We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ara Ambigua Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selva Verde Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tirimbina Lodge(La Virgen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maquenque Eco-Lodge(Boca Tapada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peace Lodge(Heredia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Suerre(Guapiles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Altura Hotel(Poas Volcano National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
47
85
25
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
85
25
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrog gardencosta ricabird feederssmall terracehotel lobbycharming placelower poolnatural habitatair conrooms are spaciousshort walkblue jeanspoison dartopen airwhite water raftingpoolscaiman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

When traveling to other countries, we have to remember that US standards are very different. In my travels, I stayed at five different hotels in various parts of Costa Rica.   The setting of this hotel is absolutely beautiful. Each room is in a jungle-like setting. Bring a flashlight to find your room because it is impossible to see well enough to get around at night with out it. The view from the back deck of my room was superb, but the hotel needed some serious updating including a paint job. There were electrical wires showing around the shower head area which were meant to heat water. I took a shower at night, and I had hot water, but not in the morning.  The bed and pillows were very firm which I do not find comfortable. The room was air conditioned. Pick up the remote at the front desk. Try the pizza - it is delicious. There was Wi-Fi in most of the dining and main desk area, but it wasn't the best. Be ready to have a few harmless creatures in your room, too. 

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AraAmbiguaLodge, Propietario at Ara Ambigua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013
Google Translation

gracias por su comentario, es de esta forma que podemos mejorar todas las cosas negativas que puedan haber en nuestro hotel, ya estamos re modelando todas las habitaciones que lo necesitan, subiremos fotos de como quedo todo, en cuanto estén listas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed here for two nights while traveling through Costa Rica. It was by far one of the nicer resorts we stayed in. Its location in Sarapachi close to rafting is excellent. The cabin style rooms in the tropical rainforest setting was beautiful. I hope to come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtmelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Background: I stayed here with my group of 15 high school students(along with 17 students from other schools, plus chaperons) traveling with EF Tours. I also always travel with the mentality: things are not going to be like they are back home. With this in mind:

If you are going to Costa Rica for ecotourism, this is the place to stay. As others have mentioned, the property is completely engulfed in natural habitat with opportunities to hike trails, view the frog garden, and the caiman lagoon. (Bring bug spray) The property layout is fairly spread out and the rooms vary greatly. I stayed in what the lodge website would call a “superior room” on the hill above the main office/restaurant and it was great. As I had so many kids with me, I got to see a number of other (“standard”) rooms. Down by the pool are cabin-like rooms (which seemed a bit run-down) and hotel-like rooms (clean and plain, but nothing spectacular). Rooms 1-5 are all individual buildings (some split A/B) up the hill from the pool, on the same level as the restaurant/office. These rooms were all very nice. Overall, the rooms vary widely in quality and layout, so if you are concerned, you may be able to see the room at check-in. If planning to walk around after dark (post 7PM), bring a flashlight, especially after 10PM when they shut the property lights off—extremely dark!

The food was excellent—the best we had at a hotel in Costa Rica—though we were with a large group, so our experience may be very different—all of our meals were buffet-style. The TV and AC worked fine. The property did have internet access, but our students had a very difficult time accessing it—the only place they could get it to work was around the main lobby, and even this was dicey. I tried to use the computer in the lobby 3-5 times, got it to connect to the internet once.

Overall, do some investigating into what room you want, and enjoy the natural surroundings!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiasmaFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Positive: helpful, friendly staff, nice garden, good choices in the restaurant, computer in the lobby for public use
Negative: we didn't like the rooms. The first one was all-wooden, which had a certain charme. But according to the webpage and confirmation we expected one of the more modern rooms for that night. The staff was very helpful to get the room changed. But even the more modern rooms could need a touch up and were not really what we expected. However for one night OK.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A comfortable place to stay with a good kitchen. Staff is professional and very kind. A special remark in respect of the bird feeders. The restaurant is a place with open windows and several bird feeders very close to it. While enjoying your (good) meal you can enjoy the view of a lot of different birds and squirrels very close by.
Large and clean rooms in a lovely environment

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leendert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews