We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facility”
Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Facility”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and two children stayed here in February 2014 and were extremely happy with the rooms and facility. There is lots of wildlife right on the facility grounds and they have great day and night tours with very well trained guides. The two restaurants allow for either buffet or Ala carte dinning and was of good quality. Our only disappointment was that we were only able to stay one night due to room availability! Place is about 45 minutes drive to the La Paz Waterfall if you want an additional place to go. the only down side was that there is truck road noise if you are up near the entrance.

Room Tip: Rooms down by the river and away from the road are much quieter and are more embedded into the fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    238
    75
    25
    13
See reviews for
158
289
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The lodge comprises groups of timber constructed rooms built above ground (probably because of the rainfall in the wet season) situated within the forest. There are self-guided forest walks as well as a very good viewing platform. If you are a keen birdwatcher (or even a casual one like us) you will enjoy sitting and viewing / photographing a wide range of birds - various Tanagers, Fly-catchers and, of course, the Toucans.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a very small pool, but you will be too busy watching the wildlife to ever find time to use it!

We did a night walk while we were there. Ours was from the nearby Tirimbina Lodge which was ok, but the organisation was not good and the receptionist at Tirimbina could not have been less friendly. So try to get your travel agent to organise any walks directly with Selva Verde.

Restaurant is self service and good value. The Lodge also has an Italian restaurant which we tried and found to be very good.

All the rooms are quite a walk from reception and some are a few minutes walk from the restaurant. But all areas are covered, should it be raining. Overall en excellent place for wildlife and birdwatching.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 3 lovely nights at the Selva Verde lodge and it was jam packed with things to do. We went on a night hike with Ivan and it was great and very informative. We also had a nature walk and went on a boat tour and finished with a canopy tour zip lining. All were arranged by the hotel and were very very good!!!! Transportation to and from the tours were on time and safe. The only downer of the whole place were the BUFFET dinners they were NOT very appealing with weak fried fish and a stroganoff type dish. We ate down stairs at the al la carte restaurant and it was good but had a limited menu. The breakfasts were good and we did not have lunch.

Room Tip: we had a problem with our toilet and told them about it but they never fixed it. I would NOT buy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJG-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed three nights in a riverside bungalow at this lodge whose rooms have seen better days. Unfortunatelly a quite busy road passes by the resort. So the more far away from the road (and closer to the river) your room is the more quiet it is. Rooms itself need refurnishing and are- if you see it positive- rustic ;-)
Two restaurants: ground floor a la carte restaurant ambitious and good, first floor restaurant buffet style and not recommended.
Near restaurant- building bird feeding station, phantastic for birdwatching- from toucans to oropendolas.
Great pool in a beautiful garden, sometimes howlers in trees around.
Speaking of wildlife and garden: The bungalows are scattered in a blooming garden with hummingbirds around- awsome.
We had prebooked activities at the lodge itself and at La Selva Biological Station (about 15min away by car). At the lodge excellent night walks (frogs) and walks in their primary forest.
But even more impressive are any kind of walks at La Selva Biological Station: enthusiastic young guides, heaven for birders, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It is difficult to compare this facility with other hotels. It is in the rain forest and while we were there it rained heavily every day. The rooms are basic, no frills. No air conditioning. We stayed in a bungalow. There are four bungalows to each building - one in each corner. The walkway passes immediately by your room windows so you need to keep your curtains drawn for any privacy. The food is only average. The redeeming quality is the location on the Sarapiqui river and in the rain forest. The birding is wonderful! Birders from all over the world were there at the same time as we were. There is a bar with a terrace overlooking the Sarapiqui river for relaxing at the end of the day. Very nice. The beer is cold and the staff is friendly. Though the facilities themselves are somewhat rustic I gave it an overall rating of 'four' because of the birds and the setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a real nice place, but there are not many private room as most look on to each other. You tend to keep the drapes closed a lot, too bad, nice views abound. No tea or coffee in rooms and no A/C, but very clean. The food was fine, buffet style. Early morning coffee, great for early trips out and about. This location is very close to the road, but the interior rooms were quite.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baba-Kahawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here with a birding group and really enjoyed it. The rooms we had were clean and comfortable but a bit noisy due to the proximity of a busy road. The grounds are beautiful and the birds are plentiful. The food is cafeteria style but good. There is a bar near a great spot to watch the feeders which makes for some very relaxing bird watching! Many non-birders there as well as serious birders and photographers. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: By the river instead of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
4.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
163 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
137 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,278 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
674 reviews
18.5 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Property: Selva Verde Lodge
Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing