We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”
Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the bunglelow and it was a walk but really loved it. The whole place is amazing. Would come back and just stay at this place. But the rooms need a little TLC. Could be a little cleaner and needs new paint. we only had one resterant for meal, the other one closed during our stay. so the meals were very very expensive. Just so you know 14 dollars for lunch 16 for supper. We had no car so no other option. I would do it again in a heart beat. Loved this place. :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Selva Verde Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 644 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Once again, Selva Verde exceeds our expectations. Our third visit here, and staff continues to be available, helpful and friendly. Rooms maintained well and clean. Will return again. Guides knowledgeable. Grounds expansive. And extra attraction is La Selva Biological Reserve is a few minutes away. Good birding, and only 90 minutes from San Jose airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed two nights at Selva Verde Lodge as part of a package for the Rainforest Ornithological Festival (Festival Ornitológico del Bosque Lluvioso). I was lodged there in one of 5 "bungalows" across the highway from the lodge and river, a 15-minute walk on trail or gravel road. The air conditioning of my bungalow was running when I took my personal effects to the room. However, when I returned to the bungalow after walking back to the lodge and taking a dip in the pool, the air conditioning had been turned off and its control removed from the room. When I mentioned this later on my return to the lodge, the clerk at the front desk told me that our festival lodging rate didn't include air conditioning, but I could pay an additional $10/day if a wanted them to turn it back on. The next morning I poured a carafe of water into the bungalow's 2-cup coffee maker to make coffee before leaving for a 5:30 a.m. birdwatching tour. I heard water running on the floor, and found out that a previous bungalow occupant had left it full of water. I put in the coffee, turned on the coffee maker, and took a shower. When I got out of the shower, I found an empty carafe--the coffee maker didn't work. Later that day I informed the same front desk clerk that the coffee maker didn't work, and he said that he would have a replacement placed in the room. The next morning I found that the water I had left in the coffee maker was still there and the coffee maker appeared to be the same non-functioning unit.

Other than these experiences, possibly attributable to a poorly performing employee, the lodge is in a beautiful location. The food in the dining room is ample but not particularly tasty, prepared in large quantities. The fruit was fresh and the coffee, made in a large coffee urn, was very strong. My rating for service applies to the front desk clerk, not the birdwatching guides, who were great.

Room Tip: The bungalows provide a lot of privacy but are a long, hot, humid walk from the lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a small hotel spread over a large area of tropical rain forest. All the rooms appear to be large, ours certainly was with two double beds, an excellent self-contained toilet and shower room and separate external and mosquito netted sitting areas from where one could watch the wild life.
Most of the rooms are in blocks of four situated at first floor level with open verandahs looking out over the secondary forest and closer to the reception area and restaurants. Our cabin was one of about eight self contained buildings, situated in a separate area 600m or so away from the hotel bar and restaurants, but with a covered walkway winding through the secondary forest joining the two areas.
There are two restaurants, bar ,gift shop, swimming pool, as well as a teaching area where conservation studies are carried out for local inhabitants. There are two self guided walks within the hotel grounds in areas of secondary forest well worth visiting. There are also guided walks organised in the primary forest on the other side of Sarapiqui River. Early morning bird watching excursions are available guided by trained and knowledgeable guides.
While we were staying, there were free lectures every evening, on different aspects of the rain forest, in an area near the restaurants. The first floor restaurant serves buffet style meals, which include plenty of fruit and salad vegetables as well as typical Costa Rican cooked dishes. The Terrace Restaurant is open in the evenings for a la carte dishes, mainly of Italian origin. The terrace Restaurant overlooks the Sarapiqui River and the buffet Restaurant has an area overlooking the forest from which you might see squirrels, monkeys, butterflies and many types of bird.

Room Tip: We liked the bungalows which are set some distance from the other buildings. The views from the win...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Founded in 1985 by Giovanna Holbrook, a wonderful lady whose ambition was, and still is, to preserve Costa Rica's wonderful rainforest, Selva Verde Lodge is so much more than just an hotel. It is a 500 acre private retreat nestled in the spectacular rainforest of Costa Rica. There is nothing here that jars - everything is ecologically designed and blends in with the natural environment. The Sarapiqui River runs through this reserve and is visible from the Lodge Restaurant which also has an observation balcony. The rooms are simply furnished - all with double beds - and replete with "mod cons" - coffee provided, a fridge in the room, a luxurious bathroom and showers with great water pressure. The bungalows have a fly-netted, outside room furnished with a table and chairs where you can sit and enjoy an evening drink, write and read without being bothered by flying friends! We stayed in the bungalows away from the main Lodge complex and I'm so glad we did because there we were right in the heart of the rainforest. To get to the bungalows we had to cross a main road, go through a gate and walk up through forested slopes to our room. We could walk up the main path or up a covered walkway if it was raining. The excitement of never knowing quite what you might see by day and by night was terrific. A racoon skipped into the undergrowth one day and on another the Howler Monkeys were sounding off in the trees around us. We often saw tiny emerald green and black frogs hopping by the covered walkways. Some people might feel they wouldn't want to do this walk but for me it was part of the excitement of being in an environment that was completely new. In the evenings talks are given by naturalist guides and films are shown on the flora and fauna of the area. There are self-guided trails within Selva Verde and on one of these, an armadillo trundled past us. There are many activities that can be done from Selva Verde: guided walks, bird watching, boat trips on the Sarapiqui River, white water rafting, rural community tourism, canopy sip-lining, horseback riding - to name but a few. The food in the restaurant is plentiful and lovely - always plenty of fruit and fresh vegetables and cooked dishes of all types, local and international. I can't recommend Selva Verde highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Selva Verde for 7 nights the middle of July 2013. After all the research we did, it was just what I expected with the added bonus of all the extremely nice people we met, especially the staff. We stayed in the Bungalows and yes, we walked a lot but it was well worth it. It was part of our experience and I wouldn't have changed a thing. There were no frills in the room but none were needed. We didn't go there to stay in the room, we went there to experience nature, have adventures and see Costa Rica. We saw so many birds, reptiles and so much wildlife. We took advantage of the meal plan which was not only convenient but excellent. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was beyond our expectations. We took advantage of many of the excursions offered such as The Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, White Water Rafting, Zip Lining, River Boat Cruise, Horseback Riding, day and night hikes among others. We took the public bus to go into town which was nice. My husband and I spent both our birthdays at Selva Verde and he arranged for them to make me a birthday cake and they made him a special pizza on his birthday. They were so kind and nice.

We recommend Selva Verde to anyone who enjoys the simpler things in life. We will visit again! We felt we were among family and what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Bungalows have 2 full beds, large bathroom, air conditioning, fridge and coffee maker. They also ha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lysa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Selva Verde Lodge for three nights in early April to do tropical birding.

Our room was comfortable and spacious and had a huge bathroom. There was a hammock outside as well as chairs. The rooms are elevated above a large and beautiful tropical garden where we saw birds and other wildlife. We also saw birds and other wildlife, including a howler monkey, outside of the dinning room. The staff was friendly and helpful.

It is warm and rains quite a bit on the Caribbean coast, and all the Selva Verde rooms, dinning areas and activity areas are connected with covered walkways, so you can walk between them without getting wet.

Our package included guided bird walks, which were great. The bird guides are quite remarkable in spotting birds which are quite distant, and we recommend getting one to fully enjoy the trip.

Selva Verde offers many other activities in addition to bird walks. We took a night walk where we saw frogs, snakes, butterflies, a sloth, and other wildlife. We also took a boat ride on the Sarapiqui River, where we not only saw birds, but also iguana, caiman, and a green basilisk lizard. One of the bird guides gave a nature talk every night before dinner, which we enjoyed.

The food was very good. My wife is lactose intolerant and has other dietary restrictions, and she had no problems with the food. The owner of Selva Verde had lunch in the guest dining room, and inquired whether we liked the food and whether our room was satisfactory.

Our trip included transfers from the airport and between lodges during our stay. We're glad we did, since some of the steep roads are dirt.

Selva Verde is a great place to stay and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgw28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
4.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
18.5 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
442 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range: $114 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing