house is quite big and comfortable, and includes kitchen and living area on the first/ground floor and one large bedroom on the second floor. There are three beds (something like king, queen and twin by American standard) separated by dividers. There is one large bathroom on each floor. We did do not use the “treehouse”, which is a separate structure adjacent to the guest house and has two twin beds and another bathroom.
The owners, Lidka and Richard, live in a separate house on the same property and are mostly on site, very inconspicuously, along with their three friendly dogs. They are an interesting, kind and most helpful couple, and a great resource for local matters. It was a real pleasure to get to know them. Lidka brought us fresh fruit every day. She also graciously did our laundry. Housekeeping was done when we were out. Richard helped with local information, arranging transport and was quick to fix a few small defects that we encountered.
Staying in Casa Paloma was true "pura vida".

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer27...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Beautiful natural surroundings with all the comforts of home. We loved the location of this wonderfully appointed vacation rental. It is a short walk from town and directly across from the ocean which lulls you to sleep at night. We were able to pick fresh fruit from the yard for our daily smoothies and enjoyed the hospitality and local knowledge shared by our hosts Lidka and Richard. We left feeling healthier and more relaxed than ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
It was our pleasure to have you and your beautiful family stay with us. so glad you found us, and do hope to see you return to our little paradise , Thank you,,,and remember your breathing exercises ,twice a day,!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamarabod...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely and restful place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at this guest house and it was an unforgettably beautiful experience. The lady of the house was extremely accommodating besides being an accomplished naturopath who provided wholesome and healthy juices as well as a yoga platform. Fresh fruits and vegetables for the juices came from a farmers market near the guest house. It could serve as a rich resource for those with the talent and desire to cook, since the guests have access to a well equipped kitchen too. The place is furnished for relaxation with tidy and airy rooms, clean bathrooms and comfortable beds. Situated close to a beach, it is also conveniently located near the national park. All in all, it is a veritable haven for anyone wanting a leisurely and peaceful holiday.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Tamara , it was pleasure to have you as our guest at Casa Paloma, and we so much appreciate your review. It was so nice to have a guest that was so much fun, and we had never been out dancing with a guest before, we are going to miss you at the Reggae Bar , and cant wait to have you return next year, Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing