We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by wildlife”
Review of Selva Verde Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selva Verde Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. There's wildlife all around you including hiking trails and a hanging bridge (which was beautiful around dawn one morning). The rooms are clean and large. There are nice overhead fans to keep you cool. The walkways are covered between areas of the hotel so you don't need an umbrella when it rains.

I ate at the restaurant two nights and the food was very good, so was the breakfast buffet. The staff was helpful to book tours and seemed to know a lot about the area.

Only complaint, unless you have the number of a taxi they will call their own car service which is a bit more pricey but this seems to be common practice around the country.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kralphie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 651 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Selva Verde Lodge was my introduction to the Costa Rican Rainforest. I was not disappointed. I had no idea that such places existed. It was shock to find out that room did not have A/C but I soon realized that hearing the sounds of the animals at night through the screened windows more than made up for it. A couple of nights it even rained which made the sounds that much better...the raindrops falling on the metal roof....aaaaaaah!

The group I was with has visited this facility for the past 20 years and now I see why. Alex, the naturalist on site (and who also accompanied us the remainder of the week) was wonderful. He took the group on early morning bird walks and night walks. We got lucky every time.

Our meals were served buffet style in the main restaurant. The Costa Rican cuisine was AWESOME! There is plenty to do in the area...white water rafting, hiking, pineapple farm tour and the chocolate farm tour. Our group did all of these things and had a great time.

I highly recommend this place if you are in the area. It is rustic but that adds to its charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were here for two nights for a school trip and it was FABULOUS. Right outside our door was a big golden orb spider who we named Badonna. There was wildlife wherever you looked- from butterflies to caimans. I would definitely come back as soon as I could!

Room Tip: Although they're a little bit of a walk, the bungalows are beautiful-just watch your step!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaroars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in River room 45 and it was perfect! A bit noisy (river, birds, crickets, frogs) the first night, but we still slept well. The next day we were used to all of the sounds. Sure beats the city! The food was great and plenty of it. if you're looking for a la carte, fine dining, it's not here. But if you want good, wholesome home style cooking, this is it. We enjoyed the guided walks and all of the wildlife surrounding the lodge.

Room Tip: The quad of rooms (42,43,44 & 45) closest to the river are the best, if you want to be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Selva Verde Lodge for 2 nights during a tour around Costa Rica.
It's a unique experience as this is much more than a hotel. It's an education, nature experience and relaxing hotel in one.
There is a whole wealth of information about the rainforest and the flora and fauna about and the lodge even provide talks on animals and the forest in general.
The rooms are ok. quite basic and the solar heated hot water doesn't last forever but the other amenities are good. There are two restaurant options - buffet 'canteen' style upstairs which we had once or a la carte downstairs, which we also had once. we'd recommend paying the extra for the a la carte restaurant.
There are several walks around the lodge grounds and lots of optional extras such as night walks (a real highlight) and outside tours.
The staff were all really friendly and the nature guides excellent at their job.

Room Tip: River rooms provide the best view. We were supposed to have one but didn't for some reason!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived the first day of May. I will say, that the staff are wonderful, friendly, and very knowledgeable. However, the walk to the bungalows, nearly wiped us out. As several have said, it was a killer to walk back and forth. They were cutting trees just outside of our bungalow, and ran some type of saw all day long, very noisy. It took a long walk to have a decent time of viewing birds.
They had wacked away any vegetation surrounding where we were staying, and it was pretty ugly. The main part of the property is, however, pretty nice, altho they were wacking a lot with machetes there as well.
One of the photographers took it upon himself to keep the feeding station filled, as it would go hours with no food.
The better part of the forest was not accessible unless you hired a guide for a certain time frame. This was the biggest disappointment of all. We only were able to get there once for about an hour and 1/2. If you are doing photography, this can be an issue, as they will not let you stay there without them.
The food was fine, and service was as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Second time here and only got better. Had river rooms 44 and 45. Perfect. The sounds of the river lull you to sleep. Gets quite cool in the evening...very comfortable sleeping. Lots of wildlife right off of my veranda. Coffee and hot water is ready at 5 am...and since i was up by 4 am everyday, this was terrific. 5:30 pm they had videos on wildlife, etc given by a naturalist...very informative. Guides are friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Meal plan gets repetitious but I loved all of the food. One night we had dinner downstairs in the Italian restaurant...and dinner and desert was yummy...and it felt good to get a little dressed up! Love the laundry service, staff, etc. there was a group if 40 ten year olds who came a s part of a school trip. They were noisy in the dining room and pool area but were quiet at night. I will say they are extremely noisy their first day but the staff and their teachers spoke to them and they settled down, were respectable and nice.
I will be back in several years!

Room Tip: Everything was excellent. There is no room service or fitness center...and none needed. I could no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
4.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
141 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,297 reviews
18.5 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
448 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selva Verde Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selva Verde Lodge

Address: | 9 Kms from Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, 553069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sarapiqui
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selva Verde Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selva Verde is more than a lodge and more than a rainforest reserve. It is your gateway into a magical world of towering Almendro trees, Mantled Howler Monkeys, and Keel Billed Toucans. Immerse yourself in tropical nature as you hike through deep green forest or reflect quietly in a comfortable hammock. Discover something new as you encounter Selva Verde's amazing wildlife and vibrant people. Rekindle your sense of wonder and experience the out-of-the-ordinary. Experience Selva Verde! Located just 2 hours from San Jose, Selva Verde provides easy access to the wonders of the rainforest. For over 30 years, we have been a haven for nature enthusiasts from around the world. Our abundant biodiversity, comfortable rainforest lodge, and exciting activities are ideal for adventure seekers, bird and wildlife watchers, students, and families. Come explore Selva Verde's 500 acres of vibrant tropical nature in the heart of Costa Rica's Sarapiqui Canton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Selva Verde Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selva Verde Hotel Sarapiqui
Selva Verde Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing