We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fabulous wildlife”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here mid-Nov for 3 nights and thought this was going to be the lowlight of our trip. It was the complete opposite. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Got a great deal on the hotel, location was awesome (some road noise but nothing terrible), food was good but mainly it was the wildlife that kept us enthralled. We saw 90% of all animals/insects on our trip at this location. Saved a ton of money on having to hire guides at other parks. Alexander did a wonderful job of setting up some photography props for frogs and insects. Would have loved to stay another couple of days. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a River room and had no problems. There was some road noise when the bigger trucks went b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaLuisa, Gerente at Selva Verde Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on Selva Verde Lodge & Reserve. Our goal is to show the people the wild beauties of Costa Rica, and offer a real tropical experience in the middle of the forest surrounded by wildlife. we hope you had a great experience in Costa Rica including the Sarapiqui region.
we really appreciate your words, and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    225
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
143
281
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I really loved this lodge. Our room was one of the bungalows set across the road and a walk under covered walkways from the main lodge. It was wonderful to wake up to the sounds of the rain forest and to feel amongst it all. The walk to the restaurant area at night was at first a bit daunting, but we soon got used to it. Make sure you have a good torch!
The restaurant offered good buffet food upstairs, or you could have Italian food on the terrace. I can recommend the pizza. There is a good bird watching area upstairs, where you can see toucans and other colourful birds really close.
The lodge has well maintained walking trails, and is also very near La Selva Biological Station, and Nature pavilion, which both are a must for bird watchers.
It was my birthday whilst staying at this lodge, and I was kindly given a beautiful bunch of flowers.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow for a great forest experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolNightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I see from other reviews that it's possible to have very different experiences at Selva Verde, and ours was a very good one. It was November, tail end of rainy season, and the Lodge was not very busy. Our room was away from the road, near the river, nicely maintained, large, quiet and very private. I particularly enjoyed the lush vegetation and the frogs and birds, an early morning birding tour, a guided walk in the primary forest, evening nature videos, and the sound of the river at night. Breakfasts were adequate and food in the Terrazza pizza restaurant was quite good. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: I loved our room close to the river and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FLorida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were here two years ago and it was great-now not at all-why you ask:
Pro: Great Learing center class the cooking class-great food , great translator and instructor
Pro-great frogs
Thats it
Cons: David at the front desk gave us no smile or greeting when we arrived. A cool drink which we received at the other resorts is a nice touch also
Cons: David said he would arrange for a breakfast box for my husband who was going on an early mornning 5;45 bird watching tour. Another lady at the front desk confirmed that he wanted the breakfast box. When my husband went down to receptio the guard was asleep and no breakfast box was waiting
Cons: We asked David for extra towels and they never came
Cons: We informed David that there was a piece of sharp metal straight up in the shower grate that needed to be removed or pushed down and no one ever came to check on it. We used a wash cloth to cover it to ensure we did not step on it while bathing-room 51
Cons: Heavy covers on the bed in such a hot and humid client are not what is needed. Cotton would be so much better
Cons: Thin curtins not much good with folks walking by all the cabins at all hours
Cons: The bird feeders were cluttered with old leaves and dirt and had not been maintained in some time around the area
Cons: The pool noise of people shreaking to all hours combined with the road noise was terrible.
Cons: No person working there made us feel welcome in the least
Cons: David at the front desk stated that we could eat ala carte both nights we were there vs the terrible buffet food provided. Untrue-Sunday night they were having some party downstairs so we chose not to eat at all.

We will not be back as there are so many wonderful other places in Costa Rica that want you to visit and would love to show you their country.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LKelleyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaLuisa, Gerente at Selva Verde Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear L. Kelley

Thank you for your comment and the time to write your feedback on your last visit to Selva Verde Lodge. According to your comment looks like you did not have the regular experience we offer at the lodge.
The friendileness and the smilie of our receptionists is one of our main qualities, however as you said the day of your check in the desk boy was not really friendly, we had a meeting to them and the will be more friendly than they are now. Also looks like there was a misscoomuunication on the coordination of your boxed breakfast, and other needs during your stay.
Our staff works strong in making the Selva Verde experiencie memorable for every guest, but according to you this never happen, this is opposite to our quality policies and the regular service we provide with our friendly and helpfull staff.
However, we really appreciate your words and the feedback, and we will make sure, all your comments are taking into account, so the opinions of our past travelers like you, are the best tools to improve our experience and provide better services for future visitors.
We hope to see you back in the future, and if is there something we can make to make you feel more conforable in your next visits to CR, let me to know, and I and my staff, we will fin the solution at the moment.

The best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Room was part of four "connecting" rooms. Celling fans. Two double beds. Quite large. Hammocks near rooms are comfortable. Wildlife plentiful. Howler monkeys are truly the alarm clocks. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food was homey and plentiful. Fresh fruit every day was SO delicious. Was there with a group (Road Scholar), but am going back again in February with my husband.. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Has a run down/poor maintenance quality to it. Does not at all meet expectations of rave reviewers.

PROS: many frogs on grounds; iguanas everywhere; howler monkeys; sloths; cacao tour offered is great!; free evening nature presentations; near La Selva station, which is fantastic for birding; Long Island ice teas are suitably strong;

CONS: overpriced alcohol and transportation; road next to rooms is very loud at night; rooms have unclosable windows, rain is also very loud at night; food is basically horrible and overpriced; no hummingbird feeders; poorly stocked regular feeding areas; again, that "run down" feeling you can't escape.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this place via Lonely Planet when we decided to change our plans, spent three nights there, and just loved it. Great amenities but feeling like being in the rain forest, with close encounters with many animals and birds. We took a guided tour into the actual rain forest and were fascinated by what the guide found. We definitely want to go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the road are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandybritmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
187 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
1,220 reviews
18.5 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
407 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Property: Selva Verde Lodge
Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing