We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful stay in Costa Rica”
Review of Ara Ambigua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ara Ambigua Lodge
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I love this lodge. I have stayed here twice and would easily stay here again and again. The grounds are beautiful. The paths to the rooms seem to be cut right out of all the flora. There are 3 different groupings of rooms. One group is down by the pool: alot of these rooms have balconies, and are more tropical cabin type rooms. Beautiful. The second set are on the path above those rooms. These have a lodgey feel to them, but are more of a basic hotel room. The third set is above the front office, and I have never stayed there. Last year, only the third set had airconditioning, but this year, all three sets have airconditioning in them. There are also tv's in all rooms, and some rooms have refrigerators.

As I said the grounds are beautiful. Well manacured, and full of wildlife that you can hear and see. The sounds are all around you and it's beautiful. Equally beautiful is the pool. There are two levels to the pool, and a fountain! Gorgeous and clean.

The food is delicious. The bar is great. They have a pool table as well. The staff is incredible. It is a family run lodge and most employees are family. They are extremely helpful and always polite ! I just can't stress enough how helpful and courteous they are. The main office also has a computer for your use, and a tiny shop for costa rica clothes. They also used to (didn't get to visiti it this year) have a frog garden as well for you to look for and spot the (mostly poisonous) colorful frogs.

If you stay here, you will be pleasantly satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubsz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Ara Ambigua Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stoped at the restaurant and the waitress was incredible nice and friendly and invited us to walk the trails along the property, what we did.while walking the cleaning personnel invited us to see the rooms that we saw very nice, confortable and clean in the middle of the forest. The property is very nice and with lots of flowers that we enjoyed taking pictures. We had a mechanical problem with our car that the brother of the owner of the place helped us to fix right away and made us feel welcomed. Definetly wehave to go back and stay there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josevalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had room 15 which was wonderful. Rooms 3a, 3b, 4a, 4b, etc., were not great, even awful. I saw about 20 rooms there as I was with a group. Some of the cabins had air conditioning which we REALLY needed, cute bathrooms, artistic touches, and our room had a lovely bed. The security was excellent, we felt very safe. It was quiet and clean. The food was very good and they had great salads. The pool was also very nice and a great temperature. Most bathrooms were very odorous; there was a raw sewage smell. We just kept the bathroom door closed. It was very convenient to all Sarapiquí attractions. Service was above average, problems were taken care of immediately and management was very kind and understanding. Wifi worked great at the reception.

Room Tip: As I said, 11 - 15 seemed the best, but 15 was really wonderful, beautiful veranda, lots of windows...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice and gentle personel. A lot of birds around the room. There is a trail in the wood nearby, where we saw montazumas and squirls. Food is OK and free Sidi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice hotel with a very spacious room and a small terrace. Large swimming pool divided in 2 (grown ups & children) by a little bridge. Good shower. If you want to eat in the restaurant, you should try the pizza!!!!!!! One of the best I ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This place is great for the charm and the setting. Great to watch an amazing assortment of wild birds while dining in the open-air restaurant (they put out fruit and feeders - you'll see everything form hummingbirds to toucans, orapendula montezuma, squirrels....). Rooms are OK, clean, a bit dull, quite spacious, set in the grounds in chalets. All quite new. Food in restaurant is OK, nothing special. Staff are nice. Free wifi in public area. Nice pool area. Look for wild monkeys in the trees around the hotel. Choose this place for the setting and atmosphere - best of the 4 family-run hotels we used around the country on our tour.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed two nights and received excellent service. Originally were supposed to stay 1 night but hotel was able to accommodate us (a group of 21) for an extra night. Personnel attentive to our needs. Food was excellent. We had the breakfast and dinner buffet. Both had more than enough food even for seconds. Breakfast was included but we negotiated the dinner buffet at a very reasonable price. We were able to use their meeting room free of charge. For our group it was an excellent choice and an excellent experience. Beautiful grounds. Would definitely stay there again. Rooms were spacious, with AC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarapiqui
0.0 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ara Ambigua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ara Ambigua Lodge

Address: 400mts Norte de la Iglesia de La Guaria, 2110-1100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sarapiqui
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ara Ambigua Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ara Ambigua is a beautiful mountain hotel, located in Sarapiquí in the Northern Zone of Costa Rica just 1.5 hours from San Jose. Here, you can enjoy the peace and exotic beauty of the tropical rainforest. Throughout your stay, you'll have a relaxing and enjoyable experience in this family-owned and run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Ara Ambigua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ara Ambigua Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing