We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine place and people!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarapiqui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat
Ranked #1 of 13 Sarapiqui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine place and people!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Coming to Chilamate was the best way to start our Costa Rica trip. Meghan and Davis are friendly, geuine people that happily shared thoughts and advices on what to see and do, both at their own property and in the surroundings. We saw a lot of animals and biodiversity at the included guided walk in the rainforest and hiking on our own. Wish this place all the best in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    26
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
72
70
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in December. Accommodation and food was great. Had a tour with William who has a wealth of knowledge about the wildlife in the area. William stated he wanted to become a teacher but I hope he continues to develop his skills as a guide as he has the prospect of being one of the best guides I have come across. Thanks to all at the eco resort for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Chilamate Eco-Retreat. We had a wonderful time there. The grounds are beautiful and the staff was great. Tim went over and above to make sure our Costa Rica trip was memorable. Both Davies and Meghan made us feel so welcome. We were fortunate enough to see a variety of wildlife and exotic plant life. Can not say enough good things about our experience at the retreat. Meghan and Davies were very helpful with their recommendations of tours, places to visit and drivers for hire. We highly recommend a visit and stay to the Chilamate Rainforest Eco-Retreat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in a "cabin" (they are not really separate cabins but semi-detached units) and overall had a wonderful experience. The staff is very attentive and friendly. The riverfront property, with extensive rainforest trails, are a wonderful gem (especially with the provided rainboots). The included breakfast is great with many choices. Dinner was also delicious, especially the quality and quantity of vegetables and salads which we had been severely missing in our Central American culinary adventure. If there was any recommended improvements it is the rooms. We splurged on this retreat and tripled our usual hotel budget and yet the room was as basic, at most. But taking into account the value of everything else they offer helps offset what our perceived value of this room was. Room recommendations include - room paint job, bedside table, better quality art (or none at all would be better than the existing) and better bathroom shelving. All in all, we had a very positive experience and appreciate what the owners have done and are trying to do.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGrunkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Chilamate: a family of husband, wife, 20 year daughter, 17 year old son. We stayed in the Jungle Lodge and loved it. It was very peaceful and we enjoyed being right by the jungle and the river. The staff and the service were great. We were very impressed with the strong commitment that Meghan and Davis have to education, the rainforest and to the local community. They have unique ties to local projects and they support community development-we loved going to visit Daniel and help work with him harvesting peppercorns on his farm. The food at Chilamate Eco Retreat was fabulous. Both the breakfasts and the dinners were amazing. Well worth it! We enjoyed having access to the kitchen in the lodge-it was not fully equipped but it still worked fine. We did not rent a car so getting around was a bit tricky-we used busses and Meghan helped us tremendously by finding drivers to hire. All our tours were great. We recommend the chocolate tour, the coffee tour, the zip line tour in addition to visiting Daniels amazing peppercorn farm. We loved swimming in the river and walking in the jungle, early in the mornings. We enjoyed the birds and the monkeys and the frogs. We had so much fun laughing, hanging out in the hammocks and reconnecting as a family! A magical place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rshapiro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My buddies and I stayed with Chilamate for about a week. Every aspect was outstanding. The staff were friendly, very helpful and it felt like one big family. The owners are just a lovely couple that you will enjoy meeting and talking to. The food is the best I had in Costa Rica. Home cooked, delicious organic wholesome meals. They even helped accommodate our groups special dietary needs (vegetarian) very well. We stayed in the jungle lodge and it was beautifully done with a wonderful balcony, hammock chairs and plenty of beds. The community kitchen / fridge is a bonus although I would simply skip cooking yourself when you have access to the meals they make there. Wifi worked very well. I was very impressed with the overall focus on the environmental and sustainability at Chilamate. They are very active in recycling, minimizing the impact to the beautiful surrounding area and preserving the rain forest. Do talk to the staff about hiring one of the local guides to go on a bird watching walk or a night walk through the jungle. You will be glad you did and see a lot of things you might otherwise miss. Thank you for a wonderful time Chilamate.

Room Tip: Ask about the jungle lodge availability for larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This time we spent 16 nights in Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat. And every day was interesting. We have seen so much wildlife there! You don't have to look for the agoutis - they came every morning. Just like Alfaro's Pygmy Squirrels. They were feeding on the fruits fallen dawn fron the trees. We had so much fun watching them every morning!
And the strawberry frogs and green and black posison dart frogs live near the restaurant under a big mango tree - we saw them and heared them every day. Of course you can see here Red-eyed Treefrogs!
You can see there trogons, toukans, chachalacas, howling monkeys, hummingbirds and even a kinkajou!
Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat is a wonderful quiet place for relaxing and enjoying nature and wildlife.
Meghan and her staff make your stay unforgettable. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners very much.
Hopefully we can visit them 2014 again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kolja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
0.4 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
18.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat

Property: Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat
Address: in front of Chilamate Elementary School | crossing over the bridge on the right hand side, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sarapiqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat is a Costa Rican Canadian family-run conservation and sustainable tourism project. Come and enjoy our beautiful cabins, rain forest trails, garden eatery and bar, gift shop with local artwork, and natural swimming hole right on the Sarapiqui River! Whether you want adventure, nature, relaxation, or an intimate experience in the community we will make sure you enjoy your visit in the rain forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat Hotel Sarapiqui
Chilamate Rainforest Eco Retreat Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing